Mercs: property news & updates

Mercs

UP UP and away! :D

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/condo-hdb-rents-climb-again-in-april-with-13-rise-srx

https://www.srx.com.sg/research/61091/both-condo-and-hdb-rents-increase-13-on-lower-volumes-in-april-2021

Condo, HDB rents climb again in April with 1.3% rise

- April 2021 rents increase 1.3% from March 2021. CCR, RCR and OCR rents increase by 1.3%, 1.2% and 1.3% respectively.

- Year-on-year, overall rents increase by 5.2% from April 2020.

- Year-on-year, rents in CCR, RCR and OCR increase by 2.3%, 4.6% and 7.5% respectively

image.png.479ddaa458951cdb331114e9f1b4ee94.png

https://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/news/hdb-rental-rates-rise-11th-straight-month

HDB rental rates rise for 11th straight month

- April 2021 HDB rents increase 1.3% from March 2021

- Year-on-year, overall rents increase by 5.6%.

- Year-on-year, Mature Estates and Non-Mature Estates rents increase by 4.1% and 7.2% respectively.

- Year-on-year, all room types record rent increases: 3 Room by 4.9%, 4 Room by 6.5%, 5 Room by 5.3% and Executive rents by 3.3%.

image.png.6f2311d84f5b8406f33dc7d0f12bfdf3.png

4 hours ago, Spurman said:

A noob in property here. But heres my 2cent.

Say buy a 2nd property. 1million. Down 250k lar. Absd etc 170k lar plus simi lj fees another 30k lar. Then go plunk a 30yrs loan lar. Typical sinkie? Dunno. Say fixed 2percent interest lar annum.

Total loan 750k. But plus interest simi wu er boh eh. Total payable loan is 998k

Say u rent this place 2.5k monthly. And the simi monthly maintenance fee is 400buck. So nett got 2.1k a month.

Total monies used in 30yrs is 750k plus 170k plus 30k plus 997k which is 1447k rite.

Then total nett rent 30yrs without any absentee is 30x2100x12 is 756k.

So let say knn. After 30yrs house still worth 1m only. Sold at 1m.

So total profits would it be like 1000k minus 1448k + 756k which is a measy 308k profits.

Oh ya. Forgot agent comm on rent. 1mth per yr. 30yrs is 30x2500 which is 75k.

So profits is a damn 233k. Still okay lar. Got roi.

2. Let say jia lat interest is 3percent instead. Means total loan becomes 1139k. Which is additonal of 142k less profits. So end up make like 91k over 30yrs.

Let say got 10percent of this 30yrs no rent. Would it means seow leow?

Also oh ya. Ccb. Need to do reno 3 times over 30yrs. Buy these and that rite.

Else no tenant rite.

Anyway above is my pessimistate pov but i tink could be a reality one right. I tink. 

Once again agents here or there. Maybe what i present is something they might never dare say one rite.

So best is to buy with cb more downpayment. Shorter loan in short. Cash if best

The current measures are supposed to deter landlords from collecting or hoarding even too many units and your example is a fine one to explain why many buyers today may not be buying 2nd or multiple units with absd, except for those who can seek out good units with spectacular outlier values.. Or the wealthy ones picking up a bundle here and there. Some were lucky to get their units without the massive taxes so renting out makes sense, like what showster has been sharing. But that is hard to emulate today. Remove absd and u see how many here will jump in.. 

Now.. foreign buying has gone down drastically. Who are the ones buying up the market now in the midst of covid? Many are hdb upgraders, or have lost faith in the lease decay issue that still surrounds hdb ownership. Personally know of a few who have done so.

We can only imagine what happens when foreign buying picks up again.

5 hours ago, Spurman said:

Say buy a 2nd property. 1million. Down 250k lar. Absd etc 170k lar plus simi lj fees another 30k lar. Then go plunk a 30yrs loan lar. Typical sinkie? Dunno. Say fixed 2percent interest lar annum.

Total loan 750k. But plus interest simi wu er boh eh. Total payable loan is 998k

Say u rent this place 2.5k monthly. And the simi monthly maintenance fee is 400buck. So nett got 2.1k a month.

Total monies used in 30yrs is 750k plus 170k plus 30k plus 997k which is 1447k rite.

So total profits would it be like 1000k minus 1448k + 756k which is a measy 308k profits.

2. Let say jia lat interest is 3percent instead. Means total loan becomes 1139k. Which is additonal of 142k less profits. So end up make like 91k over 30yrs.

Let say got 10percent of this 30yrs no rent. Would it means seow leow?

Also oh ya. Ccb. Need to do reno 3 times over 30yrs. Buy these and that rite.

