Another doctor in trouble

Wind30

wah lao this case sent a chill down my spine when i read it just now.

My mother had her knee ops the same year as this case, and I'm glad that my mother came through the ops well, and she doesn't have to suffer the continuous pain before the ops...

According to the report, the specialist said he tried to tell the patient to wait till he's back then operate, but she refused.

Then the Dr said before he went away, his last check on the patient was fine, and showed no signs of problems, so he didn't hand over to another specialist when he went away - and the judge chided him for it.

Then got nurses also kanna. The patient's daughter said the family alerted the nurses on duty two times that the patient's leg was icy cold, which should have set alarm bells ringing, but the nurses dismissed it and said it's normal...

To be fair, her case could be a complicated one that even if he is around, she still couldn't survive.  But hor, quite standard some specialist will buddy him when he is away mah. Still good to hear what actually happen.

4 hours ago, Victor68 said:

To be fair, her case could be a complicated one that even if he is around, she still couldn't survive.  But hor, quite standard some specialist will buddy him when he is away mah. Still good to hear what actually happen.

Maybe the whole case is not about if the patient could survive or not? But why the doctor never hand over before he leaves for overseas and why the nurses ignore that the patient's leg is icy cold etc?! Their professionalism is in doubts? 

13 hours ago, Benarsenal said:

Alamak. Never handover properly la. Terrible.

I feel it is the hospital's fault. They got no SOP for someone to cover?

Let's say the doc didn't go for a medical conference but instead had to take MC. How?

The Senile consultants would stagger in and stagger out, even with leg in a cast or that power prof, on crutches. 

Only on mal or confirm long leave will handover patients.

Very shiok one, old porsche carrera, rearing on rear wheels going home on Sunday early morning before the rest of the family wakes up.

Responsibility you know.

7 hours ago, Kusje said:

I feel it is the hospital's fault. They got no SOP for someone to cover?

Let's say the doc didn't go for a medical conference but instead had to take MC. How?

My two cents.

In public, no issues handing over.  Cos there is a team.   In private it gets tricky.

The doctors are technically not staff of hospital.  In fact they pay the hospital for the right to work there and rent a clinic and hence they are customers.  Also, let's say Dr A is in the clinic.  The patient comes specifically looking for dr A.  Cos this is private.   You have a choice unlike govt where you get the doctor on call.

Hence, why would dr A hand over the patient to dr b unless absolutely necessary?  Money will be an issue.  Who pays Dr B?  If Dr B makes  mistake, Dr A reputation will go down as well.

If I remember correctly, payments to doctors and hospital are separate in private sector. Patient pays doctor directly or via clinic.  Hospital charges are separate.  Of cos there are many variations so sometimes hospital collects on behalf of doctor or there is a team.  Like one clinic got two doctors who are friends/ husband and wife etc who cross cover but in a nutshell, you cannot compare the practices of a private hospital with that of a public hospital.  

There should be medical officers on duty for emergency cases like code blue or something but in terms of management of patients like in this case where surgery is required, Dr A has be informed and perform the surgery.  If he hands over or asks another doctor to perform it, he loses income and reputation.

I make no comments on the nurses.  Cos i dont know the facts.

And to answer directly.  What if there was an emergency and Dr A is suddenly unavailable like MC and he needs to hand over to Dr B?  Can be done.   But might have loss of income for Dr A and if word spreads that Dr A is always sick and likely to handover the patient to another specialist, Dr A might find less patients looking for him and he earns less or closes shop.

Edited by Philipkee
  • Praise 10

In this case what if i go govt hospital but as a private patient? I choose the specialist doctor i want, will such case like this happened?

2 hours ago, Philipkee said:

My two cents.

In public, no issues handing over.  Cos there is a team.   In private it gets tricky.

The doctors are technically not staff of hospital.  In fact they pay the hospital for the right to work there and rent a clinic and hence they are customers.  Also, let's say Dr A is in the clinic.  The patient comes specifically looking for dr A.  Cos this is private.   You have a choice unlike govt where you get the doctor on call.

Hence, why would dr A hand over the patient to dr b unless absolutely necessary?  Money will be an issue.  Who pays Dr B?  If Dr B makes  mistake, Dr A reputation will go down as well.

If I remember correctly, payments to doctors and hospital are separate in private sector. Patient pays doctor directly or via clinic.  Hospital charges are separate.  Of cos there are many variations so sometimes hospital collects on behalf of doctor or there is a team.  Like one clinic got two doctors who are friends/ husband and wife etc who cross cover but in a nutshell, you cannot compare the practices of a private hospital with that of a public hospital.  

There should be medical officers on duty for emergency cases like code blue or something but in terms of management of patients like in this case where surgery is required, Dr A has be informed and perform the surgery.  If he hands over or asks another doctor to perform it, he loses income and reputation.

I make no comments on the nurses.  Cos i dont know the facts.

And to answer directly.  What if there was an emergency and Dr A is suddenly unavailable like MC and he needs to hand over to Dr B?  Can be done.   But might have loss of income for Dr A and if word spreads that Dr A is always sick and likely to handover the patient to another specialist, Dr A might find less patients looking for him and he earns less or closes shop.

Wa, so complicated working relationship in private hospital. Is there a way to streamline and make it less complicated so that it would benefit patients instead of fighting of who gets the income?

22 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Wa, so complicated working relationship in private hospital. Is there a way to streamline and make it less complicated so that it would benefit patients instead of fighting of who gets the income?

Its complicated in private.

Usually people choose specific doctor based on reputation and friend-friend recommendations instead of choosing the hospital that is best equipped. 

Of course in all operations, especially with old folks complication is probably more common and more severe consequences.

So a doctor now has no life ?

He treats a patient and he must be present all the time. Cannot take leave, cannot go overseas.