ICA Open Air Carpark to be closed from 1st Jan 2020

sbs2716g

6 hours ago, ER-3682 said:

Must well park at Aperia...free Parking for 1st 3 Hours,covered Carpark somemore.,,,after that can go Tim Ho Wan for Dim-Sum or go 2nd Floor Food Court take Tonic Soup.

tim ho wan nice meh. I ate once at the aperia mall, dont really want to eat again lol

12 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

tim ho wan nice meh. I ate once at the aperia mall, dont really want to eat again lol

Used to be.

Especially loved the buns till they made dough n filling much too sweet. 

Took that like 2 months back iirc and confirmed still too sweet.😅

6 hours ago, ER-3682 said:

Must well park at Aperia...free Parking for 1st 3 Hours,covered Carpark somemore.,,,after that can go Tim Ho Wan for Dim-Sum or go 2nd Floor Food Court take Tonic Soup.

Aperia food court nothing much to eat de. I rather walk to army market. 😂

4 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

Used to be.

Especially loved the buns till they made dough n filling much too sweet. 

Took that like 2 months back iirc and confirmed still too sweet.😅

I dont find tim ho wan nice until will keep going back to eat. So far think i eat less than 5 times there. Lol.

1 minute ago, 13177 said:

I dont find tim ho wan nice until will keep going back to eat. So far think i eat less than 5 times there. Lol.

Hehe...only went in total thrice since their first outlet at Plaza Singapura. 

Cos those times long queues and i guess food moved so fast, ingredients fresh fresh and iirc the HK Chef was down for a season to train the team taking over the kitchen.

Once no more queues and food turnover not as fast plus subsequent chefs may not have the skills to keep up the standard, not so nice liao. 

But for now, no plans to visit anytime soon unless i hear u share food there nice nice must try 😅😂

Safe ride 

36 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

The ICA carpark has super high turnover. So actually finding a lot only takes max 5 mins of waiting. I used to go usually after my kids are done with preschool. Almost surely will have lot within few mins.

Unless someone steal the lot you're going to back into LOL

those who drive are local which take very short time in ICA (very efficient), and probably more than half in ICA were foreigner who dun drive.

14 minutes ago, 13177 said:

I don't have any impression of the food that i ate there.
Given that i like dim sum, mean really average. 

eat one time and dismiss after that

3 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said:

Then you have no reason not to know that SG passport validity is now only 5 years for many years now :D

reason is i don't check lor.

23 hours ago, Jwee85 said:

I think the carparking issue will only be during the construction phase.

When the building is completed. it will surely have carparks.

sure about that? the current ICA building does not have car parking for the public right?

2 hours ago, PSP415 said:

And one of my friend's concern is this :

71424663_Screenshot_20191211-125007_Samsungcapture.thumb.jpg.686bb9e8b2869d0eb1f85cfc412c839b.jpg

No issue for most of my friends cos they do online and some take mrt. Say carpark not easy to find lots anyways. 

😂😂😂🍦🍦🍦more important.

Just sharing. Safe ride 

I thought the ice cream uncle positions himself after the pedestrain crossing nearer to the ICA building side? If there is not affected by the closure, then there should not be a problem for your friend to continue to purchase his ice cream. 😛

1 hour ago, Kusje said:

reason is i don't check lor.

I'm curious how can one don't check your passport validity if you have one and when you are going for a holiday. We need to have a minimum of 6 months validity upon returning to SG.

Anyway, the maximum validiy of a renewed passport is 5 years and 9 months. Any remaining months on the current passport can be brought over to the new one, up to a maximum of 9 months. Having said that, the old passport (non-biometric) was valid for 10 years but now shrunk to 5 with the same amount that we paid. Haiz. 

29 minutes ago, Wormee said:

I thought the ice cream uncle positions himself after the pedestrain crossing nearer to the ICA building side? If there is not affected by the closure, then there should not be a problem for your friend to continue to purchase his ice cream. 😛

I seriously dun know 😁😂 but i will share your observation👍to my friend.