Else no tenant rite.

Anyway above is my pessimistate pov but i tink could be a reality one right. I tink. 

Once again agents here or there. Maybe what i present is something they might never dare say one rite.

So best is to buy with cb more downpayment. Shorter loan in short. Cash if best

I don’t think the smart ones will wanna pay govt a new Japanese car or bmw in full cash.. lol

decouple to buy 2.. one for own stay and another for investment lo..... 

12 hours ago, Showster said:

Most people think like that, and therefore most don’t buy private property.

But most private property owners gain beyond our imagination.  

How to reconcile these apparent, obvious contradictions?

Ultimately we have very limited land. So naturally it has to go up gradually... 

HDB resale prices are even more scarier too. Should be shooting straight up for 12 months consecutive 

Recently, I don’t need to say much because the data speaks for itself. But those who rent and wait when they can actually afford to buy (maybe over 5 years already), make sure you learn from this cycle.

Edited by Showster

15 hours ago, Spurman said:

Brother, where got house in Singapore, after 30 years still value the same one?  Most would have double or triple in value.

41 minutes ago, Starry said:

Brother, where got house in Singapore, after 30 years still value the same one?  Most would have double or triple in value.

Thats very true. Not everyone will hold to 30 years too. When target price is being met, landlords have been seen selling them off in the market for a tidy sum to homeowners already, just look at recent transactions. 

In the short run, it's really tough to see capital appreciation when one factors in the bsf&absd. When u sell, also have to factor in that u don't buy again, otherwise another round of top up to govt. U have to be really vested in Singapore's future to see thru this. 

very noob question as i was asked by my 15 year old daughter....

question from my daughter...

Daughter : Papa, why ah, my fren staying opposite condo the prices keep going up and even the prices of HDB is going up, but hor, our birth rate is declining to almost zero...see all our neighbors, all no children wan...can you explain this phenomenon? will there be people or families buying these properties?...does not make sense to me...

Daddy : eeerrr...dunno how to answer!!..scratch my head..:lll._.:

So is there really demand?

1 hour ago, Spidey10 said:

Daughter : Papa, why ah, my fren staying opposite condo the prices keep going up and even the prices of HDB is going up, but hor, our birth rate is declining to almost zero...see all our neighbors, all no children wan...can you explain this phenomenon? will there be people or families buying these properties?...does not make sense to me...

Tell her you will answer her 10 years later (most likely she is buying property starting around then).

13 hours ago, Showster said:

Recently, I don’t need to say much because the data speaks for itself. But those who rent and wait when they can actually afford to buy (maybe over 5 years already), make sure you learn from this cycle.

5 years pay rental. Suppose if they bought any resale, should have cleared a lot of the principal in the is low interest period... and it’s just getting more and more expensive... 

10 hours ago, Spidey10 said:

Maybe the condo opposite yours is quite new. The older one I’m staying I seen 2/3 kids per household... though some are like 30 years old Liao... 😆👍

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/05/13/business/global-real-estate-prices/index.html

People are panic buying homes as prices skyrocket around the world

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/pgf-property-cooling-measures-may-not-be-necessary-48448

5 Reasons Why Cooling Measures May Not Even Be Necessary in 2021  

https://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/in-focus/rents-increase-amidst-narrowing-housing-supply-orangetee

Rents increase amidst narrowing housing supply

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/more-snapping-up-luxe-condos-even-as-new-private-home-sales-in-april-slow

More snapping up luxe condos even as new private home sales in April slow

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/spike-in-singaporeans-snapping-up-posh-residential-properties

Spike in Singaporeans snapping up posh residential properties

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/residential-transactions-contracts-dated-apr-27-may-4-done-deals

Residential transactions with contracts dated Apr 27 to May 4 [DONE DEALS]

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/unit-scotts-28-reaps-179-mil-profit

Unit at Scotts 28 reaps $1.79 mil profit

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/gcb-coronation-road-west-going-37-mil-amid-surging-prices

GCB at Coronation Road West going for $37 mil amid surging prices

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/three-bedroom-plus-study-unit-sophia-residence-going-185-mil

Three-bedroom-plus-study unit at Sophia Residence going for $1.85 mil

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/propnex-reports-net-profit-growth-967-162-mil-1q2021

PropNex reports net profit growth of 96.7% to $16.2 mil for 1Q2021

https://www.asiaone.com/money/are-new-launches-sure-win-we-analyse-450000-property-transactions

Are new launches a 'sure win?' we analyse 450,000 property transactions

https://www.asiaone.com/money/6-lesser-known-negative-factors-can-affect-propertys-value

6 lesser-known negative factors that can affect a property's value

https://www.asiaone.com/money/how-much-does-it-cost-live-singapores-3-hottest-hdb-estates

How much does it cost to live in Singapore's 3 hottest HDB estates?

