Worst Decision ever - buying a Stuttgart Auto Macan

Sp4wn

I think TS is really unlucky. Thatâs why they said that buying a car is a matter of Heng Suay. Looks like TS got a lemon unfortunately.

On the flip side, I recently bought a new Macan from TEC and so far Iâve no issues with it. So far not many complains about major issues in the international Macan forums and local Porky group as well. So itâs still a pretty reliable car overall.

That's indeed the car's fault.

But SA not only did not take up the responsibility to properly and correctly assessed for appropriate repairs but instead played musical chairs in the blame game.

This is the crux of TS's sharing. If the issues had been better handled, it will lessen the unnecessary inconvenience. For eg the water ponding courtesy car.

As a bro pointed out, the next repair on coming Tues to get to item marked J or I to resolve smelly aircon has nothing to do with aircon unless its a secret component not listed.

All in, lemon car ownership can be less painful. Less inconvenience. If SA acted with more care and professionalism. Stop pushing blame around. Take bloody ownership of problems NOT resolved till now...3 years is not a short period to still be at square 1.

I will definitely not recommend SA or the rides they sell to any of my friends, family or associates. It is my personal choice and decision that they do not land themselves in the same unfortunate situation as TS.

Just my tots

Safe ride

@Sp4wn I read through the whole thread and I really feel for you for going through all these. I really admire your principle for fighting for what’s right.

I agree with you that it’s okay to have a flawed car or even a lemon car if the post sales service was good - that they do everything in their power to resolve the unfortunate incident. But when they start to blame you for everything, it’s something I can’t swallow.

I’ll help to share this story in places I can as a PSA to the public on what to expect when buying from SA. Please do take care and the community is behind you!

I think TS is really unlucky. Thatâs why they said that buying a car is a matter of Heng Suay. Looks like TS got a lemon unfortunately.

On the flip side, I recently bought a new Macan from TEC and so far Iâve no issues with it. So far not many complains about major issues in the international Macan forums and local Porky group as well. So itâs still a pretty reliable car overall.

It’s not about luck. That can happen to anyone of us.. Not whether u get a lemon or not.. it’s about how an Organization (not only SA) respond when they sold a lemon. You are lucky you got an Apple.. good for you.. what will be very helpful for us is what will you do if you got a lemon or your Edited by BenTong
  • Dislike 1

if TS dun buy from SA, then buy from PI ?

then if PI churn pattern and do funny things, then people blame TS as cheapo cos he go PI route, then TS also lan lan , back to square 1.

really cannot satisfy everyone.  

sometimes, I really wonder if PI route is really so good, all the "approved" workshop really help their clients and repairs (esp recalls).

if the PI owners kena lemon then STFP cos scare if go forumn, sure kena wack. 

Edited by TeamAMG69

then if PI churn pattern and do funny things, then people blame TS as cheapo cos he go PI route, then TS also lan lan , back to square 1.

sometimes, I really wonder if PI route is really so good, all the "approved" workshop really help their clients and repairs (esp recalls).

Luckily, there’s still a few good PI ard ..

TEK based on TS acct, really worse than PIs..

Sad to know your story. Shockingly, JD Power 2019 says Porsche is a top reliable car, almost as reliable as a Lexus, and I was almost very sure planing to own a Porsche next year. But now, I have to think it over again, as it don't seem so reliable as claimed...

actually a lot of friends told me their porsche is reliable. thats why a few owners who know me are shocked by the treatment. like they just cant believe some of the emails and messages.

That's indeed the car's fault.

But SA not only did not take up the responsibility to properly and correctly assessed for appropriate repairs but instead played musical chairs in the blame game.

This is the crux of TS's sharing. If the issues had been better handled, it will lessen the unnecessary inconvenience. For eg the water ponding courtesy car.

As a bro pointed out, the next repair on coming Tues to get to item marked J or I to resolve smelly aircon has nothing to do with aircon unless its a secret component not listed.

All in, lemon car ownership can be less painful. Less inconvenience. If SA acted with more care and professionalism. Stop pushing blame around. Take bloody ownership of problems NOT resolved till now...3 years is not a short period to still be at square 1.

