Preeti/Subhas Nair 'offensive' music video saga.

Cheesey74

Is Dennis Chew badly affected?

Earlier on, News said he was not contactable for comments.

Edited by Albeniz

I'm watching TVB's Justice Bao.. Shaun Tam's face also got darkened for the role.

How how how? Offensive?

Some people should just grow up.

He and the Hungarian, 1 Por Favor and 1 Bochanot [laugh]

And the Japanese guy also very funny. Ironically, the programme absolutely cannot be aired to the UK public nowadays. The station would be inundated by complaints and lawsuits.

That Indian who goes "a thousand apologize" as he shake his head? [:p][laugh][laugh]

That is my deepest impression... ^_^

He played the role as a Sikh

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Moses

This guy my favourite and always got the best lines in that MYL sitcom

https://www.google.com.sg/search?client=safari&hl=en-sg&q=Ricardo+Montez&stick=H4sIAAAAAAAAAONgFuLUz9U3MLYwMi1W4gIxTYyLqiqqtMSyk630S8qAKL6gKD-9KDHXKjmxuGQRK19QZnJiUUq-gm9-XklqFQD6MNwCQgAAAA&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwisi-XGlt_jAhUGpI8KHTI0B4wQ9OUBCHkwAw&biw=375&bih=537

Thanks for the laughters...and may they Rest In Peace with grin.

I'm watching TVB's Justice Bao.. Shaun Tam's face also got darkened for the role.

How how how? Offensive?

Some people should just grow up.

hello...who paged me....I'm in the middle of court session!

post-29832-0-16252100-1564616030.jpg

I think our place. I know our place has this race thing going. Its something that was there while growing up. Even though my social circle does not mention even the word race in any language...

I noticed it particularly in lower income groups of other races, not to mention those of the northern persuasion. Its always race this or what race the other guy is. Its like an oral tradition.

These pair of siblings are in big no no territory, foreign financial or political funding?

In some work areas, it is pretty evident that promotion and hiring policy is affected by race. You can see HR manipulating racial policy. Not in a bad way but obviously selectively employing meritocracy.

For better or worse, artificial social construction to buy integration is a means to an end. The minority report.

Although, obviously racing is still an issue in Sg, unless we have been living under a rock.

Its too much to seek mature social thought for the masses, look at the push back in the USA where liberals have power and breathe equal rights and priviledges.

It is still work in progress. I hope those selectively manipulated into a higher social income class appreciate the system. It is most unfair if it were an equal system for their competition because of race.

Open your eyes and it is there. The fury of the kolam. If you could see the poor boy's face, you will realize the innate dislike some people still have and will occur in a mismanaged system.

HR specialists have to realize this and be acutely aware that they should realize they are running a troubled system no matter how well they wriggle with words.

This should serve as a reminder for the larger social group that race is still prickly for other groups even though the younger generation sees a colleague as a colleague but on the flip side that colleague seems you as a Chinese colleague.

Personally, I see that divisions between income groups are more palpable than racial groups. Those in the higher income class, educated and qualified, and holding professional jobs, have more in common with each other regardless of ethnic group. Agree?

At the same time though, we must carefully distinguish between offence caused by insensitivity or plain ignorance (due to lack of exposure to other cultures), or deliberate acts.

Edited by Sosaria

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/music-video-by-preetipls-has-crossed-the-line-by-insulting-chinese-people-shanmugam-111831135.html

Imo... a pair of attention seekers playing the racist cards again.

Might as well we go complain why last time gurmit singh act as pck.

Now like every small small thing nia n there will be clowns quick to jump onto the racial discrimination wagon.

For tis saga, i gotta agreed with Shanmugam liao..

Plenty of such internet idiots.

Clowns indeed

You sure Mustank?

Some people still insist on religious food and must give in to them or else...

The advertisement would be offensive to me, its not funny because I am all prickly inside and it is religious garb for my womenfolk.

Not pretty. Not funny.

GF yourself whoever okayed this advertisement.

Oh yeah, another example of the disconnect between the 4G leaders and the ground.

Stupid is as stupid does.

Our first two Kings knew our ground velly well. The third is distracted by family matters. Family is family , keep it out of our national matters.

Nothing to do go scratch bums after all the talk about precious treasured harmony. Its enough to draw a conclusion of conspiracy.

Recently some royal lady talking about race this and that...whats the point?

Look at Keanu reeves, that guy is a mutt but one of the nicest human beings.

Edited by Datsun366

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/legit-brownface-ad-singapore-e-070641981.html

Offensive meh?

If really offensive then it's not just racist but sexist too. Right or not?

attachicon.gifDennis Chew.jpg

Like that ppl also get upset? Bo liao. <_<

I quite agree with Alfian Saat on why the ad can be construed as racist.

"I'm actually starting to feel unsafe just existing as a minority in Singapore. 

This keeps happening over and over again--the ones perpetuating racism get a wrist slap, the ones who call out acts of racism have the instruments of the state used against them--through the weaponisation of police reports, as well as minority MP's lining up to perform the overpolicing of their own, as if to demonstrate to the majority that they're still committed to majoritarian interests. 

