Lucky Plaza PHV Crash: 2 Filipinas Killed Instantly, 4 Seriously Injured - 29/12/19

2 hours ago, Toeknee_33 said:

A confused panicked mind will stomp on the accelerator pedal. I have seen novice go-karters do it. When you step lightly on what you thought is the brake pedal, and you don't get the feedback that you are slowing down, the next reaction would be to step even harder on the pedal to "brake" harder. Unfortunately that pedal is actually the accelerator. 

Then all Taxi and PHV should revert to manual.

Even with wrong pedal on the right foot. At least left foot will disengage the gears. 

And its easier to stomp with 2 feet. 

Edited by Atonchia

6 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Oh.. Just saw the video.. Ya.. The driver crash through railings.. The lady in the video did her best.. She quickly climb though the railings and down.. But there is nothing she and the other guy could do.. 

Hope the person who has the original video to send to police for them to do the investigation. That video is super clear cut.. Driver just went down the railing..

Think more importantly, what can be prevented this from happening again

I just saw the news in this morning Monday straits times and yes it is a private hire Vezel.

Most of these private hire jokers got no sense of the road and directions, they just simply rely in GPS to get around . Relying too much on GPS to get around will make one lazy and you won’t learn as much of the place than if you would to get a little lost and then retrace the path .

Just yesterday, I was along Upper Serangoon Road when I saw a private hire driver attempting to make a sharp left turn into Serangoon Nex from the middle lane. It is obvious he miss the slip road a while ago. He was stopped by a barrage of cars flashing their high beam and sounding their horns. Such is irresponsible driving .

Edited by No_worries

8 hours ago, Adrianli said:

What's wrong with reposting videos from the main stream media???

Like that what is there to discuss if no video??? All the reckless videos here are reposting from FB or YouTube what. 

Actually my thots too. Ironically, he is here leh. 

5 minutes ago, Rayleigh said:

Actually my thots too. Ironically, he is here leh. 

He can simply dont click on the video to play or simply dont come into this thread if he feel that ACCIDENTS are very scary to watch. No one is forcing you to watch or play the video. The videos here do not auto play unlike FB or Whatsapp.

The MODs and MCF have already been very moderated liao. If he go Hardwarezone, I think he will have a heart attack or stroke.:a-confused: 

1 minute ago, Adrianli said:

He can simply dont click on the video to play or simply dont come into this thread if he feel that ACCIDENTS are very scary to watch. No one is forcing you to watch or play the video. The videos here do not auto play unlike FB or Whatsapp.

The MODs and MCF have already been very moderated liao. If he go Hardwarezone, I think he will have a heart attack or stroke.:a-confused: 

He did say he wun go der he feel threatened.. oh well

maybe 2020 I wun be so nice hahhahah

happy 2020 buddy. Hope studies are ok

7 hours ago, Vratenza said:

Mt E A&E is not a full fledged tertiary A&E.

I can only say that the staffing and setup there is not the same level as those from govt hospital A&E. 

I will classify it as a large 24hr GP urgent setup with a large pool of eager private trauma surgeons on quick dial to rush down in their porsche/maseratis. 

Yes, per activation is about $500 for any of  them to pop by just to make an assessment. Not everyone will come down some more, they will have to dial a few of them to find a willing specialist . 

7 hours ago, Vratenza said:

Mt E A&E is not a full fledged tertiary A&E.

I can only say that the staffing and setup there is not the same level as those from govt hospital A&E. 

I will classify it as a large 24hr GP urgent setup with a large pool of eager private trauma surgeons on quick dial to rush down in their porsche/maseratis. 

Oni “trauma “ cases I handled are those brought in by friends nearby. Mbike accident, etc

other kinda trauma are the SOS evacuation taht come in but those mostly stabilized ady 

3 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

Yes, per activation is about $500 for any of  them to pop by just to make an assessment. Not everyone will come down some more, they will have to dial a few of them to find a willing specialist . 

Wow, didnt know there is a choice to come down or not. I always tot on standby, once activated, its immediate response. These specialist must be very big name to choose.:wacko:

5 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Wow, didnt know there is a choice to come down or not. I always tot on standby, once activated, its immediate response. These specialist must be very big name to choose.:wacko:

They on roster for on call

if they busy, 2nd call gets activatrd

10 hours ago, RadX said:

Yup

there are some clinics Along the road and they could provide the necessary evidence

nonetheless hope when I go there next wk, there will be less crowded walkways. That stretch is always waiting for such an event to happen 

err.. hungry ghost is still a few months away, not so crowded lah...

10 hours ago, mikk123 said:

car lose control? Honda car problem? The whole PHV system is unsafe to begin with. Very often i see those drivers busying on the handphone screen and driving at the same time.... accept new job, reject a job, customer message... human being are not all designed to multitask, especially men. Furthermore, they are likely to be reckless as the car is not theirs...  The whole private hire industry is a lie. It will crumble  one day. 