I will definitely not recommend SA or the rides they sell to any of my friends, family or associates. It is my personal choice and decision that they do not land themselves in the same unfortunate situation as TS.

Just my tots

Safe ride

for the aircon repair, those parts marked out, were for the last repair (second time), and not the upcoming one again on tuesday. they will need time again to investigate as usual. 

if they can finally settle it, then chapter closed, but after more than 1 year of going back and forth. else, this car is destined for multiple repairs (but hopefully not lah)

@Sp4wn I read through the whole thread and I really feel for you for going through all these. I really admire your principle for fighting for what’s right.

I agree with you that it’s okay to have a flawed car or even a lemon car if the post sales service was good - that they do everything in their power to resolve the unfortunate incident. But when they start to blame you for everything, it’s something I can’t swallow.

I’ll help to share this story in places I can as a PSA to the public on what to expect when buying from SA. Please do take care and the community is behind you!

thanks bro. i believe i am quite a straight forward person in my posts

if the product or service is good, ill say

if the product is crap but the service is good, ill still be OK.

but if both are sub par, then i just have to tell it like it is.

small issues i think most of us as car enthusiast can look past. creaking, small noises etc is fine.

but not some major issues, especially when we work hard for our money, and we just want to enjoy the fruits of our labour

is like that. these days just have to take a gamble.

buying a car macam going to "third casino". if heng suay like me, tio lemon

is like that. these days just have to take a gamble.

buying a car macam going to "third casino". if heng suay like me, tio lemon

actually to be honest, before i collect my new car and right after, i did went to temple to pray.... no joke

Itâs not about luck. That can happen to anyone of us.. Not whether u get a lemon or not.. itâs about how an Organization (not only SA) respond when they sold a lemon. You are lucky you got an Apple.. good for you.. what will be very helpful for us is what will you do if you got a lemon or your ð become ð become ð

Until then I shall reserve my comments about TEK and you should as well since neither of us have any grievances with them. I personally don’t have any problems with them so far and neither do my friends who owns porkers.

The internet is a brutal place - everyone only cares about bad reviews and goes on a witch hunt after that. But who really cares about the majority of porky owners who have no issues with them? Oh well I guess good reviews are boring these days......

Btw if you think TEK is bad, you should also go read up stories on SA, C&C and PML as well.....

actually to be honest, before i collect my new car and right after, i did went to temple to pray.... no joke

Sad fact that cars are still made by humans and the quality differs from car to car. Just like the roll of a dice, we may end up with one that’s a lemon.

Until then I shall reserve my comments about TEK and you should as well since neither of us have any grievances with them. I personally don’t have any problems with them so far and neither do my friends who owns porkers.

The internet is a brutal place - everyone only cares about bad reviews and goes on a witch hunt after that. But who really cares about the majority of porky owners who have no issues with them? Oh well I guess good reviews are boring these days......

Btw if you think TEK is bad, you should also go read up stories on SA, C&C and PML as well.....

Sad fact that cars are still made by humans and the quality differs from car to car. Just like the roll of a dice, we may end up with one that’s a lemon.

Cars made by humans ? - if Hand Build AMG engine got problem, you can easily find that CB kia and F him (literally go factory) but if mass market or machine AMG, then suck thumb

Robots better ? - go read up on Tesla build. Robots not that reliable also

Yes C&C , PML also another troll factory ....just go to their chat group / forumn to see their story 

Edited by TeamAMG69

You will not know whether your friends are fair-weather friends until the weather turns bad. Then you will see the true colours of your friends.

well, the fair viewpoint is that you have no comment because they are doing exactly what you paid for (ie, you arent going on forums saying SA is the best, because I assume, they are satisfactory and meet your needs, but they havent gone out of their way to roll out the red carpet). anyway let's be honest, the macan is the lowest end car, so its unlikely we will get the red carpet treatment haha.

