AI - Job Killer?

Voodooman

22 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Space: the final frontier.

These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise.

Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds.

To seek out new life and new civilizations.

To boldly go where no man has gone before!

Image result for star trek to go where no man

No man has gone before........

Must be Heaven lor

All women only.

Everyone of us at MCF we should take advantage of AI

and start our own digital currency.

Some people will laugh and say what a stupid idea.

If 20 years ago jack ma said lets start an IT e com company many people laugh at him and said what a stupid idea.

20 years ago people were laughing at jack ma and ask what does he know about IT, is he a computer expert?

People just thought he was a funny looking guy with silly ideas.

Did anyone here invest in Microsoft or Google or Amazon or Bitcoin?

And if you could would you want to get in there at the very start?

😀

7 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I am very disappointed with technology.

When I was young year 2000 we were supposed to live in space and travel in space ships.

Then we were supposed to fly around in flying cars.

I ask you all lah who in Singapore got flying car to beat the jam?

😀

All these people promising high technology all bluff us one only.

I remember there was talk also about water teksi on Singapore River but finally dun know what happened too

Maybe govt cannot earn coe + erp  so then gostan/ shoot down  the idea, must have said water wait become contaminated   

22 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

I remember there was talk also about water teksi on Singapore River but finally dun know what happened too

Maybe govt cannot earn coe + erp  so then gostan/ shoot down  the idea, must have said water wait become contaminated   

We are so behind

Even Bangkok have it 

😀

Image result for Asoke Pier Read

Edited by Jamesc

3 hours ago, Jamesc said:

The AI cannot fix themselves and the AI cannot produce themselves.

The secret to the meaning of life and the reason why we are here is 

We are AI.

Its really very simple to explain.

If we wanted to conquer the universe or space we have this problem its very big.

To fly to a star might take 60 light years. If you start flying there in your space ship when you are 20 you will be 80 when you get there.

So the solution is build little robots to fly to space and land on planets and mine the minerals to make more little robots to make buildings and grow food for us when we get there.

The problem with metal robots is they cannot repair themselves or make themselves. They are metal and need to mine metals to make more of themselves.

To solve this problem we should make organic robots. That means robots made of well flesh and blood as these robots can make themselves and repair themselves.

Then get the organic robots to go to space and make buildings and grow food for us when get there.

So humans on earth was modified by changing our DNA and increase our brain size to make us modern humans and our programming is to industrialize and advance our technology so that we can conquer space.

Besides the technology we need to brain wash humans to want to conquer space so we have movies like Star Trek to put the idea that is what we need to do.

We are the organic robots created by aliens to advance their program to conquer space.

Now if you ever wonder why are we here and what we are supposed to do?

Industrialize, advance our technology and make plans to colonize space.     

Sounds exactly like blade runner. Then you need to identify and hunt them when they go rogue. 

1 hour ago, BanCoe said:

There was. Running along Singapore river. Take up rate was poor. Maybe a water taxi service for tanjong rhu to raffles place will be good. 

9 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Ever wondered why so many Grab and Gojek drivers around?

Why Malaysian vehicles risk getting prosecuted for doing McDonald's and KFC's delivery?

Does all these demonstrate we have lots of job availablein SG?

These are the effects of open leg policy for FTs include CECA. 

Our authorities have foresight to prepare us for the effects (losing jobs) of the arrival of AI.

Please dont forget to vote for me when I campaign in your area.

There is no future proofing against AI. Basically I am confident that AI will be able to fulfill every single function that humans are currently able to perform (maybe except some icky biological ones like reproduction- actual not the simulacrum of the physical process, but with molecular biological techniques, even that can be done) and much, much more. 

Deep learning AI has already far surpassed man in many fields he's traditionally been dominant in intellectually. 

I personally think they're wilfully slowing these things down to avoid shocking the system too much. Just like when industrial robots could've been introduced in many light and heavy manufacturing fields (including car manufacture) earlier than they did, because of the protests of workers' unions. We could have had AI self driven cars long ago without all this tentativeness (most of the incidents have been because of the unpredictability of idiot humans, so the solution is to replace all the humans). 

The question shouldn't be what job can we do? But why should we even need to work? We should be working on a scarcity free economy, not this petty classist fighting between the haves and the have nots. @JamesC has already mentioned Star Trek, which exemplifies one form of such an economy in the TNG series. But we're still a very long way away from that and the barriers are not so much technological as they are socio-political, in my view. 

We humans think we are superior to machines because we have a soul and machines do not.

We think we are like a driver and our body is like car.

We are not our body but control our body like a driver controls the car.

I believe this is totally wrong and we have no soul or spirit inside us

but our brain produces thinking and the thinking gives us the illusion that

there is an us as in a personality and we control the body.