I'm really tired of witnessing this ugly dysfunction where a majority keeps on insisting that they should get to define what is funny, and what is offensive, and that their views should become the norm. Of course majoritarianism exists in Singapore but this particular form is one of the most wicked. 

Because what is 'funny', or 'scary', are minorities. We become the figure of fun, the brunt of jokes, the bogeymen, the 'don't be like that person', the low-IQ long-drawl Malay accent, the head-bobbing Indian accent, the image of the drug addict, the drunkard, the prata-man President, the fake-Malay President, Ahmad the chauffeur, Aminah the cleaner, Apunehneh the whoever he or she is. 

Who was it who said that we don't really have racial harmony in Singapore, what we have is racist harmony? Because that harmony is built on the eternal forbearance of minorities. To be able to take a joke, to laugh at ourselves, to inspect our flaws obsessively and self-criticise, because minorities are obliged to aim for self-improvement rather than to demand social justice. Tell the other side to take a joke and the police are summoned.

I see so many of my Malay friends say the same thing: 'penatlah'. It means we're tired. We're exhausted. Why are we facing this again and again? How come when we say that your amusement is the cause of our pain, we get told that your amusement is more important than our pain? What is it about brownfacing that people don't get? Why is it that I see some people even asking 'is it you're ashamed of your skin colour and don't want us to draw attention to it?' 

No, it's because when you get a Chinese person to do racial drag, you're effectively saying that being Chinese in Singapore is the standard and all other races are deviations from the standard. In one of the photos, Dennis Chew tries to play an Indian man called Muthusamy. His skin is darkened. He wears an oily-looking wig with curls. He has narrow eyes, so he widens them, and the effect is that he looks deranged. There is nothing innocent about brownfacing. It reduces an entire race to physical features that are supposed to be reproducible through makeup, while at the same time ridiculing those features. 

I pause here; why am I even writing this? What is this labour--of describing, contextualising, explaining--that I have to perform even as I feel, like so many of my compatriots, that the only thing I want to say is 'penat lah'? A resignation beyond sorrow. Why do I always expect better of people only to become so crushingly disappointed? Why can I not let empathy just do this seemingly ceaseless work that minorities have to do in Singapore? What failure of imagination must there be to not be able to sense what it would be like if done to you--if someone squinted to make slit eyes, slathered on yellowish foundation, wore a China-doll wig to represent you?

As much as I deeply believe in anti-racist work, it is not my chosen career. I want to write about so many other things, I want to make connections beyond this weird dystopian bubble. I don't want to have most of my energy consumed by pointing out racist things, explaining why they are racist, telling racists not to (in Preetipls's pithy words) F**k it up. 

What is the exit strategy? Can we gather some day soon and discuss how to leave this country and all this garbage behind? Of course 'there is racism everywhere' but I don't know any other society that has so internalised its own propaganda on multiracialism that it is unable to process any contrary accounts of racism. Denial, defensiveness and hostility shape most conversations on racism. Messengers bearing a less than rosy picture are disbelieved and terrorised. If something is flagged as racist, it is not that racist thing that will earn censure. The flag however, will be torn to shreds. 

It's time to go. Penatlah."

Edited by Nav14

I quite agree with Alfian Saat on why the ad can be construed as racist.

I dunno about the rest but I only see it as an ad, nothing more. And the goal of the ad is to present making payment easy for all walks of life. That's the message, nothing racial about it. For me it's only seen as racist when some individuals make it personal. That's their problem. If they have an issue they can always bring the attention to the establishment who made the ad in a civilized way. They dont have to be crude or insulting or even racist themselves to bring the message across. There are so many ways to do it. So why do it so negatively?

You may look at differently if you were a minority.

The ad obviously had to be downplayed by Shanmugam since it was initiated by a govt linked body.

Bro, i had a class with a Master grad from NUS that shone with all kinds of colours with her personal view of race. Her traditional dress was mid eastern and i was paying for her rant.

Not happy but what can i do? Go report her for what?

There will always be people who prosleytize using whatever platform they want disregarding sensibilities.

The advertisement is wrong and in some places...the purveyor ...

IMHO, offence is taken, not given.

I've lived in another country for a significant amount of time, where I was a minority on 3 counts:

1) citizenship

2) race

3) religion

and these issues are a constant and real factor in politics, work and casual life.

also, I am reminded of another country where the politicians often play the race card and blatantly give privileges to the majority race.

while here, we get offended by a light-hearted ad that probably didn't intend to be racist?

Then Phua Chu Kang how? And I guess Mrs Doubtfire (the movie) is sexist cos it presumes that babysitters are female?

You may look at differently if you were a minority.

The ad obviously had to be downplayed by Shanmugam since it was initiated by a govt linked body.

I think minority being sidelined happens everywhere, nothing new. If ppl have a strong urge to say something, send them a fb message and say you dont like it. At least it's made known and others get to read about why you are upset.