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/our-resale-hdb-buying-journey-700k-home/

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/alex-residences-review/#gs.0septb

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/units-of-the-week-issue-62/#gs.0sepft

https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/property-myths-singaporeans-believe/

5 property myths Singaporeans wholeheartedly believe in

https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/upgrading-condo-mistakes/

5 fatal mistakes Singaporeans make when upgrading to a condo

https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/fulfilling-woman-wish-proceeds-pasir-ris-condo-sale-charity/

Fulfilling a woman’s wish: proceeds of her Pasir Ris condo sale to go to charity

https://cnalifestyle.channelnewsasia.com/trending/the-virtual-singapore-property-show-2021-14794734

The second edition of virtual Singapore Property Show returns bigger and better

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/hong-kong-travel-bubble-affect-023559935.html

Hong Kong Travel Bubble: Will This Affect the Singapore Property Market?

https://www.homeanddecor.com.sg/gallery/sell-1-hdb-buy-2-condos-5-things-you-should-know/

Sell 1 HDB, buy 2 condos: 5 things you should know

https://www.homeanddecor.com.sg/gallery/house-tour-creative-use-of-space-in-this-four-room-toa-payoh-hdb-flat/

House Tour: Creative use of space in this four-room Toa Payoh HDB flat

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/provence-residence-sells-53-total-units-launch

Provence Residence sells 53% of total units at launch

- 220 units out of the total of 413 at Provence Residence executive condominium (EC) were taken up for its launch from May 13 to May 15.

- The average selling price of the units was $1,142 psf.

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/capacity-tightened-visitors-property-sales-galleries

Capacity limits for visitors to project sales galleries, resale properties

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/btexplains-why-are-condo-hdb-rents-rising

BTExplains: Why are condo, HDB rents rising?

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/property-players-fall-back-on-digitalisation-efforts-in-response-to-stricter-safe

Property players fall back on digitalisation efforts in response to stricter safe distancing measures

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/property/disruptions-from-pandemic-alter-renting-patterns-fuel-spike-in-condo-hdb-flat

Condo, HDB rents up amid disruptions caused by Covid-19

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/property/paying-more-rent-for-a-bigger-house-to-fit-work-from-home-needs-the-new-norm

Paying more rent for a bigger house to fit work from home needs the new norm?

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/property/hong-kong-luxury-house-sets-record-with-monthly-rent-of-275000

Hong Kong luxury house sets record with monthly rent of $275,000

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/4-major-chinese-developers-in-singapore-an-overview-of-their-perfomance-so-far/

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/5-new-launch-1000-sq-ft-units-under-1-3-million-for-families-that-need-space/

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/property/new-private-home-sales-hit-4-year-high-for-april-but-tighter-covid-19-curbs-may

New private home sales in S'pore hit 4-year high for April but tighter Covid-19 curbs may cool market

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/new-private-home-sales-april-luxury-property-condominiums-14826522?cid=FBcna&fbclid=IwAR14a_Y2GBBJLXSaIxRwVPZMWkYsCG77rRKEsJpS8JGDzosI_Q0XWmfJbpg

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/aprils-new-private-homes-sales-eased-to-1262

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/developers-sell-1262-new-homes-april

image.thumb.png.dedb2d5949cc916bd6091d51d783dfb7.png

image.thumb.png.55688d1069b6b3e8ae8c01acf2a26253.png

image.thumb.png.b06c93b3c113232cfc9ae6c5f2bc7345.png

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-singapore-construction-industry-appeals-foreign-workers-14826194

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/construction-industry-makes-appeal-to-allow-foreign-workers-into-singapore-in-safe

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/construction-industry-stakeholders-call-safe-and-controlled-entry-foreign-workers

Construction industry stakeholders call for safe and controlled entry of foreign workers

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/developers-need-to-find-new-ways-to-improve-value

Developers need to find new ways to improve value

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/stapled-developer-and-reit-structure-suggested-to-arrest-trading-discounts

Stapled developer and Reit structure suggested to arrest trading discounts

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/high-street-centre-makes-second-attempt-at-collective-sale-with-s800m-reserve-price

High Street Centre makes second attempt at collective sale with S$800m reserve price

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/roxy-pacific-associate-acquires-a-999-year-leasehold-residential-site-for-s23m

Roxy-Pacific associate acquires a 999-year leasehold residential site for S$23m

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/demand-for-interim-rental-flats-under-hdb-scheme-doubled-last-year-amid-bto

