2020 Denza X e-SUV

Carbon82

Let embrace the EV storm, from CHINA. To those that said China brand is dead in Singapore, think again. China is now leading the EV market, and several established auto manufacturers are actually trying to collaborate with these Chinese EV startup to gain entry into the EV segment.

Denza X, an electrified crossover, is a product of the joint venture between Daimler and China’s BYD, but more importantly, the design child of the former. Thus Denza X has unashamedly incorporates Mercedes-Benz influences, from the seat designs, to the trimmings, air vents and everything in between. If you’ve driven any recent Benz’s, you’ll feel right at home here.

756f0699-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-12

bee3f730-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-7.

aad3250c-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-3.

8fcf60e8-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-4.

23e38b31-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-10

1bc84839-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-5.

4b80fea6-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-9.

Denza-X-Daimler-1.jpg

Denza-X-Daimler-3.jpg

Denza-X-Daimler-4.jpg

Denza-X-Daimler-2.jpg

Denza-X-Daimler-6.jpg

Denza-X-Daimler-7.jpg

Denza-X-Daimler-5.jpg

caa594d4-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-8.

cc1ce0c8-2020-denza-x-phev-china-spec-6.

Earlier this year, China’s EV brand Denza, a 50:50 joint venture between BYD and Daimler, presented the sleek Concept X designed by Mercedes-Benz.

Since things move really fast in China’s auto industry, the company has already revealed the production model that’s called the Denza X. The midsize crossover stays remarkably close to the concept from a styling standpoint, although the pop-out door handles and rearview cameras haven’t made it to the production model.

The bumpers have also been modified, as have the lights. Inside, the 4.89-meter (192.5-inch) long SUV offers seven seats and a dashboard dominated by a massive center display that can rotate, changing its orientation from portrait to landscape and back. The Denza X also features a fully digital instrument panel.

Chinese customers will be able to choose from two powertrains, a plug-in hybrid and an all-electric. The PHEV combines a 192 PS (189 HP) 2.0-liter turbo-four gasoline engine, two electric motors, and a battery. The motor mounted on the front axle delivers 150 PS (148 HP) while the one at the back produces 245 PS (242 HP).

It’s the same powertrain found on the BYD Tang, with which the Denza X shares its underpinnings. With a usable output of more than 400 PS (396 HP), the plug-in hybrid model is said to accelerate from 0 to 100 km/h (62 mph) in under 5 seconds.

As for the all-electric version, it’s powered by a single electric motor delivering 245 PS (242 HP) and can cover around 500 km (311 miles) on a single charge according to the NEDC cycle. Denza will release more details about its new model at the November launch, with deliveries in China expected to start in early 2020.

Even if some AD decides to bring this model in esp in full electric form , our anti EV policies will make sure this thing is DOA no matter how well its styled and built. 

For one, our charging stations are just too few and > 50KW  DC chargers are even rarer. No one wants to spend 2hrs at a charging facility just to fully charge their EV. Even 1hr charge to 80% is considered too long if you are using a public charger. The charge times must be no more than regular fuel fillup times for EV to be accepted as a viable alternative. 

And 2nd, and its the most hard hit one, is our nonsense policies towards EV. You see the kind of road tax that Nissan 赛林娘 e Power was slapped with after LTA discovered how powerful that fridge on wheels is. This BYD makes almost 400hp in total, just what kind of road tax will this thing command if it do come to sg?! 

A 5L V8 making 400hp will pay less road tax than this electric car. And no electric car can ever replace the sound, power, feel of a real high o/p ICE V8. 

And then the selling price. EV are known to cost a hell lot more than a equivalent ICE vehicle of the same class. Many western countries had to give tax rebates and even cash rebates to encourage customers to buy them. In SG EV are taxed heavily just like the rest of the cars. So what gives?

And finally how are we gonna drive this thing to Bolehland? Theoretical 500km is one thing, but when you get stuck in our causeway for 3-4hrs straight with air con on, can BYD still claim 500km range when we finally emerged from bolehland immigration side? 

