AI - Job Killer?

Voodooman

2 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Unlike the computer revolution, which more or less play the role of assisting human, promoting better productivity and efficiency, this AI evolution is not to be taken lightly, as it CAN replace human in multiple way, simply because it can think and act on it own.

Take for example, autonomous vehicle, almost all drivers would be affected another 10 - 20 years down the road, whereas use of computer technology such as navigation system enhance a driver performance, instead of replacing them.

In healthcare setting, if AI and robot are make full use of, I can safely assume that at least half of the healthcare staff (especially nurse and supporting staff) will be affected.

In security line, if AI can be effectively deployed to track security violation, why do one need to hire security guard to monitor CCTV recording and/or perform physical patrolling?

The above are just some example we can clearly see what is coming our way, with many others still beyond our imagination at the current stage (and this is the real scary part). No doubt automation and AI technology will create new employment opportunity, but for every 5 - 10 jobs lost, probably only 1 - 2 job will be created in the related field (most likely in the research and support industry), else it would defeat the whole purpose based on ROI consideration. So the threat is not totally unfound.

Agree.

Just going online and cashless will cut a lot of banking jobs. If you go to a banking hall, there are no millennials there. 

2 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Warm real and sexy 👍

Warm real and sensual 👍

Warm real and seductive 👍

Warm real and STRANGE?

Image result for emoji thinking

Strange = Unfamiliar 😀

2 hours ago, Tianmo said:

to get the same chance, you need to learn how to hack that aunty halimah replacement first...[:p][laugh][laugh]

Car Park Aunty belly easy to hack 1, sitting in Kopitiam having kopi with friends some one will always shout" Car Park Car Park Aunty lai liao ", all will run out ... every day affair to do that kind of 100m Usain bolt sprint🤣

Now is gantry type cannot 😬    

8 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Job loss is a given, the question is where are the new jobs?  

My guess is to keep everyone employed as AI and machines take over most of the work, we will work less hours and as we have more leisurely time, we may need more entertainment?  That is the optimistic view.  

Interesting discussion between Ma and Musk recently on AI...

JM - AI is Alibaba Intelligent

EM - “AI” is Love? 

Ma not concerned about job loss but reallocation of jobs...why explore space when it’s better to fix earth...Musk sees the need to go AI...don’t miss the window to explore Mars for rehabilitation...just in case...

5 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Agree.

Just going online and cashless will cut a lot of banking jobs. If you go to a banking hall, there are no millennials there. 

Cashless is going to be passe soon.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-cryptocurrency-cenbank/chinas-sovereign-digital-currency-is-almost-ready-pboc-official-idUSKCN1V20RD

China's sovereign digital currency is 'almost ready': PBOC official

3 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Huh people have to dress up leave their homes and go to the bank and line up and wait?

I don't even get up to change the channel on my TV.

I use a remote control.

Why people need to go to the bank?

And people need to dress up? I don't even need wear clothes to watch TV.

😀

Becos your MIL keeps on doting on her fav SIL ; so keeps popping up in your house; cos she dun have to go Bank no more too  

2 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Job loss is a given, the question is where are the new jobs?  

My guess is to keep everyone employed as AI and machines take over most of the work, we will work less hours and as we have more leisurely time, we may need more entertainment?  That is the optimistic view.  

For every new development. New effects, new problems will occur. Out of which new industries, new solutions will occur. 

I dunno what the future is like. But I think it will be different from what we expect but probably not super far off from where we are now. 

For the foreseeable future of next ten years, the AI being deployed will likely be task specific. Autonomous driving. Call service operators able to understand beyond the level of siri etc. Maybe air traffic control for example. understanding an individuals preference of online porn lol...

Something akin to what's going on now, but at a higher level. Accountancy firms able to use AI to give you a basic financial year accounts just from your input data without any human interaction? Able to parse your financial records data autonomously. 

If anyone know tech like me you will know it always breaks down

and they will be lots of jobs fixing those things.

Everything is becoming less reliable.

Last time TV last 10 years no problem now after a few years need to call the repair man.