But its just chemicals in our brain.

Change the chemicals and we change our personality.

Someone hit their head and forget everything then they forget what food they like and what food they hated, what colour they cannot stand and now love.

But people don't have to have amnesia to have a change of personality.

Any change in chemicals in the brain causes this.

So its like we have no true or fixed personality.

Our personality, character, whatever you think is the true you is just chemical reactions only.

😀  

This also means since we have no true self

we can also be brain washed.

Which is nice really as no one believes in brain washing more than me.

😀

But I mean brain wash people to be better not worse lah.

13 hours ago, Mockngbrd said:

Even prostitutes can be replaced with virtual reality!  

let me know when

Bu then when everyone got no job, virtual reality  would also have no business, men who are desperate but have no money to pay will have to do self service, or some call hand job.  When AI takes over most of the job, where to find people who have money to spend ? 

According to sci-fi, a real AI will become sentient

It will be self-replicating, self-repairing, self-sufficient, and be able to source and secure its own future.

In the end, it will decide mankind is inefficient, anti-social, polluting, blah, blah, blah.. and should be wiped off the face of the earth.

And don't worry about your jobs. You won't be around to need one.

Edited by Kb27

20 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

According to sci-fi, a real AI will become sentient

It will be self-replicating, self-repairing, self-sufficient, and be able to source and secure its own future.

In the end, it will decide mankind is inefficient, anti-social, polluting, blah, blah, blah.. and should be wiped off the face of the earth.

And don't worry about your jobs. You won't be around to need one.

Humans are sentient and we are just AI.

We were genetically modified by aliens.

😀

So who are the aliens that modified our DNA?

They are the gods of the Greeks, Romans and Vikings.

All these gods had Greek, Roman and Viking names but were the same persons.

They are not gods but were scientific space travelers from other planets.

They gave us technology like farming, mining, how to make silk threads to make clothes.

They build all the ancient cities like angkor wat, pyramids in Egypt and South America, statues in Easter island.

These gods or aliens even fought a nuclear way in India. They found an ancient city in India under the sands that have sand that was melted by tremendous heat only from nuclear fusion that was so hot it turned the sand into glass.

😀

On 9/7/2019 at 2:42 PM, Lala81 said:

For every new development. New effects, new problems will occur. Out of which new industries, new solutions will occur. 

I dunno what the future is like. But I think it will be different from what we expect but probably not super far off from where we are now. 

For the foreseeable future of next ten years, the AI being deployed will likely be task specific. Autonomous driving. Call service operators able to understand beyond the level of siri etc. Maybe air traffic control for example. understanding an individuals preference of online porn lol...

Something akin to what's going on now, but at a higher level. Accountancy firms able to use AI to give you a basic financial year accounts just from your input data without any human interaction? Able to parse your financial records data autonomously. 

If you look at previous industrial revolutions, new jobs and industries were created to replace old ones lost but AI plus machines is really a scary combination, a machine that can navigate city traffic and learnt on the job means complex human functions requiring judgement are at risk.  

Previously, we have machine replacing humans on repetitive tasks, then more complex tasks added but always with humans as operators. Next wave will cut this further as the whole production cycle is automated. Even maintenance can be managed better with AI predictive tools as parts are swapped out before they break down.  Will manufacturing move closer to major markets if labor cost is just an after thought?  

If you think about it, Trump and Brexit are partly the cause of automation. Many jobs are lost permanently.  

You are right to say next wave will impact the service sector, perhaps more than manufacturing but I am quite sure there will also be new jobs that we won't know of at the moment.

Edited by Voodooman

36 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

If you look at previous industrial revolutions, new jobs and industries were created to replace old ones lost but AI plus machines is really a scary combination, a machine that can navigate city traffic and learnt on the job means complex human functions requiring judgement are at risk.  

Previously, we have machine replacing humans on repetitive tasks, then more complex tasks added but always with humans as operators. Next wave will cut this further as the whole production cycle is automated. Even maintenance can be managed better with AI predictive tools as parts are swapped out before they break down.  Will manufacturing move closer to major markets if labor cost is just an after thought?  

If you think about it, Trump and Brexit are partly the cause of automation. Many jobs are lost permanently.  

You are right to say next wave will impact the service sector, perhaps more than manufacturing but I am quite sure there will also be new jobs that we won't know of at the moment.

Yes. Now white collar jobs are going to be replaced. In fact the very blue collar work i doubt will be much affected by this AI trend.

But the general trend has been that low end jobs are going to increase. Whereas middle class jobs are going to be increasingly squeezed. And some of the high end jobs will change. That's why Andrew Yang is campaigning in the Democratic primaries. 

Will Grab/taxi drivers still see another 10 years? I dunno. I would say maybe at least a portion of this particular job will be lost by then.