🍦🍦🍦seller may be just as happy to continue plying his 🍦🍦🍦too.

😂😂 kam sia 

Safe ride 

55 minutes ago, Camrysfa said:

sure about that? the current ICA building does not have car parking for the public right?

The current ICA building carpark is for staff only if i’m not wrong. Dont know if the new building carpark got cater for public?

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

The current ICA building carpark is for staff only if i’m not wrong. Dont know if the new building carpark got cater for public?

Ya, quite sure present ICA building has no parking for public , it looks like a heavy security zone.

and ....Ahem… ICA building is not just about doing passport and IC…..Hope they give back the car park space to the public in terms of basement carpark.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/ica-plans-to-expand-hq-with-new-building-at-carpark-site

Facing increasing operational demands and already constrained by a lack of space, the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) is looking to more than double the size of its Kallang Road headquarters.

It is proposing to erect a new building on the current site of an adjacent carpark by early 2021.

The ICA also wants to upgrade the current building and estimates that total works will cost $300 million.

Last Friday, the ICA called for a show of interest from firms "to render architectural consultancy" through a Request for Information (RFI) on government procurement website GeBIZ.

The RFI closes next Thursday.

The current ICA building has been around since 1997. The ICA, which was formed in April 2003, inherited the building.

"Over the years, ICA has continued to take on new initiatives and functions to augment operational capacity," it said.

"All available spaces have been exhausted and the present building can no longer sustain ICA's current and future operating needs. It is a less than ideal operating environment as the current space available has been saturated."

The site occupied by the current ICA building is approximately 0.8ha with a gross floor area of about 36,300 sq m. The land area ICA is considering for its new building is about 1.1ha and can achieve a floor area of around 46,200 sq m.

The documents state that the new ICA building will house service centres, a heritage centre, the Registrar of Societies and the Casino Regulatory Authority.

It will also "function as a convenient one-stop centre offering public services as well as provide enhanced capacity for the projected increase in workload".

The ICA told The Straits Times: "With the increased volume of customers over the years, more space will be required to cope with the demands for ICA services. This (RFI) is part of ICA's capacity and infrastructure planning for the long term, with the aim to serve our customers better."

[email protected]

On 12/11/2019 at 7:11 PM, Camrysfa said:

Ya, quite sure present ICA building has no parking for public , it looks like a heavy security zone.

and ....Ahem… ICA building is not just about doing passport and IC…..Hope they give back the car park space to the public in terms of basement carpark.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/ica-plans-to-expand-hq-with-new-building-at-carpark-site

Facing increasing operational demands and already constrained by a lack of space, the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) is looking to more than double the size of its Kallang Road headquarters.

It is proposing to erect a new building on the current site of an adjacent carpark by early 2021.

The ICA also wants to upgrade the current building and estimates that total works will cost $300 million.

Last Friday, the ICA called for a show of interest from firms "to render architectural consultancy" through a Request for Information (RFI) on government procurement website GeBIZ.

The RFI closes next Thursday.

The current ICA building has been around since 1997. The ICA, which was formed in April 2003, inherited the building.

"Over the years, ICA has continued to take on new initiatives and functions to augment operational capacity," it said.

"All available spaces have been exhausted and the present building can no longer sustain ICA's current and future operating needs. It is a less than ideal operating environment as the current space available has been saturated."

The site occupied by the current ICA building is approximately 0.8ha with a gross floor area of about 36,300 sq m. The land area ICA is considering for its new building is about 1.1ha and can achieve a floor area of around 46,200 sq m.

The documents state that the new ICA building will house service centres, a heritage centre, the Registrar of Societies and the Casino Regulatory Authority.

It will also "function as a convenient one-stop centre offering public services as well as provide enhanced capacity for the projected increase in workload".

The ICA told The Straits Times: "With the increased volume of customers over the years, more space will be required to cope with the demands for ICA services. This (RFI) is part of ICA's capacity and infrastructure planning for the long term, with the aim to serve our customers better."

[email protected]

Capacity in the long term! 10M 10m 10M!!! All signs are pointing in that direction.