Man steals basin tap from police station

Lala81

Perhaps maybe for the guy it was worth it. 

With the assumption that he's unemployed and facing financial hardship, getting 3 months jail is probably good "ROI" in his mind: 

- Minimum comfort board; Roof over his head with highest level 24/7 Security.

- Daily nutritious basic meals and snacks.

- Basic attire provided with laundry service. 

- Routine physical workout for healthy well-being.

- Street cred for getting away with a tap from a police station and not getting caught till a month later.

1. It reflects poorly on our public accountability and prudence in spending public money. $171 for a public toilet tap? To think that contractors bulk buy and tender for these works.

2. Many of us make the common mistake of "assuming" and "judging" without taking in the consideration of a. putting ourselves in their shoes (their circumstances) and b. their mindset which does affect by social class. Do you remember, a highly paid politician cant have enough of toothpicks?

3. It wrong to remove the tap for own use but the punishment seems disproportional to the minor offence committee. I am sure it has something to bruising of the police pride too.

4. Different levels of our social strata view consequences differently and to the extend some dont even bother about consequences as how bad can it already be. When you are being paid $1200 a month (gross - not taking CPF into consideration) and having a family of 3 (including a baby) and perhaps elderly parents, trust me, it is a living hell on earth. Many of the younger generation cannot understand or appreciate the kind of hardship. It is so unreal to them because the only experience is from a television set or a screen for a computer/handphone.

5. Even the verocious of criminals do not want to go prison. Don't make light of going to prison. If you need to experience hell on earth then please help yourself. You literally become a nobody and literally fear for your own life even in a well managed prison like in Singapore.

6. We are ONLY lying to ourselves that the law is applied evenly for everyone. It is unfair but it is life. Lets give an example: If our president's child did the same (out of mischieve) would it get into the news or even get charged in the first place. Ever wondered why you are served better when you dress well at immigration or even at police station. Sad to admit, if you are well connected, in most situation, a phone is all it takes to get the problem go away in many parts of the world. It also happens among religious organization. Why when a government official come to the religious centre to pray, all cant wait to serve but when a beggar goes in, everyone becomes uncomfortable. That is life and we cant get rid of it.

and funnily police made a report

simisai is this???

ownself report ownself???

Lagi best. Polis hv to go make polis report at another polis station

Maybe coz somebody stole their PC oso izit?....lol

Lagi best. Polis hv to go make polis report at another polis station

Maybe coz somebody stole their PC oso izit?....lol

Sounds like old Charleston police comedy

Somebody is lining their pockets with this overpriced tap.. multiply that difference by at least 20 taps per building and you have a significant sum.

Maybe tap cost $50. Contractor makan $120.

Somebody is lining their pockets with this overpriced tap.. multiply that difference by at least 20 taps per building and you have a significant sum.

Just the taps?

How much did the sink cost?

What brand is the Tap to cost $170?

Who approved ?

Tap installation is slipshod

Who approved?

Can remove with bare hands without tools?

Who is the contractor??!!??!?

Who approved?

open-can-of-worms-saying-cartoon-vector-

Let's see if George Clooney's sister in law goes to Changi chalet like the rest for second drink driving offence (no licence too!), given her husband's connection.

6. We are ONLY lying to ourselves that the law is applied evenly for everyone. It is unfair but it is life. Lets give an example: If our president's child did the same (out of mischieve) would it get into the news or even get charged in the first place. Ever wondered why you are served better when you dress well at immigration or even at police station. Sad to admit, if you are well connected, in most situation, a phone is all it takes to get the problem go away in many parts of the world. It also happens among religious organization. Why when a government official come to the religious centre to pray, all cant wait to serve but when a beggar goes in, everyone becomes uncomfortable. That is life and we cant get rid of it.

The article met its objectives. Attract readers.

People making report must report correctly. The fitting is unlikely to cost that much but like 1 bro said, the total cost to replace including labour could cost $170. 

It also never explain how he remove without cause water to flood the toilet. There must be a stop valve below the basin lor. It took a month because everyone thought it is maintenance till they found out no maintenance work was done. 

But, this is a very 'smart' thief lah. Surely that tap is not a golden one NKF COE use right?