over 40s... if you were retrenched tomorrow...

Karoon

at times a hotel is willing to pay say $2.5k (inclusive of levy and such) to hire a foreign housekeeper but pay $1.5k to a Singaporean doing the same job..

Why don't they pay the same $2.5k to a Singaporean worker?

The company enjoy Tax deduction? I wonder why...

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

at times a hotel is willing to pay say $2.5k (inclusive of levy and such) to hire a foreign housekeeper but pay $1.5k to a Singaporean doing the same job..

if you are in the industry, then you will know.

I am not sure it is true no local want jobs now in the hands of foreigners.  Beside domestic helpers, construction workers, security officers and those truely having difficulties recruiting locals, many are opting foreigners for obvious reasons. 

The quota system should continue to apply for all industries whether CECA or not. The saddest thing is locals are deprived not due to abilities but choice by employers with government support. I have noticed, many organisations engaged sub contractors. These sub contractors are filled to the brim with foreigners. The quality I leave it to those who have experience with them to comment. No wonder I see locals in Grabs lah. 

12 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

2500 include CPF or exclude?

Yay i found a new Job

starting 2020

HandyMan for ShengSiong Supermarket

get to move from branch to branch and solve problems on the floor.

excellent

wish me luck

8 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

2500 include CPF or exclude?

even include the basic is only $2150 but they still not paying...

they will go oversea trip to recruit foreigner.. travel often clocked mileage.. agent happy got many cut.. 

don't tell me those wearing white dunno meh? 

I not supporting minimum wage but offer something decent at least those who wanna support family can do so.. we talking living in singapore with a bowl of noodle at $4 per pax.. per meal and don drink coke n such.. just food to stay alive.

Those foreigner no doubt help the local economy but at what rate? 

most send money back.. 4 squeeze in a rental room till MOM come with rules..

the list goes on.. 

On 11/23/2019 at 8:02 PM, Sdf4786k said:

work more for less pay.. is it across the board ? or certain "select" people ?

pension is bad. will destroy out nation.

except when certain people get it then it is very good.

1 hour ago, Throttle2 said:

Yay i found a new Job

starting 2020

excellent

wish me luck

U trying to network with the FamiLEE ?  heard SS and LEE are relative hor 🤨😀

15 minutes ago, Kusje said:

pension is bad. will destroy out nation.

except when certain people get it then it is very good.

Yes, pension is bad for the economy.  So it should be banned no matter what position. Don't like please don't apply or ask to be elected.  

14 minutes ago, Angcheek said:

U trying to network with the FamiLEE ?  heard SS and LEE are relative hor 🤨😀

No.

i just trying to make a living.

basic $2k per mth with overtime

5 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Yay i found a new Job

starting 2020

excellent

wish me luck

I don’t believe.:a-noway:

Photo of SS uniform with Rolex then I believe.:XD:

41 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

I don’t believe.:a-noway:

Photo of SS uniform with Rolex then I believe.:XD:

dun tell me Sheng Siong is venturing into luxury watch business? 🤔

6 minutes ago, Scion said:

dun tell me Sheng Siong is venturing into luxury watch business? 🤔

under T2 leadership

can compete with Mustafa

opens 24x7 selling jewellery and full gold rollies ... [laugh]

I think we should have more international job exchange programs. 

Like a Japanese man come here and work for a few months massaging ladies here and I go to Japan and massage ladies there. 

I would like to see more international exposure and get more international hands on experience . 

Edited by Jamesc

I think in our 40s there's still alot we can do if we want. 

Example: going into real estate sales as we should havea lot of contacts and friends by now who want and can afford to buy and sell already. 

Insurance sales also maybe? but maybe harder cos most warm market already would have bought by then... though we would have alot of life experiences to be convinced that insurance is very very important!

Reading this might be helpful haha... Real Estate Agent Career vs Insurance Agent Career

Edited by bluesky3000