like i said, if they had simply repaired each problem instead of constantly telling the customer he is wrong, i dont think this thread would have popped up (the side view mirror and them admitting they didnt know the fix, plus the coolant issue in which i told them the issue before it happened, only to be waved off)

i never even posted my grievances till 2.5 years ater, as i was simply hoping they would do right by me, repair the car, and just let me go on with life. i think thats a pretty simple request. 

of course, no one wants to get stuck with a lemon. i figure since im stuck, and they want to be stubborn, hell might as well make a case study of it. you can judge for yourself thereafter if im treated fairly. (i immediately posted again when they said no loaner car was allowed, to when they suddenly made a panamera available after next weeks scheduled downtime). 

i Empathise with TS..

anyone that has spend anything more than 300k for any car, any brand, to go through these repair hassle is totally unacceptable.. I wouldn’t have been able to accept it also.

TS experience has strengthened my decision not to buy any one car that cost more than 250k (ok Ok also because I don’t have the ability and money to buy expensive car also).. but to spread the 300k over 2 car.. maybe one nice small or mid executive German or Jap sedan and another Jap small mid size MPV to cater to family.

Until then I shall reserve my comments about TEK and you should as well since neither of us have any grievances with them. I personally donât have any problems with them so far and neither do my friends who owns porkers.

Sad fact that cars are still made by humans and the quality differs from car to car. Just like the roll of a dice, we may end up with one thatâs a lemon.

Lol. With that we have a conclusion. Edited by BenTong

Lol. With that we have a conclusion.ð you are one damn lucky dude..

I’ll tell you that I’m lucky after I win the grand prize for Toto.

My point is even though I empathize with TS predicament, I wouldn’t necessarily trust what people say online these days. Most of the times their claims are over exaggerated.

There are always two sides of the story. No one really knows the exact exchange going on between TS and TEK and what we are hearing is only TS side of the story. And I don’t think TEK or any dealership is going to come to this forum and rebut allegations against them.

I’m just saying we should be objective passing our judgement on TS or TEK.

No need to slam me. Just trying to be neutral here.

Until then I shall reserve my comments about TEK and you should as well since neither of us have any grievances with them. I personally donât have any problems with them so far and neither do my friends who owns porkers.

Sad fact that cars are still made by humans and the quality differs from car to car. Just like the roll of a dice, we may end up with one thatâs a lemon.

Very well said. Just because one owner post that he bought a lemon car and the company was being condemned like hell.

well, the fair viewpoint is that you have no comment because they are doing exactly what you paid for (ie, you arent going on forums saying SA is the best, because I assume, they are satisfactory and meet your needs, but they havent gone out of their way to roll out the red carpet). anyway let's be honest, the macan is the lowest end car, so its unlikely we will get the red carpet treatment haha.

like i said, if they had simply repaired each problem instead of constantly telling the customer he is wrong, i dont think this thread would have popped up (the side view mirror and them admitting they didnt know the fix, plus the coolant issue in which i told them the issue before it happened, only to be waved off)

i never even posted my grievances till 2.5 years ater, as i was simply hoping they would do right by me, repair the car, and just let me go on with life. i think thats a pretty simple request.

of course, no one wants to get stuck with a lemon. i figure since im stuck, and they want to be stubborn, hell might as well make a case study of it. you can judge for yourself thereafter if im treated fairly. (i immediately posted again when they said no loaner car was allowed, to when they suddenly made a panamera available after next weeks scheduled downtime).

So, there will not be any conclusion as long as you own the car?

If u all take a step back , @sp4wn gripes is the attitude of TEK that he’s pissed with and that is consistent w many who hv said similarly based on experience

I say burn the car in front of SA really

Very well said. Just because one owner post that he bought a lemon car and the company was being condemned like hell.

I would reserve my comments if one spent a $100 and trying to make hell lot of noise. But to have spent more than $300k to get a lemon is bad enough, letting alone the poor attitude from the agent. And such service attitude runs in the culture of a company, it cannot be a case of an individual or an isolated case, this can be be seen from the amount of issues and people TS has to deal with throughout the various incidents.

If one look at the history of TS posts, he is not one to badmouth others before he has been fair and reasonable, even in the current post. You make the judgement yourself.

Edited by Ct3833
  • Praise 14