Soh Rui Yong is not selected for SEA Games

Ender

Soh owns sg records for 10k, HM and FM. He was said to be gunning for 5k record after breaking the FM. You can see his competitiveness and talent in running.

It's a waste since he is still 28.

千里马 we have, where is 伯乐?

Soh owns sg records for 10k, HM and FM. He was said to be gunning for 5k record after breaking the FM. You can see his competitiveness and talent in running.

It's a waste since he is still 28.

千里马 we have, where is 伯乐?

Actually from my understanding is that 3-5k is very different from 10k distances and above. Like you don't really see full marathon runners doing any distance shorter than 21k. At most they come from 10k backgrounds.

As it has a lot to do with physiological changes u need to make to your body. 

Granted he's a talented runner and it's a narrow talent pool here in Singapore.

Actually from my understanding is that 3-5k is very different from 10k distances and above. Like you don't really see full marathon runners doing any distance shorter than 21k. At most they come from 10k backgrounds.

Mo Farah did 5 and 10k. Now FM. When one gets older, distance increased to compensate for speed loss.

Seems like it. Older can do endurance but reduce in speed.

I just did a Google. Current 5km record is Bekele. He is also world class marathoner.

Thanks. So long distance runners have the option of doing 5-10k when younger, than transiting to HM and FM when older.

Yes, after Mok Ying Ren was injured and not able to defence his title in 2015, Soh is the best marathon runner now in SG. 

His 2:29:27 clocked at the 2017 Sea games was way outside the 5% selection mark of the 2018 Asian games and commonwealth games. 

His 2:34:56 clocked at the 2015 Sea games was also way outside the 5% of the 2012 3rd place timing. 

So he was not selected to run in the 2016 Olympics, not selected to run in both the Asian Games and Commonwealth Games in 2018, all base on performance. 

So Yes, only SEA games gold.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athletics_at_the_2017_Southeast_Asian_Games_%E2%80%93_Men%27s_Results#Marathon

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athletics_at_the_2018_Asian_Games_%E2%80%93_Men%27s_marathon

Posted above are the Mens Marathon result for 2017 SEA Games  and 2018 Asian Games.

It's funny how I can't find the top marathon runners for sea games inside asian games. then you find some random thailand runners NOT inside sea games competing in Asian games. Even Agus (top indonesian marathon runner) on homeground advantage didn't manage to finish the Asian Games race (DNF)??? I'm still perplex why a SEA Games 2-time marathon gold medalist didn't even partake the Asian Games.

My 28th Birthday Message to my supporters, Ashley Liew and SNOC.

https://www.runsohfast.com/blog/my-28th-birthday-message-to-my-supporters-ashley-liew-and-snoc

I saw the support petition linked on facebook of a running group I am with. I find those people that support his actions are those "serious" runner, as in those very free to give full commitment types, can go ultras, climb mountain here and there, overseas etc. Basically, same mindsets lah ... think they are very good and admired (likes on facebook) but really, our standards here are nowhere can match overseas. Just take it as a hobby cannot? Really jaguh kampong (village champion) kind. It's childish. Like some cyclists here buy branded gear, carbon wheels what-not [laugh] and argue for right-of-way. Did we ever have a SEA games cycling gold even?

Edited by Sosaria

I saw the support petition linked on facebook of a running group I am with. I find those people that support his actions are those "serious" runner, as in those very free to give full commitment types, can go ultras, climb mountain here and there, overseas etc. Basically, same mindsets lah ... think they are very good and admired (likes on facebook) but really, our standards here are nowhere can match overseas. Just take it as a hobby cannot? Really jaguh kampong (village champion) kind. It's childish. Like some cyclists here buy branded gear, carbon wheels what-not [laugh] and argue for right-of-way. Did we ever have a SEA games cycling gold even?

LOL at your last sentence. I see so many trendy cyclists and bicycle shops selling and using the most expensive XTR or specialised bikes or jerseys or shades. It's a hobby many participate in Singapore. But still lose out to Malaysia who conquer the sports in this region.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cycling_at_the_2017_Southeast_Asian_Games

Where do we train our cyclists for Omnium category?? We got Omnium stadium meh??

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athletics_at_the_2017_Southeast_Asian_Games_%E2%80%93_Men%27s_Results#Marathon

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athletics_at_the_2018_Asian_Games_%E2%80%93_Men%27s_marathon

Posted above are the Mens Marathon result for 2017 SEA Games  and 2018 Asian Games.

It's funny how I can't find the top marathon runners for sea games inside asian games. then you find some random thailand runners NOT inside sea games competing in Asian games. Even Agus (top indonesian marathon runner) on homeground advantage didn't manage to finish the Asian Games race (DNF)??? I'm still perplex why a SEA Games 2-time marathon gold medalist didn't even partake the Asian Games.

Let me try and explain in terms I understand, and to my best knowledge possible. Hopefully can try and clear some perplex.

Firstly it has to do with individual countries selection process. Every country has a different set of criteria for different games.  In general, you dont hit the requirement you dont run for that games, apply to SEA games, Asian Games, Commonwealth games and Olympics games. I dont think i need to go into the nature of each of these games.

For SG selection base on performance alone, there are other requirements, but here we are talking about performance alone. 

nomination for SEA games is equal to 2%, 4% and 5% off the 3rd place ranking in the last SEA games. 

Nomination for Asian games is equal to 2% off the 6th ranking in the last Asian game. In this case for Soh to be nominated for the 2018 Asian games, we need to look back at the result of the 2014 Asian games.  Link here

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athletics_at_the_2014_Asian_Games_%E2%80%93_Men%27s_marathon

The 6th placed was at 2:15:51, so a 2% off will be 2:17:43. Any result outside of this will not qualify for a nomination. There is also a  qualifying period which was from 15-4-2017 to 17-6-2018. Soh's 2:29:27 Gold medal finish in the 2017 SEA games in Aug 2017 was more than 11 min off the 2% requirement, and so he did not get to run in the ASIAN games. 

In fact his 2:29:27 was not even 10th place ranking in the 2014 Asia games. 

I hope this explanation is understandable.

If the SEA games gold medalist cannot get himself into Asian games, how are the rest going to be able to do it? Those whom appeared in the Asian games could be training somewhere else or did not run any races to qualify for the SEA games, but make it to qualifying for ASIAN games later.

SEA games is just a small little pond, outside there is a big sea.... [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

I think his SEA game medal probably cut short to 2 hits, but is due to politics and not performance,

poor attitude rather then politics?

I think when Asian game has Japan inside, it's consider world class. After Kenyan and Etopia, Japan is next for producing the most under 2:06 MARATHONERS. Even USA, who has alot more marathoners than Japan, but under 2:06, the number of marathoners still lose to Japan.

Oh I just thought of one example near home.

Joseph schooling, he was requested to fly back in 2017 to compete in the SEA games, he didnt go through qualifying I think, but his coach in USA was full of objection of him coming back just to race in SEA games. But he did come back. 

In his case, if he had not wanted to come back, someone else will be the 2017 SEA games gold medalist, but then you will see schooling in Asian game.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I think when Asian game has Japan inside, it's consider world class. After Kenyan and Etopia, Japan is next for producing the most under 2:06 MARATHONERS. Even USA, who has alot more marathoners than Japan, but under 2:06, the number of marathoners still lose to Japan.

Not only Japan, In team of sports in general, Asian games include China, TW and SK also. 

Last time I been wondering how come the reward in commonwealth game is so much lower than Asian games, because I always though commonwealth games has higher standard. 

Lately then I realize, actually the standard of Asian games is already very close to Olympics. If one can make it to Asian games, there is almost no problem getting to Olympics.  [thumbsup]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Not only Japan, In team of sports in general, Asian games include China, TW and SK also.

Last time I been wondering how come the reward in commonwealth game is so much lower than Asian games, because I always though commonwealth games has higher standard.

Lately then I realize, actually the standard of Asian games is already very close to Olympics. If one can make it to Asian games, there is almost no problem getting to Olympics. [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

Ya, China and TW. Actually Chinese gene can run endurance. Lose out to Kenyan and Etopia only.

Of course not lah.

SG had 58 golds in the last SEA games in 2017.

But in term of athletics, The Track and Field team is not strong, It only contributed 2 golds, of which 1 came from Soh, the other is from high jump.

So, in terms of Athletics, yes he can be quite a big f**k in medal contribution, but on the whole his is still a tiny little fly, 1 less of 58 is not going to make much different, although 1 less of 2 is going to be a big impact for SA. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Too bad James Wong old liao cos last time he won multiple Gold medals at discus for us in SEA games as he was so much better than the competition that he could even take a break n only start serious training nearer the start of the games n still walk away with the Gold medal

yah 2 hit wonder in SEA games is cfm for him for now, due to politics is for sure, but no one can be sure it will not be due to performance also, unless he gets to run. 

Yes he ran a PB last year in Seoul,  but the weather and conditions in Philippines is not the same as Seoul, and we cannot assume he will produce the same result or run another PB base on what he ran last year. We also cannot assume that the rest of the competition has not caught up base on results 2 years ago, although I think is quite likely since SG has taken the last 3 golds back to back. 

Has he peaked? nobody knows, not even himself.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

If he runs in Philippines, he is at least 10% off his Seoul Marathon time.

March is cool and dry to set a record.  Unlike November

Too bad James Wong old liao cos last time he won multiple Gold medals at discus for us in SEA games as he was so much better than the competition that he could even take a break n only start serious training nearer the start of the games n still walk away with the Gold medal