Changes in employment landscape. Open legs

Staff69

actually we are paying more than seven cos every item or service we had is tax on tax

1 bottle of mineral water

From water purification to bottle to seal to label to carton to delivery to retail already how many seven already

If you think tech sector tough to hire locals wait till you experience the F&B sector.......

Vomit blood until die or close shop oso nobody cares. Meanwhile MOM continues to reduce the quota so starting next Jan 2020 expect more eateries to close and in 2021 lagi more......

Eventually all eat fast food delivered by Foodpanda and Grab.

Cleaning service section also gone case soon. Next time wash your own car and housing precinct.

Yeh.

it's no joke working in F&B. i recalled working from 8am to some 10-11pm almost on a daily basis at a catering firm as an hourly paid part-timer few decades ago. perspired whole day due to food preparation, transferring / loading / unloading food / equipment, washing at non-aircon premises. the pay is barely 1.5k. maybe it's becos of vacation so i think i can somehow tahan. if you tell me to work for years in this industry in such a condition, i think i'll look for better options with a better remuneration. on a side note, i noticed a number of restaurants (fast food included) are really shorthanded.

I think the tech industry has different kinds of meaning. I feel the government needs to be more selective. I think those Philippine EPs can be easily replaced by any Tom dick Harry local.

Some tech hires from overseas really are better than locals. Why? Engineering locally has degenerated into a dumping ground because of the bad environment, pay, reputation.

yup. Apparently even for cloud and development work, PH is seen to be the next best place to be in as well as Call center.

Problem really is that its not in the main city like makati.

Even Indian outsource the work to PH. Strange as it may seem, SG sub out to india. India sub out to PH.

actually we are paying more than seven cos every item or service we had is tax on tax

1 bottle of mineral water

From water purification to bottle to seal to label to carton to delivery to retail already how many seven already

Tech sector tough to hire locals? I think ppl means tough to hire cheap. Pui

I hate to say this. Most FT in tech servicing the Banks now drives. Gone are the days where FT from india means cheaper as local are more ex.

As a comparison, a 3 letter Consulting entity vs a zodiac Consulting entity is 50% different.

But everyone know the amount of entertainment that goes into the deal pursuit. So when quality suffers, the ground staff is in a pricker.

I have heard of SW company entertaining client during deal pursuit with fine dining. Its little wonder that the cost goes up.

Actually every person in the tech sector knows this. It’s just those people who not in the sector will complain...

It’s actually a chicken and egg thing. Hiring more foreigners actually make it less attractive to locals, making the local tech grads quality drop, making companies hire more foreigners...

To the lay person, companies WANT WANT to hire locals because foreigners don’t stay Long... no attachment to Singapore...

But cannot find good ones...

There are ways to circumvent the system.

One way where everyone knows but its an inconvenient truth is using Contracting house to get contract workers

So if the bank is large enough, get 40 0r 50 sub contracting house, Huat ahh and by pass the quota.

From EDMW this ongoing thread is already more than 3 years.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/those-who-believed-pap-govts-reducing-no-foreigners%3B-shocked-official-record-number-5464040-9.html

I doubt there is a solution to the problem. Or at least no one is saying its a problem that Singaporean PMET are displace by White collar FT.

Edited by Sdf4786k

60% local?

I Guess u don’t work in the tech industry

nope. Not in the tech industry.

But paying premium for PS or Professional Service. SGD1800 per manday for a mid level manager from IT contractor. Mostly in DevOps.

I have visibility on the cost that needs to be chargeback.

Edited by Sdf4786k

That's why I love joining forums...I learn things every day.

The hard ware zone bro bought up a good point.

With the huge influx of foreigners why did Singapore fall year on year in the productivity section.

