Singapore Reckless Drivers Thread VII

22 minutes ago, boonhat_91 said:

Racing? No lah.. Just clearing check engine light, or rushing to go toilet 

Check engine light can be cleared by going on high speed meh? Sorry for the noob question, but is this even a valid reason? Pang Sai you can never prove, but the CEL....

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

u can have no road tax, but still have insurance.

no roadtax, , u can drive but when renew tio fine only.

no insurance totally cannot drive, the pen is like 100 x heavier 

(in some cases they dun have road tax, cos maybe they need to pass inspection to renew .alway happen with commerical vehicle ).

Extracted from onemotoring.

https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/home/owning/ongoing-car-costs/insurance.html

It is an offence to use a vehicle without valid insurance coverage. The penalty for this offence includes a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment of up to 3 months or both, and a mandatory disqualification from holding a driving licence for at least 12 months.

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/roads-and-motoring/owning-a-vehicle/costs-of-owning-a-vehicle/tax-structure-for-cars.html

Besides late renewal fees, it is also an offence to keep or use a vehicle whose road tax has expired.  The penalty includes a fine up to $2,000.

Edited by Sx4falcon

2 hours ago, Daniu82 said:

Save the environment by not printing physical road tax disc but in the end people don’t pay road tax. Haiz.

when money is concerned, SGP government is more complicated than that , no one will run away from owing government money.

Edited by Ct3833

30 minutes ago, Mrlancergtx said:

Check engine light can be cleared by going on high speed meh? Sorry for the noob question, but is this even a valid reason? Pang Sai you can never prove, but the CEL....

haha no lah just making a joke at these 2 other jokers go court and use this type of excuse. See previous post here

On 9/14/2019 at 4:28 PM, Fitvip said:

From Youtube:

BMW suv again...[furious]

No one remarked on the idiot biker at 10 sec? They always pull that kind of dumbass stunt and then claim they're vulnerable road users and deserve our care and consideration and... gasp... protection.

Almost got into an accident with a Malaysia registered car yesterday as the other party was using mobile device while driving...

Upon further check on TOPS, I found out that the car has outstanding fines dated all the way since 2014! Looks like the joint effort by the government agencies to clamp down on foreign vehicles is not working fine now...

References:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/foreign-motorists-with-outstanding-fines-could-be-denied-entry-to-singapore-from
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/50-malaysian-vehicles-turned-away-due-to-outstanding-fines
https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/home/driving/entering_and_exiting_singapore/cars-and-motorcycles-registered-in-malaysia.html

edited.jpg

On driving without insurance coverage. What happens if a car gets rear-ended, or a pedestrian gets run-over by such a car in a reckless driving incident?

I presume that the last insurer has no liability for the car. The victims sue the driver/car owner who most likely will not have the funds to pay up. Then how?

If LTA fines him for road tax and insurance offences which he also cannot pay. As a result, the court will jail him for the all the above offences including reckless driving etc for years.

In the meantime, the victim(s) bear the repercussions. Foot own repair bill since no insurance. Disabled pedestrian pays for long term care. If the driver is in jail, he cannot be working to pay off the damages even if court rules that the driver is at fault.

Is my worst case scenario possibly true?

I digress now to MY registered cars on our roads. I wonder  if ICA ensures that they have a valid insurance certificate before letting them in. 

3 hours ago, Zxcvb said:

Wow. So many ppl not paying road tax and drive on the road. What the hell is LTA doing?? I also believe there are many no license drivers around too. 

is it "fashionable" to drive without valid road tax? [sly] [laugh] 

if kena accident jit dong jeng without insurance ... poor thing is the "victim" ... how to claim? [mad] 

14 minutes ago, serenade said:

On driving without insurance coverage. What happens if a car gets rear-ended, or a pedestrian gets run-over by such a car in a reckless driving incident?

I presume that the last insurer has no liability for the car. The victims sue the driver/car owner who most likely will not have the funds to pay up. Then how?

If LTA fines him for road tax and insurance offences which he also cannot pay. As a result, the court will jail him for the all the above offences including reckless driving etc for years.

In the meantime, the victim(s) bear the repercussions. Foot own repair bill since no insurance. Disabled pedestrian pays for long term care. If the driver is in jail, he cannot be working to pay off the damages even if court rules that the driver is at fault.

Is my worst case scenario possibly true?

I digress now to MY registered cars on our roads. I wonder  if ICA ensures that they have a valid insurance certificate before letting them in. 

For foreign vehicles entry into SG, it’s under LTA.

Driver must show LTA valid road tax and insurance cover at CIQ.

These information is recorded on cash card.

Once road tax expired, the process repeats.

For uninsured vehicles, it’s limited to bodily injury

https://gia.org.sg/motor-insurers-bureau.html

so every single car enter spore sure got road tax and insurance coverage before issuing autopass? 

what if the road tax / insurance already expired? autopass also auto expired?

i sibei fcking worry each time the jb bikes zigzag in/out and cheong on split lane between cars [mad] 

but claim msia car or bike insurance is as good as “gone case”?

For foreign vehicles entry into SG, it’s under LTA.

Driver must show LTA valid road tax and insurance cover at CIQ.

32 minutes ago, SMR said:

Almost got into an accident with a Malaysia registered car yesterday as the other party was using mobile device while driving...

Upon further check on TOPS, I found out that the car has outstanding fines dated all the way since 2014! Looks like the joint effort by the government agencies to clamp down on foreign vehicles is not working fine now...

References:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/foreign-motorists-with-outstanding-fines-could-be-denied-entry-to-singapore-from
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/50-malaysian-vehicles-turned-away-due-to-outstanding-fines
https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/home/driving/entering_and_exiting_singapore/cars-and-motorcycles-registered-in-malaysia.html

edited.jpg

They only intereted in SG cars at the checkpoints......  :confident:

To see whether your car got 3/4 tank full or overloaded with goods for GST ...  :we-all-gonna-die:

4 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

so every single car enter spore sure got road tax and insurance coverage before issuing autopass? 

Yes

what if the road tax / insurance already expired? autopass also auto expired?

Yes

i sibei fcking worry each time the jb bikes zigzag in/out and cheong on split lane between cars [mad] 

but claim msia car or bike insurance is as good as “gone case”?

Once autopass flagged expired, driver need to get it updated at LTA office within CIQ.

Autopass also acts as ERP collector upon exit.

Lastly, any outstanding fines should be flagged upon exit

35 minutes ago, SMR said:

References:

edited.jpg

Write to LTA.

Why they never collect outstanding fines?

It should be flagged upon insertion of autopass

7 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

Write to LTA.

Why they never collect outstanding fines?

It should be flagged upon insertion of autopass

you think too highly on CIQ and LTA la ... lol

can barter trade with msia ... that's about RM$100M ... lol

2019-09-16_141522.jpg

1 minute ago, Wt_know said:

you think too highly on CIQ and LTA la ... lol

I seen before SGD2k unpaid fine need to be paid on the spot at LTA CIQ office