time to vet your kids' school books !!

Ysc3

Book containing swear words chosen by secondary school for 'literary merit': MOE

Offensive, disturbing, blasphemous — these are the words used to describe the content of a book that was assigned as a Secondary 2 student's reading material for English class.

A photo of phrases such as "Let go of the f***ing dog, for Christ's sake" from a page of the book, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, has been circulating on Facebook since Dec 7.

The parent who took the photo said, "(My daughter) came to me to complain that she was greatly disturbed by the language and overt attacks on her Christian faith in the book."

In a letter he sent to the authorities, he wrote that his daughter also asked why teachers would give students literature that promoted vulgar language if it was forbidden in class.

Aside from the strong language, there are also mentions of drug use and pornographic magazines in the book, the dad-of-two said.

This parent(Daddy) served NS, right? I bet he had heard worst than this. This is chicken feed. He should let his daughter know the truth or reality.

"Sweetie, we say worse things than this in the army."

16 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

This parent(Daddy) served NS, right? I bet he had heard worst than this. This is chicken feed. He should let his daughter know the truth or reality.

"Sweetie, we say worse things than this in the army."

His complaint is religious in nature. 

Wonder if he read the religious texts before. Killing and raping all over.

• Angry 1

I think that the MOE must answer for this.

No patronising bulls**t

This material just not for Sec 2 

if it is becos they didnt f**king properly f**king vet the book prior to approval then f**king admit the mistake and f**king do better.  Dont f**king give anymore f**king bulls**t.  Or MOE can f**king go f**k themselves.  

Nothing to do with f**king language religion race.   Its the same reason why we make it illegal for children to smoke or drink until a certain maturity has been reached. 

Oh f**king 4g network, f**ked again.

damn poor reception......f**k

Since it's "reading material" and not "teaching material" there's no big fuss.The dad can choose not to let his princess read the book or he use liquid paper to do his own censorship. 

In my mind I'm thinking...whoa lao eh, sec 2 already, sia. Dont tell me this is new to her.

11 minutes ago, Kusje said:

His complaint is religious in nature. 

Wonder if he read the religious texts before. Killing and raping all over.

Its about context not contents.

killing and Raping can be all over the 9pm news as well but the language use is proper.  

why do you always debate for the sake of it?  

2 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Since it's "reading material" and not "teaching material" There's no big fuss.The dad can choose not to let his princess read the book or he use liquid paper to do his own censorship. 

while i am of the opinion that we cannot keep children away from all that is life's negativity, i believe that the MOE certainly has bigger responsibilities than simply what has happened

The litmus test is whether you would knowingly hand that book over to your 13-14 yr daughter without explaining or guiding. I know i wouldnt. 

8 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Its about context not contents.

killing and Raping can be all over the 9pm news as well but the language use is proper.  

why do you always debate for the sake of it?  

What is proper and improper? If the deity and his/her prophet asks the fellows to kill and rape, is it proper or improper?

What is someone disobeys the deity and the deity has the fellow's wife raped? I think that's improper.

8 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

while i am of the opinion that we cannot keep children away from all that is life's negativity, i believe that the MOE certainly has bigger responsibilities than simply what has happened

The litmus test is whether you would knowingly hand that book over to your 13-14 yr daughter without explaining or guiding. I know i wouldnt. 

Actually hor, my wife and I had talked about this before. In movies there are ratings like PG13 or R18 to warn you the movie have bad language or nudity but why books dont have them. We wont know whether the book is suited for boys and girls to read w/o all the bad language or some insensitive stuff.

At times I wonder should books go thru censorship and ratings as well. Or should books have some kinda warning that it's not suitable for kids from how old to how old. Easy for ppl to identify. Rating may be too tedious.

7 minutes ago, Kusje said:

What is proper and improper? If the deity and his/her prophet asks the fellows to kill and rape, is it proper or improper?

What is someone disobeys the deity and the deity has the fellow's wife raped? I think that's improper.

You just arguing for the sake of it as usual and anyone with the right mind can see that.
Nevermind lah 
you win . Champ

over and out

I think another venue for bad language is youtube. Kids like to watch but for some channels the youtubers use really bad language. My wife often comprain to me then she tries to delete the youtube app but fail. Haha...

So she tried the kids version of youtube but my kids avoid using it. My eldest kid start using headphones and not let his mom know what's he's watching. Then I have to talk to him about it.

To me it's a phase. A learning phase for both parent and child. You comprain, the authorities go like...ok, noted. Bottom line you still have to talk to your child.

Teenagers nowadays are trying to out-slut each other. This book is nothing. If you look closely at what teenagers are getting their influence from nowadays, you’d be shock. Bad and vulgar language is least of my worries, the values they hold is more important. 

I’d suggest you guys download the app tiktok. If this is what teenagers are into, I’m dead worried for this generation. 

55 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

I think another venue for bad language is youtube. Kids like to watch but for some channels the youtubers use really bad language. My wife often comprain to me then she tries to delete the youtube app but fail. Haha...

So she tried the kids version of youtube but my kids avoid using it. My eldest kid start using headphones and not let his mom know what's he's watching. Then I have to talk to him about it.

To me it's a phase. A learning phase for both parent and child. You comprain, the authorities go like...ok, noted. Bottom line you still have to talk to your child.

If we want to discuss and debate we need to stay in the right context. 

The context here is MOE letting this slip through.  

Everything else like youtube, internet , your neighborhood ah beng etc is not a prescribed by the authorities so they all dont apply towards the debate.

they apply purely as normal comments unrelated to the debate 

cheers

Edited by Throttle2

14 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Have you tried reporting it to YouTube for objectionable content?

If they are targeting minors,  YouTube would take action and it hits the pockets where it hurts. 

https://researchautism.org/book-review-the-curious-incident-of-the-dog-in-the-night-time/

Haven't read it, but have a gut feeling it's not at all a religious story out targeted at any religion. 

It's about autism and asperger's,  so there may be a context where the foul language is used.

The parent may not be the sharpest tool... mentality kinda like the comically stereotypical fundamentalist Pakistani in mc hammer pants who protest and sees religion in EVERYTHING...

Quote"

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime was adapted into a play that has been praised for promoting acceptance of difference – Autism Speaks, an advocacy organization, congratulated the play for its Tony wins in 2015. Many in the autism community believe that the novel and the play helped spread more awareness of autism spectrum disorders to more people. I hope that we can all work together toward spreading a better understanding of what autism is about and increase support in our communities.

"

Unquote

Edited by Playtime

15 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Since it's "reading material" and not "teaching material" there's no big fuss.The dad can choose not to let his princess read the book or he use liquid paper to do his own censorship. 

In my mind I'm thinking...whoa lao eh, sec 2 already, sia. Dont tell me this is new to her.

That dad has a clear religious agenda... show him a science textbook on evolution and high chance will complain too.

If anything,  his kind of agenda is the danger to our education system.