As claim by some that the foreigners are damn hard working Shouldn't the productivity level shoot thru the roof

Or is it all Singaporeans including LHL and everyone here are the real slackers and all foreigners are working their as off

post-131345-0-55234700-1564581944_thumb.jpgpost-131345-0-92747200-1564581955_thumb.jpg

Ps lim bei now entertaining my customers so dont bitch to me about my comma and fullstop

Edited by Staff69

I know of one company where it is literally run to the ground by FTs of a certain country. They only solve problems on the production floor.....not during regular office hrs....but only during claiming OT...

Edited by Kyrios

If you dont even respect and trust your own countrymen

How to ask others to respect and trust you

"This includes considering alternative factors in the application if needed, such as the stock options remuneration of the core team members, or if they have deep skills in place of formal academic qualifications," said the spokesman.

The Ministry of Manpower's website states that the EP is for foreign professionals who have a job offer here, work in a managerial, executive or specialised job, earn a fixed monthly salary of at least $3,600 and have acceptable qualifications.

How can someone earning less than $3,600 a month and needing stock options renumeration to meet this minimum salary be called foreign tech talents? Just called them foreign workers can liow. Real talents don't come cheap.

Isn't 3600 the starting pay of local grads? Bringing in these new EP "talents" to compete with the local grads? Good luck to them (locals)!

post-128138-0-82803000-1564589949_thumb.jpg

so let's say, someone set up a company and uses the scheme and claims to be paid 1000 per month with a stocks options from his own company when in actual fact

he is just buying gold here and stuffing it up his as and selling it back in his home town

or

just setting up an empty office and running an internet love scam

Edited by Staff69

I know of one company where it is literally run to the ground by FTs of a certain country. They only solve problems on the production floor.....not during regular office hrs....but only during claiming OT...

thats also known as "follow the sun"

Github chatter only starts at 12noon to 2pm depending on the "talent" pool that login.

The offshore support is really a joke if they dont start at SG time. While Singaporean need to support UK and US time zone.

Its quite ridiculous. Having say that, if you do support US time zone, time to get involve in Dow Jones and trade on the side.

Thats what the FT tells me ... oops

so let's say, someone set up a company and uses the scheme and claims to be paid 1000 per month with a stocks options from his own company when in actual fact

he is just buying gold here and stuffing it up his as and selling it back in his home town

or

just setting up an empty office and running an internet love scam

I see you been actively watching crime watch

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWolXKZJkNI

I tried to read all postings but got tired after the 2nd page. Personally, i feel EDB is infiltrated by FT. Haha.

I am not against real FT but if you check out or are in this industry, you probably know the answer. Are we having real FT? $3,600 FT local have plenty.

If you dont even respect and trust your own countrymen

How to ask others to respect and trust you

I suppose its how we were condition to behave.

If you adopt everyone for himself and repeatedly use "no one owes you a living" then yes, you in a very bitter world of only doing whats best for yourself.

What does that have to do with respect ?

Well, in order to get work done, do you instill a sense of discipline, like the army ?

Or do you get things done because everyone likes you and expect a treat for a task completed.

Getting respect needs more people who you can lead and harmonise in a unified manner .

The FT from certain country does it well except for the Singaporean.

When a newbie is introduce, I can see everyone drop everything and line up and be greeted. You dont get that kind of respect and greetings from the local group.

And hence when you ask / request for task to be fulfilled, its done expeditiously if you are well respected.

Revenue and cost of Mineral water goes to P&L.

GST goes to Balance Sheet.

this is rather easy maths.

The complicated ones are global source licence with in country taxation where you have to get a tax advisor to come to the table to "enlighten" the biz user and stakeholders.

One of the most complex tax system is the indian tax .aka tax on tax. If you can understand that system, everything else is simple as mud.

Isn't 3600 the starting pay of local grads? Bringing in these new EP "talents" to compete with the local grads? Good luck to them (locals)!

attachicon.gifScreenshot_20190801_001654.jpg

I like the part where they are paid 3600 and have at least 3 years of experience.

DOnt want to sound mean, but the army thing is really killing fresh grads.