Changes in employment landscape. Open legs

Staff69

When asked by The Straits Times to elaborate, an EDB spokesman said manpower flexibilities for the applications of some team members will be provided, if needed.

"This includes considering alternative factors in the application if needed, such as the stock options remuneration of the core team members, or if they have deep skills in place of formal academic qualifications," said the spokesman.

The Ministry of Manpower's website states that the EP is for foreign professionals who have a job offer here, work in a managerial, executive or specialised job, earn a fixed monthly salary of at least $3,600 and have acceptable qualifications.

It added that this usually means a good university degree, professional qualifications or specialist skills.

Its a sensitive issue. The EP dont have to pay CPF. So the cost is lower . If you get local, it would result in higher cost.

Problem also exist in integration in the workplace. 80 to 90% of the folks are non singaporean and the local feel alienated. ( just trying to avoid lim kopi for sedition act )

So when it comes to such sensitive issue, I wonder how can we address this?

1. is the CPF contribution

2. the reduction of opportunity for the local.

If you read the article, seems like those question raise by the reporters were unanswered or avoided.

I wonder if it would be helpful if they allow the Tech group to have a quota of sort ? maybe 60% local and 40% FT and raise the corporate tax rate higher if the company does not comply ?

I shudder when I read that you can even include non academic qualified to be allowed into the workforce when the locals are rejected ?

"This includes considering alternative factors in the application if needed, such as the stock options remuneration of the core team members, or if they have deep skills in place of formal academic qualifications," said the spokesman.

I believe we do ourselves a disfavour when all we do is say "chim.. dont know."

Would it not have help if the chenhu came out with a joint initiative to train the local with a 1:4 ratio as well?

The agencies said that under the programme, technology companies will have the EP application of their core team members facilitated to help them get the talent they need to set up teams here.

Edited by Sdf4786k

"On July 29, Monday, the country’s Minister for Trade and Industry, Chan Chun Sing, said that the country needs to do more specifically in the area of attracting talent from all over the world."

http://theindependent.sg/chan-chun-sing-says-singapore-must-do-more-to-attract-international-talent/

PAP wouldn't have come out to say such thing after GE2011 where foreign influx was a hot button issue. Has our dear minister thought this is no longer an issue in today's SG?

Shouldn't the doors be open for work permit ?

We need manpower to do menial task/semi-skill jobs, not talents to compete with our PMETs. We have so many engineering grads from poly and uni. Why cant they be hired or trained?

This point got saliva talk until not saliva. From short tongue talk until long tongue

We need WP and not EP

what I am afraid is that overnite...tom, dick and harry will have a masters in technology from the epson printer

Edited by Staff69

When asked by The Straits Times to elaborate, an EDB spokesman said manpower flexibilities for the applications of some team members will be provided, if needed.

The Ministry of Manpower's website states that the EP is for foreign professionals who have a job offer here, work in a managerial, executive or specialised job, earn a fixed monthly salary of at least $3,600 and have acceptable qualifications.

It added that this usually means a good university degree, professional qualifications or specialist skills.

Its a sensitive issue. The EP dont have to pay CPF. So the cost is lower . If you get local, it would result in higher cost.

Problem also exist in integration in the workplace. 80 to 90% of the folks are non singaporean and the local feel alienated. ( just trying to avoid lim kopi for sedition act )

So when it comes to such sensitive issue, I wonder how can we address this?

1. is the CPF contribution

2. the reduction of opportunity for the local.

If you read the article, seems like those question raise by the reporters were unanswered or avoided.

I wonder if it would be helpful if they allow the Tech group to have a quota of sort ? maybe 60% local and 40% FT and raise the corporate tax rate higher if the company does not comply ?

I shudder when I read that you can even include non academic qualified to be allowed into the workforce when the locals are rejected ?

I believe we do ourselves a disfavour when all we do is say "chim.. dont know."

Would it not have help if the chenhu came out with a joint initiative to train the local with a 1:4 ratio as well?

The agencies said that under the programme, technology companies will have the EP application of their core team members facilitated to help them get the talent they need to set up teams here.

60% local?

I Guess u don’t work in the tech industry

I think the tech industry has different kinds of meaning. I feel the government needs to be more selective. I think those Philippine EPs can be easily replaced by any Tom dick Harry local.

Some tech hires from overseas really are better than locals. Why? Engineering locally has degenerated into a dumping ground because of the bad environment, pay, reputation.

60% local?

I Guess u donât work in the tech industry

I work in tech industry.

Our local grads.... Sigh...

I work in tech industry.

Our local grads.... Sigh...

Only the not so smart ones would opt to study engineering/Tech in Singapore, cos anytime their jobs can be replaced by cheaper foreigners with open leg policy.  Unlike law/medicine which are protected (never see open leg welcome for this group)

So you ended up with CMI local grads who were not smart enough to make the correct decisions in the first place.

post-131345-0-89019800-1564550416_thumb.jpg

try asking those foreigners go for reservist every year and pass your ippt

if unlucky....might be facing 2 years db just like the sergeant

Edited by Staff69

Time to leave... oh ya... I already left [:p][laugh] [laugh]

typhoon no 8 coming in an hour....of course leave office lah