over 40s... if you were retrenched tomorrow...

Karoon

On 12/6/2019 at 9:03 AM, Throttle2 said:

Can.

Not many companies will do pay adjustment. People in their 40s with tons of experience may not even draw as high as a fresh grad.

Being 'fresh and young' is good hor :=B:

43 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Not many companies will do pay adjustment. People in their 40s with tons of experience may not even draw as high as a fresh grad.

Being 'fresh and young' is good hor :=B:

yes. young is an asset ... can jump ship every 2-3 years

by 35 asst director & director level liao  ... no $15k no talk liao .... [thumbsup]

On 12/5/2019 at 9:16 PM, Windwaver said:

Yeah, I wonder if it's really possible.

20+ years ago , fresh programmers from Uni asking SGD$2.2K, now can hit $5K? :nosepick:

Ft or ceca with masters will undercut you swee swee hor..

48 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

yes. young is an asset ... can jump ship every 2-3 years

by 35 asst director & director level liao  ... no $15k no talk liao .... [thumbsup]

Tsk tak tsk

your standard drop liao

35yrs old only AD / D ?

only $15kpm? 

hai, @Wt_know you out liao

muayhahaha

yeah yeah ... cannot catch up with the 2F2F

based on mcf resident property guru standard ...

at 35 probably 2-3 high class pte ppty on hand collecting 6-figure yearly rental 

23 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

yeah yeah ... cannot catch up with the 2F2F

based on mcf resident property guru standard ...

at 35 probably 2-3 high class pte ppty on hand collecting 6-figure yearly rental 

Unless fully paid , all that property is just leverage.

if retrenched, chiak sai, lampah drop.

muayhahahahah

Had lunch with my friend yesterday and she broke the news that her last day end Dec 2019.. "Separation Agreement" they termed it.. in short retrenched..

mid 40s.. sigh...

• Sad 1

23 hours ago, Playtime said:

Ft or ceca with masters will undercut you swee swee hor..

Well, their 'Masters Degree' asking only SGD$1800 when local grads with basic degree asking SGD$2200 during my time right after Uni.

Note the quotes for 'Masters Degree' :=B:. 5 years down the road, almost all of our Computing students are out of the market.

How to find a local in the market now? :dizzy:

14 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Well, their 'Masters Degree' asking only SGD$1800 when local grads with basic degree asking SGD$2200 during my time right after Uni.

Note the quotes for 'Masters Degree' :=B:. 5 years down the road, almost all of our Computing students are out of the market.

How to find a local in the market now? :dizzy:

Give your honest assessment.. performance wise..their master's compared to our local master... how?

Their master compared to our fresh grad?

I'm sure not all masters are fake.

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Had lunch with my friend yesterday and she broke the news that her last day end Dec 2019.. "Separation Agreement" they termed it.. in short retrenched..

mid 40s.. sigh...

sorry to hear that....

what's her industry?

3 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

mid 40s.. sigh...

Wooohooo

celebrate together with Christmas 

perfect timing

tell her dont worry can join our brotherhood/sisterhood to enjoy life

3 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

mid 40s.. sigh...

thats sad. retrenchment or sneaky dismissal? how many months payout?

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

errr.. let just say a US company that produce BIG FAT Bikes! 

Ah the company that sells more clothes than bikes.

The clothing company.

:grin:

11 minutes ago, Karoon said:

thats sad. retrenchment or sneaky dismissal? how many months payout?

It's time to reassess her life, career and do wherever she wants but not able to during employment.

Hope she doesn't have loans to service..

My workplace also.. In Dec..

Edited by Solar

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

errr.. let just say a US company that produce BIG FAT Bikes! 

Very niche market, unlike tech industry, usually this type of company is quite stable.  I hope her job role is something that she could capitalise on  to find a new job. 

The government seems to have pull back a little on FT hiring quota, a couple of my friends who are above 50 have managed to get back to work. 

18 minutes ago, Solar said:

It's time to reassess her life, career and do wherever she wants but not able to during employment.

Hope she doesn't have loans to service..

My workplace also.. In Dec..

Wah shiok