Blood Donors Urgently Needed In S’pore As All Types Of Stocks In The Blood Bank Run Low

kobayashiGT

1 hour ago, Solar said:

Yes, parking is free. U just need to collect the exit ticket from the counter before u leave.

And yes, still have a complimentary hot drink, sandwich and green bean soup

Wah seh...the freebies got better...

but I don’t think it’s nice of me to donate old “engine oil” liao 

On 12/12/2019 at 9:22 AM, Lala81 said:

Urban myth? I can't recall where i heard it from. But within our profession.
I heard it many years ago that when there's real shortage of blood, they ask SAF to help.

I think they offer you something to donate. Not coercion, but ask the whole unit to donate lor. Maybe give u some off-in-lieu or don't have to participate in training that day [laugh]

These donation drives cannot gather enough one. How many people u know donate regularly? 
I've tried once, but my veins are too fine. Flow rate is too slow. Took me almost 50mins of ball squeezing to donate 1 pack. My hand was cramping...

Din know that the nurse alloeed to do that to the donors. Lol

do they still issue free parking for blood donors at NUH ?

I used to service the hospital so parking wasn't much of an issue. 

Donating blood was easy as I just take my laptop with me and chill out till the meeting starts at the blood bank. Donating blood back then VS now is the open question.

Has the IT system for donors secured ? Answer is a yes.

But many still fear the weakness of the personal data exposed.

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 12/12/2019 at 9:55 AM, Ash2017 said:

I wondered repeated puncture of the veins by large bore needle over the years would that lead to anything damage.

Chronic drug addicts using injections do have damaged veins and they use smaller needles.

There is another way, no need for needles. 

1 hour ago, Didu said:

Looks like Blood Bank stock is low. Red Cross just called me up for an appointment.

Going next weekend.

It's the dawn of a new year. Let's donate so that our body get to create new blood. 

New blood 🩸. New energy 💪. HOCK KI LAH‼ 😁

https://www.hsa.gov.sg/blood-donation/where-to-donate

Need more covid resilient blood from @Tohto