1.5m condo owner scold security guard

7 hours ago, Vid said:

With a population of 1.3b, talents are abundant in India. These couple of months, I have been reading well over 3000 CVs and many were Indians. The number of qualified Indians who were PhD and Masters from reputable universities are staggering, although verification is required. There really is no reason to choose someone who took a part-time course at some ulu institute if a company must employ an Indian.

Aiya, obviously hire under the table la [lipsrsealed]

It's very common for HR to put the opening online but already have somebody in mind to import hire [furious]

Edited by Windwaver

10 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

Aiya, obviously hire under the table la [lipsrsealed]

It's very common for HR to put the opening online but already have somebody in mind to import hire [furious]

Yes, this. 

There are many truly brilliant and genuinely highly qualified Indians out there. But this was likely to have been a "kampong kaki lang" hire under the table by a close friend or relative. 

Not sure if sg gahmen has the power to investigate that sort of practice in MNCs, though, but it would be good to stamp it out if we can.

a friend will bring in another friend

friend can help friend’s friend

eventually, all are friends of friends?

deep rooted culture in the dna ...

4 hours ago, Odyssey2011 said:

"We, members of the Singapore Armed Forces, do solemnly and sincerely pledge that we will always bear true faith and allegiance to the President and the Republic of Singapore.

We will always support and defend the Constitution.

We will preserve and protect the honour and independence of our country with our lives."

Cosplay? 

Good thing this pledge is over for me.  Done my share. Someone else can pledge it and protect Singapore with their lives.

4 hours ago, Odyssey2011 said:

"We, members of the Singapore Armed Forces, do solemnly and sincerely pledge that we will always bear true faith and allegiance to the President and the Republic of Singapore.

We will preserve and protect the honour and independence of our country with our lives."

Cosplay? 

wah ... hifalutin

ah gong taught me this word de

😅

5 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

why singaporeans cannot develop this type of culture?

must always ownself pwn ownself instead?

😬

8 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah ... hifalutin

ah gong taught me this word de

😅

Wow, need to google to know the meaning, so got ink. 👍😁

13 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

It's not localised to one country or group. 

India Indians do it. 

China Chinese do it. 

Pinoy pinoys do it. 

And AMDK AMDKs do it. 

What's strange is that Sinkies still don't seem to have the same sense of loyalty to other sinkies as the above groups, at least when it comes to employment. Going right up to the gahmen policy maker level.

12 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

India Indians do it. 

China Chinese do it. 

Pinoy pinoys do it. 

And AMDK AMDKs do it. 

What's strange is that Sinkies still don't seem to have the same sense of loyalty to other sinkies as the above groups, at least when it comes to employment. Going right up to the gahmen policy maker level.

Brainwashed by govt.

18 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

India Indians do it. 

China Chinese do it. 

Pinoy pinoys do it. 

And AMDK AMDKs do it. 

During my NS days, our hokkien company (all Singaporeans) very team based leh. How to complete mission on your own? So we've learnt that working like a team means complete mission faster, can eat snake earlier :grin:

Unfortunately, work environment full of different imports [lipsrsealed], how to work like a team?

21 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

India Indians do it. 

China Chinese do it. 

Pinoy pinoys do it. 

And AMDK AMDKs do it. 

2 cents...

What Are the Key Elements of Corporate Governance?

The key principles of good corporate governance differ depending on the country, industry, regulator and stock exchange. However, most codes of governance include several major characteristics:

Independent leadership: Companies should have an independent leadership to oversee and guide management, such as an independent chairperson or a lead independent director. An owner who selects friends and family members to sit on the board with him runs the risk of nepotism and prejudice. Independent judgement is almost always in the best interest of the company and its stakeholders.

https://bizfluent.com/info-7863014-corporate-governance-issues-challenges.html

44 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

India Indians do it. 

China Chinese do it. 

Pinoy pinoys do it. 

And AMDK AMDKs do it. 

Coz we are governed by divide-and-rule every man for himself principles. The competitive education system, so-called meritocracy etc.

1 hour ago, yishunite said:

Coz we are governed by divide-and-rule every man for himself principles. The competitive education system, so-called meritocracy etc.

the colonial masters did the same , publicly its to have healthy competition... in reality, its to prevent the masses uniting against the colonialist......hm.... sounds very familiar today too.....

6 hours ago, Odyssey2011 said:

Cosplay? 

the only cosplay is the current president....😛

So far, I feel that many of us are over-confident about Singapore.

I am personally confident in the current directions set for Singapore, but not so much as to say we can still survive changing the way we chart future Singapore.

Many academics think Singapore deliberately emphasise the importance of mother tongue languages and different races. They feel that giving us an overall identity (without race) may over unify Singaporeans and make it hard to control individual races.

That is not totally wrong perhaps but I categorically disagree. Singapore, from the time of inception, has always thrived upon the potential for the best worldwide to come and contribute their best talents and capabilities. It’s true that not all are the best, it’s true that some make their way back after making their pot of gold.

Therefore, retaining separate identities such as Chinese, Indian, Malay, Eurasians etc, allows us to continue to attract people willing to come here and give us their best years. It also allows us to do business with many countries these races hail from. If you are emigrating to a country or trying to set up business, would you choose one that you have zero identity with or some identity with? What is lost when we over emphasise our national identity? Yes, retaining race will sacrifice a degree of national identity but are we sure we can be that confident in that identity?

May I lastly remind that we are a tiny red dot, easily extinguished or made obsolete. It’s just not that simple to change any working mechanism (such as pursuing national identity and discarding race identity) and have the whole clock still running properly thereafter. My views only.