And where are we going to charge this thing in there? Bolehland has no concrete plans for mass RV deployment hor. And even if u somehow can find a gas station there that supports 50KW DC charging, do u dare to hang ard that gas station for 1hr at least while u wait for this thing to charge up, esp at night? U will prob loose this car and YOU within 15 mins of the charge.

China home market would work alot better becos their communities and cities are singing to the same tune to save the environment and they do not have so much nonsense policies and infra restrictions like we do. Over here, I foresee we will be on ICE till we ran out of fossil fuel. 

Edited by Cheefarn

1 hour ago, Ichibawa said:

Nice looking vehicle. Noticed that it does not have rear view mirror and the third row will be hot as hell due to the aircon vents location. 

Physical mirror is passe liao. Its a full span camera display on the in dash LCD screen.

The aircon vents are on the roof bro. 

2 hours ago, Cheefarn said:

Even if some AD decides to bring this model in esp in full electric form , our anti EV policies will make sure this thing is DOA no matter how well its styled and built. 

For one, our charging stations are just too few and > 50KW  DC chargers are even rarer. No one wants to spend 2hrs at a charging facility just to fully charge their EV. Even 1hr charge to 80% is considered too long if you are using a public charger. The charge times must be no more than regular fuel fillup times for EV to be accepted as a viable alternative. 

And 2nd, and its the most hard hit one, is our nonsense policies towards EV. You see the kind of road tax that Nissan 赛林娘 e Power was slapped with after LTA discovered how powerful that fridge on wheels is. This BYD makes almost 400hp in total, just what kind of road tax will this thing command if it do come to sg?! 

A 5L V8 making 400hp will pay less road tax than this electric car. And no electric car can ever replace the sound, power, feel of a real high o/p ICE V8. 

And then the selling price. EV are known to cost a hell lot more than a equivalent ICE vehicle of the same class. Many western countries had to give tax rebates and even cash rebates to encourage customers to buy them. In SG EV are taxed heavily just like the rest of the cars. So what gives?

And finally how are we gonna drive this thing to Bolehland? Theoretical 500km is one thing, but when you get stuck in our causeway for 3-4hrs straight with air con on, can BYD still claim 500km range when we finally emerged from bolehland immigration side? 

And where are we going to charge this thing in there? Bolehland has no concrete plans for mass RV deployment hor. And even if u somehow can find a gas station there that supports 50KW DC charging, do u dare to hang ard that gas station for 1hr at least while u wait for this thing to charge up, esp at night? U will prob loose this car and YOU within 15 mins of the charge.

China home market would work alot better becos their communities and cities are singing to the same tune to save the environment and they do not have so much nonsense policies and infra restrictions like we do. Over here, I foresee we will be on ICE till we ran out of fossil fuel. 

Fully agreed with you. 

Electric car will not work in Singapore as long as the policies are against owning one in Singapore.

In other countries electric car are given big rebates while in Singapore these car is being tax heavily....

What a joke!

Edited by L23

Sames goes for cashless payment, etc. We pride ourselves as one technological advanced country when in actual fact, we are lagging the curve on it. I suspect it boils down to monetizing it to work. Private enterprises are also not investing much due to small domestic market to make money sense. For cashless payment, look at Ezlink, Nets, kopitiam etc, all trying to introduce their own scheme of system. 

We are slow in EV due to money required to implement charging facilities and it is a who come first story, facilities or when there is enough EVs on road. To talk about EV, meaning renewable, it works only when government policies favour it. Same for solar. If you were to ask me, I will tell you why spend money on them when alternatives are cheap. Same for labour, all low skills workers are still cheap, doesn't matter what productivity, I can hire 2 to make up for 1 which probably still cheaper yet more productive with (2xunproductive output) to one higher skilled output.

