NTUC FairPrice’s ‘no plastic bag’ initiative to be extended to 25 stores islandwide for a year

Ysc3

To show true environment Support , NTUC and other shops should stop selling disposable Cutlery 

paper plates ok

No plastic bag save money, no disposable cutlery less merchandise to sell. Then many merchandise are not necessary and environment unfriendly, how? In Singapore,  1000 cc cars good enough,  why need all these luxury cars leh? Ministers must come in big cars meh with chauffeur driven and escort meh? Sub and high court must have ac tuned to so cold lawyers and judges wear coat meh?

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

For me I always use recycle bag when doing grocery shopping on sunday.

What I noticed is sometimes not the consumers BUT those aunties/uncles cashier who use tonnes of bags to pack for the customers. They separate items into too many bags despite most items are already in their individual packaging. Then sometimes they use another bag worries the bags cannot take the weight.

I think they need to start with their employee training.

I have already make it a habit to bring my own bag to NTUC liao.

IMO the whole exercise is a waste of time. If you look at the household products. Detergent whether it's powder or liquid it's stored in a plastic bag or plastic bottle. Shower stuff...same. Dish washer...same. Rice/salt/sugar...plastic bag. Fruits sold in a pack....plastic bag again. Sliced fruits...plastic cup/bowl. Etc etc....

With another plastic bag to help you pack things together....what difference does it really make? We are into the plastic stuff way to deep to back out of it.

So many of you(me inclusive) here owns and drive a car or two. Not only the carbon footprint is bad the amount of plastic used in the car is almost everywhere on the car. The only thing recyclable are mostly the metal body. Tires you know they are difficult to recycle. Can only recycle as playground mat but it doesn't break down further. Engine oil can recycle but where the filtered sludge and carbon go?

And you guys want to talk about stop using plastic bags....hahaha...oh boy.

If NTUC truly want to do something for the environment, why not reward those whom bring their bags? For example, rebate $0.20 (previously it was only rebate $0.10) for those customer which bring their own bag.

21 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

IMO the whole exercise is a waste of time. If you look at the household products. Detergent whether it's powder or liquid it's stored in a plastic bag or plastic bottle. Shower stuff...same. Dish washer...same. Rice/salt/sugar...plastic bag. Fruits sold in a pack....plastic bag again. Sliced fruits...plastic cup/bowl. Etc etc....

With another plastic bag to help you pack things together....what difference does it really make? We are into the plastic stuff way to deep to back out of it.

So many of you(me inclusive) here owns and drive a car or two. Not only the carbon footprint is bad the amount of plastic used in the car is almost everywhere on the car. The only thing recyclable are mostly the metal body. Tires you know they are difficult to recycle. Can only recycle as playground mat but it doesn't break down further. Engine oil can recycle but where the filtered sludge and carbon go?

And you guys want to talk about stop using plastic bags....hahaha...oh boy.

The initiative partly depending on the public support, and if any enforcement, the government should put in place regulation on what goods should not be allowed to use plastic, for example , I see pears, apples , oranges, eggs , cakes, buns etc are being prepacked in plastic boxes or bags, government should target the  packaging materials of those dried food products first. 

Edited by Ct3833

Ppl dont even know why plastic products are so easily available in Sgp.

The plastic residue comes from oil refining. There are a lot of petrol based by products. Plastics are at the bottom end. They are melted , go thru something like a meat grinder and cut into small pallets. They are then sold to plastic products making factories.

Not many countries have access to oil refinery like us. It becomes expensive for them to import things like plastic bags hence they have to either pay more for one or they use their own bag. They use paper bags most likely it's cheaper than plastic bags. For us here plastic bags are dirt cheap for a reason. Simply becos we have oil refineries here. Those countries who dont use plastic bags as frequent as us is not becos they are environmentally friendly. Plastic bags are expensive to them.

Why would sgp govt spent money to stop ppl from using plastic bags? It's better you ask yourself that funny question. 

4 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

The plastic residue comes from oil refining. There are a lot of petrol based by products. Plastics are at the bottom end. They are melted , go thru something like a meat grinder and cut into small pallets. They are then sold to plastic products making factories.

Not many countries have access oil refinery like us. It becomes expensive for them to import things like plastic bags hence they have to either pay more for one or they use their own bag. They use paper bags most likely it's cheaper than plastic bags. For us here plastic bags are dirt cheap for a reason. Simply becos we have oil refineries here.

Why would sgp govt spent money to stop ppl from using plastic bags? It's better you ask yourself that funny question. 

The question people have never asked is:

why always the consumer has to bear the brunt of everything

shouldn't the manufacturers come up with a solution or alternative

because of this plastic issue, we are going to see an explosion of our population

I believe condoms are in part made of plastic and rubber

need to ask BanCoe and AngCheek to confirm

15 hours ago, Kb27 said:

You go to a shop, you buy something. But the shop won't give you a bag to carry those stuffs you buy from them.

If plastic bag is a problem, can they give you a paper bag to carry your stuffs in ?

No ? You have to pay extra.

Do you still want to buy from that shop or go to another shop across the street ?

Totally agree. To charge customers is just to make more money. As u mentioned, paper bag is a great alternative.

1 hour ago, Watwheels said:

Not many countries have access to oil refinery like us. It becomes expensive for them to import things like plastic bags hence they have to either pay more for one or they use their own bag. They use paper bags most likely it's cheaper than plastic bags. For us here plastic bags are dirt cheap for a reason. Simply becos we have oil refineries here. Those countries who dont use plastic bags as frequent as us is not becos they are environmentally friendly. Plastic bags are expensive to them.

Learn something new today

Just adapt loh. No big deal. I go Tesco or Aeon, I also bring my own bag. If really need, then pay loh. I bet you would rather save that 10c 20c than give to charity. Haha

I dunno what everyone does, but I use 100% of the plastic bags as trash bags.

If I have to pay fairprice, then I won't buy from them. I'll get my free trash bags somewhere else, until I have to pay for it.

If plastic bag is such a sin, please come up with a better alternative to handle trash.

17 hours ago, Kyrios said:

"FairPrice Group chief executive Seah Kian Peng said he was encouraged by the findings, which showed that 71.1 per cent of customers supported being charged for plastic bags at supermarkets."

Most interesting phenomenon...

means surveyed 10 ppl.

7 are his office staff.

4 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Wow. You must be a chemist.

:grin: