Do you earn S$7,500 gross a month

Vinceng

7 hours ago, Kia7200 said:

Is 7500 gross a high income? 

I thought most Singaporean by the age of 35yo should be getting it? Many of my friends r earning 5digit pm

Maybe you and your friends are among the cream of the crops and in specialized industry.

generally the people we see on the streets doubt make this amount. on the ground most of the young marriage couples are using COMBINE income to support daily life, a 4 rm HDB flat, transports, expenses etc..

In my company (specialized industry) there's some mid thirties earning 10K plus even 30K per month.. but they trading their time for it. A price to pay.

1 minute ago, Ody_2004 said:

Maybe you and your friends are among the cream of the crops and in specialized industry.

generally the people we see on the streets doubt make this amount. on the ground most of the young marriage couples are using COMBINE income to support daily life, a 4 rm HDB flat, transports, expenses etc..

In my company (specialized industry) there's some mid thirties earning 10K plus even 30K per month.. but they trading their time for it. A price to pay.

getting a job is like a gun for hired.

You dont decide who to kill. You just given a specific task and do it well.

So the skills with the time is what the company pay for. Just dont go down the road of warm fuzzy feeling of work life balance. thats just a pipe dream.

The specialised skill that everyone talk about is a moving target until it gets saturated and you move to the next one.

Even today, I believe Facebook is not convince on the merits of ChatBot and feels its still have a long runway to go before adoption kicks in.

But more importantly, how do you get into the field where the big money is if you dont have the skill.?

On the biz and Singapore landscape wise, the locals seems to find themselves out of a job from a systematic elimination of the job that they are currently working at and honing their skills which took them years to harness. It takes 10000 hours to master a skill. Thats what the older generation will tell you. In todays real world, 10000 hours is too long, you will be a dino . I believe 3 months jump start and like maggi noodle, add water (money) and you deliver results.

So that 10K job or 30K job is hardly something they would consider.

8 hours ago, Kia7200 said:

I thought most Singaporean by the age of 35yo should be getting it? Many of my friends r earning 5digit pm

mai hao lian lah

your friends made up 80-90% (most) of Singapore population?

dun insult others pls

The problem arises when your spending matches your earnings. 

End up square one. No difference from those who earn the average $4,000.

I completely disagree.

What industry are u in? If most can earn $7500 pm, should the % who pays income tax be much higher than it is now? If most can earn $7500 pm by the age of 35, why am I see so many > 30 yr old guys and gals on public transport? Shouldn't our MRT carriages be much more empty than it is now? 

If so many pple can earn $7500, why are so many youngsters are driving PHV knowing that the returns will be little for the amount of time and effort u put in? That when scholars suggested raising the min age eligible for PHV licence to 30 in line with TDVL, Grab warned that the new ruling could make almost 50% of our existing PHV drivers out of job overnight. 

Please do not use your elite env thinking it rep the majority of sinkies in SG. Your mentality will make people think you are pro gov... 

Where you got this statistics from ah? Although it seems like many people salary like quite high nowadays even they have not reached 35 year old?! But dont know it is common for most people to earn $7500 by the age of 35 year old lo?

10 minutes ago, Cheefarn said:

I completely disagree.

What industry are u in? If most can earn $7500 pm, should the % who pays income tax be much higher than it is now? If most can earn $7500 pm by the age of 35, why am I see so many > 30 yr old guys and gals on public transport? Shouldn't our MRT carriages be much more empty than it is now? 

If so many pple can earn $7500, why are so many youngsters are driving PHV knowing that the returns will be little for the amount of time and effort u put in? That when scholars suggested raising the min age eligible for PHV licence to 30 in line with TDVL, Grab warned that the new ruling could make almost 50% of our existing PHV drivers out of job overnight. 

Please do not use your elite env thinking it rep the majority of sinkies in SG. Your mentality will make people think you are pro gov... 

And your point here is the husband buy car and the wife dont drive it ?

CBD dont have ample lots unless you king of the mountain. Even then, those mediocre 15 to 20K folks also dont have parking lots ...

18 minutes ago, Scion said:

mai hao lian lah

your friends made up 80-90% (most) of Singapore population?

dun insult others pls

I believe for people in their early to mid 30s, more realistic salary for the norm could be around $4k to $5k plus if you are at least a diploma or degree graduate?

4 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Where you got this statistics from ah? Although it seems like many people salary like quite high nowadays even they have not reached 35 year old?! But dont know it is common for most people to earn $7500 by the age of 35 year old lo?

I for one doesn't earn $7500 pm and I am mid 40s..  

And I may not even hit that number even if I take up 2 jobs..  This is the hard truth in SG. This is why there is so much anger and tension building up in society now. The gap between the very rich and the general public is getting bigger by the day and gov doesn't care a single bit. 

Oh and one more thing, if most can command $7500 by 35 yrs old, why are we seeing so many old folks struggling to make ends meet by clearing plates at hawker centers/food courts and sweeping the roads? Oh yeah, they did all these for fun and to kill time.. 

2 minutes ago, 13177 said:

I believe for people in their early to mid 30s, more realistic salary for the norm could be around $4k to $5k plus if you are at least a diploma or degree graduate?

Again thats not a given, esp if you are in IT, engineering or manufacturing line. 

It’s the hard truth

earning. 6 figures a year 40 Shd be the norm, at least for Gen Xes

truth is that’s not happening and as @throtle2 said, $5k monthly is the new poor... v true

CBD dont have ample lots unless you king of the mountain. Even then, those mediocre 15 to 20K folks also dont have parking lots ...

The objective of this article was based on the assumption that the $7500 pm fig was commanded by single breadwinner right? Regardless if he/she is married? 

That any side or combined income should not be included into the calculation right?

Anyway who said wifey must drive the car de? How many household have cars that are 101% purchased and maintained by the hubby only 

There u go again, 15-20k pm salary=mediocre to you....😪😫

5 minutes ago, RadX said:

It’s the hard truth

earning. 6 figures a year 40 Shd be the norm, at least for Gen Xes

truth is that’s not happening and as @throtle2 said, $5k monthly is the new poor... v true

no wonder I my pockets always empty 

35 minutes ago, Vinceng said:

The problem arises when your spending matches your earnings. 

End up square one. No difference from those who earn the average $4,000.

huh? only no difference in terms of savings.

In terms of expenditure, you don't think having an extra 3k to spend on garbage is any difference?

wah...come to mcf must jiap siew double income 2x500k per annum, stay landed and drive 2 b&b contis(glc type hor) is merely middle income household

i peasant already accepted this hard truth after my treatment at imh buangkok

if not, i would have jumped from my hdb slum 10 years ago.

😔🤑 

16 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

Who said no parking lots?

It is only a matter of whether one is willing to pay 500-600 per month for it out of pocket.

1 minute ago, Enye said:

wah...come to mcf must jiap siew double income 2x500k per annum, stay landed and drive 2 b&b contis(glc type hor) is merely middle income household

i peasant already accepted this hard truth after my treatment at imh buangkok

if not, i would have jumped from my hdb slum 10 years ago.

😔🤑 

move out of the slum la.

think of your children.