Demand for interim rental flats under HDB scheme doubled last year amid BTO construction delays

https://www.asiaone.com/money/it-worth-paying-premium-pre-war-and-post-war-flats-tiong-bahru-we-break-down-numbers

Is it worth paying a premium for pre-war and post-war flats in Tiong Bahru? We break down the numbers

https://dollarsandsense.sg/interest-rates-time-low-2021-best-time-buy-condominium-singapore/

Interest rates Are At An All-Time Low: Is 2021 The Best Time To Buy A Condominium In Singapore?

https://dollarsandsense.sg/shareholders-lose-unfriendly-sph-restructuring/

Can Young Singaporean Home Buyers Survive This 2021 Property Market?

https://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/in-focus/more-buyers-look-resale-market-following-26-dip-in-private-home-sales

More buyers to look into resale market following 2.6% dip in private home sales

(Analysts expect future sales to be affected by more HBD upgraders, and fewer fresh property launches)

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/news/property/propnex-expands-cambodia-boosting-salesforce-12000

PropNex expands to Cambodia, boosting salesforce to 12,000

"Meanwhile, PropNex also reported that 30 of its Singapore salespersons recorded more than $1 million in gross commissions each for FY2020, marking a record high"

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-any-cancelling-of-bto-flat-purchase-must-come-with-penalty

Forum: Any cancelling of BTO flat purchase must come with penalty

https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/housing-ageing-population-more-than-building-roof/

Housing an ageing population: it’s more than just building a roof over their heads

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/ample-liquidity-drives-pricier-landed-home-deals-stock-trading-in-q1

Ample liquidity drives pricier landed-home deals, stock trading in Q1

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2021/5/198599/condominiums-take-extra-precaution-to-ensure-residents-safety

Condominiums Take Extra Precaution To Ensure Residents’ Safety

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/private-property-housing-supply-glut-48801

How Long Will the Singapore Housing Supply Glut Take to Clear? 

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/electric-car-singapore-condo-ev-charging-48739

Which Condos in Singapore Have Electric Car Charging Points?

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/pgf-home-buying-tips-singaporean-millennials-48813

8 Home Buying Tips for First-Timers—As Shared By Singaporean Millennials

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/renting-in-singapore-single-millennials-48821

Single Millennial's Guide to Renting in Singapore on A 2.5K Salary

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/hdb-maisonettes-resale-flats-under-600k-33301

10 HDB Executive Maisonettes Under 650k

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/pgf-how-to-apply-for-bto-couple-48777

Applying for BTO: What to Seriously Consider Before Asking Your Partner “BTO, Ai Mai?”

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/pgf-cash-over-valuation-estimate-calculation-tips-48876

Cash Over Valuation for HDB Resale Flats: How to Estimate COV When Negotiating Price

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/resale-hdb-flat-singapore-48846

5 Traits That Could Make A Resale Flat More Attractive

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/midwood-review/

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/residential-transactions-contracts-dated-may-4-may-11-done-deals

Residential transactions with contracts dated May 4 to May 11 [DONE DEALS]

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/unit-skyeleven-reaps-172-mil-profit

Unit at Sky@Eleven reaps $1.72 mil profit

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/revisiting-pollen-bleu-farrer-drive-duplex-penthouse-53-mil

Revisiting Pollen & Bleu at Farrer Drive: Duplex penthouse for $5.3 mil

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/are-hdb-flats-condos-getting-smaller-48893

Just How Much Smaller Are New Condos and HDB Flats Getting?  

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/why-a-smart-home-can-make-you-feel-like-a-million-bucks-and-5-smart-homes-projects-that-will-help-you-16904

5 Smart Home Projects in Singapore: Why Having a Smart Home Can Make You Feel like a Million Bucks

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/divorce-in-singapore-property-29901

Getting a Divorce in Singapore: 5 Factors Which Affect Property Settlement

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-guides/black-and-white-house-singapore-41997

Black and White Houses in Singapore: What Are They and How to Rent (2021)

https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/decoupling-avoid-absd/

Decoupling to avoid ABSD? Yay or nay?

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/units-of-the-week-issue-63/

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/skyville-dawson-review/

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/about-120-households-staying-hougang-hdb-block-undergo-mandatory-covid-19-swab-test-after

About 120 households staying in Hougang HDB block to undergo mandatory Covid-19 swab test after cases found there

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/couple-who-allegedly-harassed-skh-nurses-family-charged-in-court

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/couple-who-allegedly-called-nurses-family-covid-spreader-also-harassed-others

Couple who allegedly called nurse's family 'Covid spreader' also harassed others