NUS Molester gets probation for 'minor intrusion' offences

Beregond

19 minutes ago, Celicar said:

I cannot understand this reason. Doesn't this mean that if you want to commit such crimes, you should just widen your victims base and so there is a higher probability that you won't be named should you get caught, because so long as it is not unanimous (seemingly), then you won't be named? This is beyond my comprehension.

I'm no court expert but sometimes I nvr understand how sentences are meted out. Some offences I deem as serious gets away with a light sentence whilst some relatively minor offences get hit by a sledgehammer.

I personally know an ex colleague who was thrown in jail for more than 3yrs for CBT. He took out cash from the bank vault at the start of the day and returned before closing. He was caught in a spot check before closing but returned every cent.

Another bank employee from the same bank cheated a client of almost half a million $ and got 4yrs+ jail. He nvr paid back a single cent.

1 hour ago, Celicar said:

I cannot understand this reason. Doesn't this mean that if you want to commit such crimes, you should just widen your victims base and so there is a higher probability that you won't be named should you get caught, because so long as it is not unanimous (seemingly), then you won't be named? This is beyond my comprehension.

You are only looking at it from one perspective. The perv did it in his circle of friends and got caught. Words will spread fast even though there's a gag order. Ppl around him will avoid him like some disease and warn others about him. Imo there's no need to expose him at all. The piece of paper cannot contain a fire.😂

The so called friend that he confided in is also his victim(the last victim...who wanted him to be exposed as well when she found out). After this saga he will be lonely forever because he betrayed the trust of his friends. If he still want to offend again he might as well go commit suicide.

1 hour ago, Spring said:

I'm no court expert but sometimes I nvr understand how sentences are meted out. Some offences I deem as serious gets away with a light sentence whilst some relatively minor offences get hit by a sledgehammer.

I personally know an ex colleague who was thrown in jail for more than 3yrs for CBT. He took out cash from the bank vault at the start of the day and returned before closing. He was caught in a spot check before closing but returned every cent.

Another bank employee from the same bank cheated a client of almost half a million $ and got 4yrs+ jail. He nvr paid back a single cent.

Have to see what crime these ppl have committed. Like this voyeurism using devices the law is only introduced Jan this year. Means those that got caught before the law is out there's little or no punishment.

Your ex colleague has the intent to steal and he planned out everything and did so. That's what ppl called organised crime. It's not the heat of the moment your ex colleague want to steal. I think he has second thoughts that's why he return what he has taken but this doesnt absolve him the wrong he did so in the first place. The court always look at the intent or purpose of ppl committing the crime. The fact is he already plan and stole. He balls shrink and sh!t bricks likely cos of guilt and he put it back. Guilty of stealing regardless.

It's not about repaying your victims that will absolve your crimes. LoL... Your intent or purpose is to take away your victims money by cheating them. You got caught that's why you return them the money you stole from them so that you will get a lighter sentence? LoL... What if you didnt get caught? Will you return the money at a later date?😂

Your logic is deeply flawed, isnt it?

If your toddler son stole a cookie to eat but you caught him red handed and he put it back and said he didnt take. You think he's so cute. Is that what you are thinking? 

18 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Have to see what crime these ppl have committed. Like this voyeurism using devices the law is only introduced Jan this year. Means those that got caught before the law is out there's little or no punishment.

Your ex colleague has the intent to steal and he planned out everything and did so. That's what ppl called organised crime. It's not the heat of the moment your ex colleague want to steal. I think he has second thoughts that's why he return what he has taken but this doesnt absolve him the wrong he did so in the first place. The court always look at the intent or purpose of ppl committing the crime. The fact is he already plan and stole. He balls shrink and sh!t bricks likely cos of guilt and he put it back. Guilty of stealing regardless.

It's not about repaying your victims that will absolve your crimes. LoL... Your intent or purpose is to take away your victims money by cheating them. You got caught that's why you return them the money you stole from them so that you will get a lighter sentence? LoL... What if you didnt get caught? Will you return the money at a later date?😂

Your logic is deeply flawed, isnt it?

If your toddler son stole a cookie to eat but you caught him red handed and he put it back and said he didnt take. You think he's so cute. Is that what you are thinking? 

My point is that there is a difference between paying back and not. If sentencing is based on intent only then there is no incentive to pay back and a lot of guilty parties would have the attitude of "might as well keep the loot" since it's only a year more. In this case, the aggrieved party will not be able to recover what they lost which shld be a consideration besides punishing the guilty.

Actually, the law does take into consideration remorse but obviously not in this case and that's why I say I don't quite understand how they dish out sentencing as it seems inconsistent to me.

By the way, perhaps I didn't spell it out but this colleague's associate was actually just a few minutes away from the bank to return the money when the spot check took place. So he would have returned the money even if he was not caught but that doesn't absolve him from his crime but the return of the money should be a consideration.

1 hour ago, Playtime said:

Why this one 8 yr old victim can have name and photo published leh?

Cos he never study hard go England isit?

Or he didn't get white horse classification ?

really double standard. 8 years old, they show attacker face? did they get approval from the girl father??

kill me i also dun believe they trying to protect minor in the previous case.

3 minutes ago, Beregond said:

sad sia. our system now. democratic ftw.

This one whose fault?  School or parents? 

18 minutes ago, Ysc3 said:

system fault. i dun know if the parents punish him . in my time if i do this , the punishment will be ALOT ALOT worst then what the gov is melting out now.

18 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Why take them so long to change the law?  At least finally.

Penalties for 3 sex crimes to go up after review, academic potential should not carry much weight: Shanmugam

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/penalties-for-3-sex-crimes-to-go-up-after-review-shanmugam-14338544

Actually in this case (thread title), it isn't just the penalty that is the problem right?

What about the idiot who termed the molest as "minor intrusion"?

On 6/19/2020 at 4:57 PM, Ysc3 said:

Gov problem, lock down all the ktv options :D

Upholding the glorious NUS tradition...

'I know your dirty little secret': NUS graduate steals sex toy from woman's hostel room

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/nus-graduate-trespassed-into-female-students-hostel-room-and-stole-sex-toy

SINGAPORE - A National University of Singapore (NUS) graduate, who returned to his alma mater in January 2019, trespassed into a female student's hostel room and stole her sex toy as he felt aroused when he saw it.

Products specialist Chua Chang Rong, now 27, trespassed into the woman's room again on July 18 that year and returned it.

Four days later, he sent her lewd texts on messaging platform Telegram asking if they could be "friends with benefits".

He also told her: "I already know your dirty little secret... let me know in advance if you (want to) take up my offer."

ctnus2303.jpg?itok=kCVGkCDq%C3%97tamp=16

1 hour ago, Jellandross said:

Upholding the glorious NUS tradition...

'I know your dirty little secret': NUS graduate steals sex toy from woman's hostel room

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/nus-graduate-trespassed-into-female-students-hostel-room-and-stole-sex-toy

SINGAPORE - A National University of Singapore (NUS) graduate, who returned to his alma mater in January 2019, trespassed into a female student's hostel room and stole her sex toy as he felt aroused when he saw it.

Products specialist Chua Chang Rong, now 27, trespassed into the woman's room again on July 18 that year and returned it.

Four days later, he sent her lewd texts on messaging platform Telegram asking if they could be "friends with benefits".

He also told her: "I already know your dirty little secret... let me know in advance if you (want to) take up my offer."

ctnus2303.jpg?itok=kCVGkCDq%C3%97tamp=16

I wonder if and how he used the "toy".....