BANNED - E-scooters to be banned from Singapore's footpaths starting Nov 5

Ct3833

25 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

can't find a job to feed the family? seriously?  save the money buying cigarettes and get a copy of straits time classified job. Those who claim can 't find a job simply lazy people  who are unwilling to commit to a full time. they want freedom, yet give them a bit of income.... lazy people can never make it in any society. ...

Dunno what era you living in.... straits times classified to find a job? 🤣

2 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Ya.. Wonder if one day these pmd riders have a clash with tour De France cyclist... Who will win sia? Pmd or tour De France? 

Very unlikely to happen 

more probability of King Kong lorry meets pmd than Tour de France meet pmd

7 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Screenshot_20191107_081639.thumb.jpg.966a962ff6a94a65b8b7ecbeaaa1dac1.jpg

Saw on Facebook comment.. Look like some are already start to adjust.. Cannot ride pmd on footpath.. Nevermind... Ride on bicycle lor.. Life still goes on to make money. 

Those bicycles got hidden battery one issit :XD:

3 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

One has to realize that this PMD group are typical of.... you know what i meant. Listen to their voices! we will be like Hongkong in no time.

It's those young punks.. So government need to tackle specifically to those young punks who broke the pmd law.. Be it modify pmd and or speed on the road and pathway. 

Hope next step is for government to clam down hard on those illigally selling services to modify pmd and or sell modified pmd. Be it freelance or have shop operating.. All need to be caught. 

Edited by Yewheng

7 hours ago, Yewheng said:

The problem is when pmd not so popular that time.. Government should already start to lay out ground rules and etc.. When not so popular, the number is small, it will be easy to set up rules and regulations. When early set regulations, due to number is small, many will just follow regulations and then it will become a habit..

However government never did that, they wait and wait and wait.. And then with so many recent fire, accident and etc.. Then start to act on it. By then because pmd already become popular and many people are using pmd, be it young punk, those using it for food delivery. So when there is a sudden change in regulations.. It will affect a lot of them. Now when numbernis large, there will have many will just hack care regulations due to they had already ride pmd on the road, footpath got so long already.

So now it is difficult to change their habit. This is especially worst for those young punk.. These are the people that are the one that go modify pmd and speed on road and footpath. Those doing for food delivery job, they are putting food on the table, so they will not ride like these young punk do. 

Actually I feel act early when it is not so popular instead of wait and wait until it become popular then act on it applies to everything. Like the mod app for gojek and grab.. I really do feel authorities should act on it now . Coz now haven't went out of control easy to control.. . Once it went out of control.. I think it will be another difficult to solve issue. Act early things will be easier to solve.. 

we got to where we are now due to the difference in the different generation age gap.

What use to be stop at 2 was quite effective. But somewhere down the road, we became too "guided" and no learning flexibility that got us into a govern situation. We are so paralyzed by what is right, what is wrong and we lost our capability to decide. 

You are right in the fact that we somehow pick and choose what to maintain and what to ignore.

CECA, good for the country, proceed. AIRBNB , not good, block. 

GRAP and UBER, good revenue, let see how it pan out and so on and so forth like OFO and OBIKE.

With PMD, we went into a question of whose responsibility ?

Even now.

Is it LTA? because in theory its "vehicle". Is it TP, because in theory its speeding on the road. Is it NEA ? because there is no pathway to ride?

But the larger question the MP at this place hearing all this grievance should be,

WTF, how many Singaporeans are there actually in this kind of job . What have we turn ourselves into and where Singapore have the world best MAth champion and a single Red becon of hope "dot" doing in these bo liao job???

What is MOM doing and the Union Labour doing about job creation?

34 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

our leaders are becoming weaker and weaker now...really miss the LKY era.  very soon we will be a full democracy like hongkong. 

HK  started from

Occupy movement -> Umbrella movement ->  today

SG version

Occupy MPS -> ... ...

What a joke

1 minute ago, mikk123 said:

good, i agree with you....which means finding job on  your hp is free and easy and can be done anytime.... my point is why there are people out there crying can't find a job to feed family. 

They are saying can’t find a job at these terms and at this amount 

with corporate subsidies, of course a regular job cannot compete

when incentive drops, they affected

No cpf, they next time very hard

33 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

can't find a job to feed the family? seriously?  save the money buying cigarettes and get a copy of straits time classified job. Those who claim can 't find a job simply lazy people  who are unwilling to commit to a full time. they want freedom, yet give them a bit of income.... lazy people can never make it in any society. ...

u sound like a minister in ivory tower 

1 minute ago, Yewheng said:

Screenshot_20191107_082943_com.facebook.katana.thumb.jpg.7e01259d980980e44958bb8e80bbcaf8.jpg

This explain all.. 

Not true lah

so many deliver food people Cheong pavement very fast 

they not scared because their escortet crash into pedestrian, pesdestraon take most of the damage

5 hours ago, Datsun366 said:

Ender.

Das wont work.

You are asking public to gamble that all permitted riders will be responsible.

Dounble confirm plus chop that a few will eat and open bowel at this opportunity.

Are you putting your life and those you hold dear down on your suggestion?

I trust people but not all of them.

Remember what life saving heroes do when someone foreign going to rod?

These people were highly trained and supposedly disciplined. Look what happened.

I bet you did not see the poor boy face after the collision with kolam wall.

There are many jobs available, want to do or not only. Without the visceral adrenaline rush of course.

Food delivery is a really bad idea.

I gave it up years ago after cold golden pillow.

That is why tharman had long sounded the warning... Remember he quite sometime back say he is not a fan of gig economy? He knew of the problem... But he is not PM.. If he is PM.. Things may have been different now.. 

6 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Not true lah

so many deliver food people Cheong pavement very fast 

they not scared because their escortet crash into pedestrian, pesdestraon take most of the damage

so here lies the bigger problem. When a PMD cripple a pedestrian, can you claim from the insurance of 1 mil and above?

What was the compensation for the woman who died? 2K for the funeral expense and thats it?

I am not saying we deliberately crash and claim. What I am saying is there is no supporting infrastructure for this .

Really what I see is an additional lane for bicycles and PMD on the road and that should bandaid / solve this issue. Add insurance and you should have basic coverage for any eventuality.

There is no guarantee that accident will not happen if there is an addition lane on the road, but it definitely will be a defined spot for PMD to use.

However, the incidental cost of setting this up and widening the road is another issue.

I am just worried more and more food delivery folks will go on bicycle, they will soon realise bicycle is one that could go on footpaths, cycling tracks, shared paths and HDB void decks, of course unlike PMD,  they will have to paddle hard for their dollars when they are on a bicycle. Next is we will see  a lot more bicycles on the main road to compete for space with cars , then the lorry and bicycle altercation incident  will happen again.

Edited by Ct3833

6 hours ago, Ender said:

I think the gahment will be on the drawing board now to come out something for the food delivery rider

Maybe issue a limited amount of license for Grabfood riders subjected to strict rules and regulation. Maybe a 3 month trial period.  Breaking it run the risk of losing the license and livelihood. So the ball is back to the riders to behave and keep their job. 

Leopard can change it's spots meh?

I like this comment I found from straits time.

There are other means of carrying out deliveries and people can learn to live with a longer wait for their food, but the impact on the families of victims who have lost their lives is irreversible.

read more: https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/e-scooters-on-roads-not-the-answer

50 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Screenshot_20191107_082943_com.facebook.katana.thumb.jpg.7e01259d980980e44958bb8e80bbcaf8.jpg

This explain all.. 

Wahahahaaaa.....Angels do exists after all.