I also agree with this, the whole Phv structure has become abused in some sense, though they are taking orders from Grab drivers are deemed private which absolves Grab from any responsibilities when such issues occur. This allows Grab to push the limit on the drivers while getting away with inadequately rested drivers, reckless drivers or just not vetting their drivers properly unlike the taxi industry. 

Similar to the PMD issue, when the government wanted to PMD on the footpath Grab and Foodpanda came out objecting on this, but they never did propose methods of say making their rider easily identifiable for reckless complaints to be lodged or getting an insurance scheme for them etc. 

Govt needs to find a way to hold these companies responsible for their drivers/riders, then only will they work out a more sustainable model instead of letting the public pay the price.

Most horrific. Viewers discretion advised. Source from Ch8. FF to 1:12 onwards.

From CNA

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/lucky-plaza-car-accident-orchard-road-driver-arrested-12218318

SINGAPORE: Two people died and four other pedestrians were injured after an accident involving a car at Lucky Plaza shopping centre on Sunday afternoon (Dec 29). 

A 64-year-old male driver was arrested for dangerous driving causing death, police said.

According to eyewitnesses, the car ran into women along a walkway near the shopping centre.

Police said they were alerted to the incident along Orchard Road at about 5pm involving a car and six female pedestrians aged between 37 and 56.

Two of the pedestrians, aged 41 and 50, were unconscious when taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital. They later died from their injuries. 

The four other pedestrians, aged 37 to 56, were conscious when they were taken to the hospital, authorities said, adding that investigations are ongoing. 

The man involved in the accident is a driver-partner with ride-hailing firm Grab. He has been suspended while investigations are underway.

“We are deeply saddened to hear about the accident and are assisting the authorities in the investigation," a Grab spokesperson said. 

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said it received a call for assistance at 304 Orchard Road at about 5pm and dispatched five ambulances. 

Eyewitnesses told CNA that the car went off-road and hurtled through the bushes in the direction of women who were sitting against a railing outside Lucky Plaza's apartment block. 

The women were flung over the railing, said an eyewitness who wanted to be known as Zain. 

The 50-year-old condominium security guard who works near the accident scene was relaxing on the steps opposite the apartment block when he saw the car head towards the women.

"One of the girls who was sitting there was flung over, then other girls also went over. Then the car fell. There were so many people screaming and some of them fainted," he told CNA.

The car and women landed on a road below which leads out of a carpark. 

Mr Swamy, a 30-year-old technician, said one of the women was pinned under the car. 

"Six of us, with my friends, tried to carry the car to pull out the girl," he said.

At least eight police vehicles were at Lucky Plaza when CNA visited the scene at 6pm and the driveway of the shopping centre was cordoned off by police.

Video has emerged online apparently showing the moments before the impact. Women are seen on a walkway before a car screech and crash is heard off-screen, prompting screams. The camera pans in time to catch the car landing and people are seen lying on the road below.

Other photos and videos circulating on social media show twisted railings overlooking a service road on a lower level where the car landed.

In one video, a victim is seen pinned under the car while another victim lay nearby. Members of the public are also seen lifting the car so that one of the victims could be pulled out from underneath. 

At about 9pm, the mangled railing was being cut away and replaced with temporary barricades. Debris such as plastic bags and glass shards could be seen on the road where the car fell. 

Lucky Plaza is known to be a popular gathering place for Filipino foreign domestic workers on their days off on Sundays.  

Videos circulating online also show that many had gathered in the immediate vicinity of the accident.

Additional reporting by Gabrielle Andres.

Editor's note: The ages of the victims have been amended following clarification from police.

PHV drivers using hp and driving at the same time is never a good idea in the first place. Now got ppl die. What's next?

• Sad 1

Cabbies, PHV etc can really give me a heart attack..

my New York cabby was on the phone throughout without a hands free set.. coordinating rides.. crazy ..

42 minutes ago, Mercury1 said:

I also agree with this, the whole Phv structure has become abused in some sense, though they are taking orders from Grab drivers are deemed private which absolves Grab from any responsibilities when such issues occur. This allows Grab to push the limit on the drivers while getting away with inadequately rested drivers, reckless drivers or just not vetting their drivers properly unlike the taxi industry. 

Similar to the PMD issue, when the government wanted to PMD on the footpath Grab and Foodpanda came out objecting on this, but they never did propose methods of say making their rider easily identifiable for reckless complaints to be lodged or getting an insurance scheme for them etc. 

Govt needs to find a way to hold these companies responsible for their drivers/riders, then only will they work out a more sustainable model instead of letting the public pay the price.

I don’t remember the exact words the Edge Magazine used to describe Grab. But it goes something like this:

”Socialise the losses and risks, but privatise the gains”

53 minutes ago, Mercury1 said:

I am not sure whether any vetting was done, especially transcab.

If this incident was caused by cab, cab company will just come out and apologise.  Nothing will be done.

In order to force the safety mindset into drivers (PHV or cab), just shift all of these drivers to pay as you use insurance.  Most of the drivers will have an increase in rental cost in next 6 mths.  We might see an increase in unemployment cost.