How about washing machines etc.

All these robots, self driving cars will need a lot of maintenance.

There will be too much work for people.

And when it goes wrong more work.

😀

In the 80's people talk about the paperless office.

Companies made a lot of money selling printers and copiers

and so many trees died.

😀

All the people predicting the future they are all wrong.

carwash by human hand still ok cos machine or robot damage paintwork[drivingcar]

as for sex worker part...guess is the GFE human touch still cannot be replaced:inlove:

Have a great weekend buddies :a-toast: 

4 hours ago, Playtime said:

we have hollowed out our engineeering and IT sector of local talents.

via liberal FT policy... in a cheaper , cheaper, cheaper policy that loals can never compete against..

via veryyyyy liberal free Degrees for FTs.. while telling locals  no need.

so no... those jobs created aint much for locals... the writings been on the wall for some time.

Our IT professional lose their jobs is all their own fault.

Our IT guys are straight arrow types.

They are being replaced by land of rapist men because our engineering types don't know how to BS.

They don't know how to promise the world but fail to deliver type.

Learn how to BS lah and make all kind of promise they cannot keep to keep their IT jobs.

😀

9 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

carwash by human hand still ok cos machine or robot damage paintwork[drivingcar]

as for sex worker part...guess is the GFE human touch still cannot be replaced:inlove:

Have a great weekend buddies :a-toast: 

Better pay more not to damage the paint work.

😀

Image result for sexy car washer

1 hour ago, Voodooman said:

Net job loss is a given, the question is where are the new jobs?  

More importantly, is the journey to get new jobs.

There is no strategy or a plan like what I mention.

Samen auntie is been replace by robots, as in the case at Changi Jewel. But whats the upgrade pathway or the process for the incumbent to collectively be involved in the journey on the next phase of evolution?

Do they say, ok, we know this is coming on stream now.

Here is the plan. We deem you to be a good worker and if you go on this training, we see that your current profile will see you become a maintenance officer for the robots.

You do part-time program and while still on the job, we pay you a slight increase so that you can still be with us. Else, we may need to find someone who wants to be in this program.

Got this kang tao ? or do we adopt a "NO ONE OWES you a LIVING"

1 hour ago, Jamesc said:

If anyone know tech like me you will know it always breaks down

and they will be lots of jobs fixing those things.

Everything is becoming less reliable.

Last time TV last 10 years no problem now after a few years need to call the repair man.

How about washing machines etc.

All these robots, self driving cars will need a lot of maintenance.

There will be too much work for people.

And when it goes wrong more work.

😀

Actually, true. Lots of new (human) jobs in specialised fields to support the AI tech. The AI can only do specific functions but they can't fix themselves.

The AI cannot fix themselves and the AI cannot produce themselves.

The secret to the meaning of life and the reason why we are here is 

We are AI.

Its really very simple to explain.

If we wanted to conquer the universe or space we have this problem its very big.

To fly to a star might take 60 light years. If you start flying there in your space ship when you are 20 you will be 80 when you get there.

So the solution is build little robots to fly to space and land on planets and mine the minerals to make more little robots to make buildings and grow food for us when we get there.

The problem with metal robots is they cannot repair themselves or make themselves. They are metal and need to mine metals to make more of themselves.

To solve this problem we should make organic robots. That means robots made of well flesh and blood as these robots can make themselves and repair themselves.

Then get the organic robots to go to space and make buildings and grow food for us when get there.

So humans on earth was modified by changing our DNA and increase our brain size to make us modern humans and our programming is to industrialize and advance our technology so that we can conquer space.

Besides the technology we need to brain wash humans to want to conquer space so we have movies like Star Trek to put the idea that is what we need to do.

We are the organic robots created by aliens to advance their program to conquer space.

Now if you ever wonder why are we here and what we are supposed to do?

Industrialize, advance our technology and make plans to colonize space.     

Edited by Jamesc

Space: the final frontier.

These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise.

Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds.

To seek out new life and new civilizations.

To boldly go where no man has gone before!

Image result for star trek to go where no man