Government adopted a captialism approach towards many policies, thus many cannot take off. So the country is a State own enterprise led economy on many new venture. Nothing bad too at least we are not like Hong Kong being controlled by tycoon.

On 11/15/2019 at 8:44 PM, Angcheek said:

Build by Benz China ? 

BYD. aka Built Your Deathtrap :D

The company started off ripping off models from Toyota and Chevrolet. And they still do for their older models thats still on sale. 

I still rem their Yuan Jing model was almost a carbon copy of G9 Altis... with a 2nd preFL gen City tailights! Toyota 1ZZ-FE 1.8L engine was copied wholesale as well. 

On 11/18/2019 at 8:10 AM, Cheefarn said:

BYD. aka Built Your Deathtrap :D

The company started off ripping off models from Toyota and Chevrolet. And they still do for their older models thats still on sale. 

I still rem their Yuan Jing model was almost a carbon copy of G9 Altis... with a 2nd preFL gen City tailights! Toyota 1ZZ-FE 1.8L engine was copied wholesale as well. 

BYD may have started off as a “抄”科技 company, but they are now so well established in China that Toyota and Mercedes-Benz are dying to work with them. I have tried the new series of BYD vehicle in China, and I can tell you they feel very much different from just 10 years ago. Reminds me of LG (aka Goldstar) and Samsung success story.

BYD, Toyota Agree to Establish Joint Company for Battery Electric Vehicle Research and Development

Toyota City, Japan, November 7, 2019―BYD Company Ltd. (BYD) and Toyota Motor Corporation (Toyota) announced today that they have signed an agreement to establish a joint company to research and development for battery electric vehicles (BEVs). The new R&D company, which will work on designing and developing BEVs (including platform) and its related parts, is anticipated to be established in China in 2020, with BYD and Toyota to evenly share 50% of the total capital needed. Additionally, BYD and Toyota plan to staff the new company by transferring engineers and the jobs currently involved in related R&D from their respective companies.

On the establishment of the new company, BYD senior vice president Lian Yu-bo said
"We aim to combine BYD's strengths in development and competitiveness in the battery electric vehicle market with Toyota's quality and safety technology to provide the best BEV products for the market demand and consumer affection as early as we can."

Toyota executive vice president Shigeki Terashi commented
"With the same goal to further promote the widespread use of electrified vehicles, we appreciate that BYD and Toyota can become "teammates", able to put aside our rivalry and collaborate. We hope to further advance and expand both BYD and Toyota from the efforts of the new company with BYD."

BYD was founded in 1995 as a battery business and has grown into a total energy solution company, manufacturing not only electrified vehicles but other products such as large-size energy storage cells. The company name BYD stands for "Build Your Dreams" and core parts for electrified vehicles such as batteries, motors and power electronics are among the products that BYD develops in-house. In 2008, BYD became the first company in the world to sell mass production of plug-in hybrid electrified vehicles (PHEVs). Since 2015 onwards, BYD's sales of BEVs and PHEVs have been ranked first in the world for four consecutive years.

Since Toyota launched the Prius, the world's first mass-produced hybrid electric vehicle (HEV), in 1997, the company has become a pioneer of electrified vehicle development with a focus on HEVs. Toyota has sold more than 14 million electrified vehicles worldwide and has accumulated extensive knowledge concerning the development, production, and sale of both HEVs and their related core components. Also, based on the thinking that electrified vehicles contribute to the society only when its popularized, Toyota is initiating electrification globally. In China, Toyota is also working on spreading electrification and also developing vehicles which meets Chinese customer's needs in collaboration between Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (China) Co., Ltd. (TMEC) and the R&D centers established at Chinese joint-venture companies with China FAW Group Corporation (FAW) and Guangzhou Automobile Group Co., Ltd. (GAC).

With the newly established joint R&D company, Toyota and BYD aim to work together to further develop BEVs that are attractive to Chinese customers, and by further promoting their widespread adoption, aim to contribute toward environmental improvement.