Lucky Plaza PHV Crash: 2 Filipinas Killed Instantly, 4 Seriously Injured - 29/12/19

1 hour ago, Mercury1 said:

I spoke to cab drivers who did grab then switched back in the earlier days, a lot them faced pressures not faced when doing cab biz. Like accepting the request quickly (involves them to look at the location of customer and decide how to get there quickly before accepting), no of rides etc which is done on the fly. Everyday I would see some grab driver fiddling with his phone while the car is moving,

Just speculating grab can push out updates to prevent certain functions when the car is on the move, just as they could have made their PMD food riders more identifiable during an incident. At of the day these of these will increase running cost for grab and reduce their drivers ability to take orders quickly which is not in their interest unless government makes it so. 

It is harder for some cab drivers, bcuz they are used to getting flagged down, trying to find passengers on the road side. And then decide if they "want to take the passenger" which is against LTA rules.

PHV ride depends solely on the app. You can turn it on to auto-accept, which means accepting every trip that is offered to you, or you turn it off and have 8 seconds to decide if you like the trip and fare displayed.

If you accept the trip, there is a button to help navigate to the pick up point. So most of us have our favourite gps navigator which means you just follow. But of cuz the better ones don't think they need a gps. However sometimes a badly formed pickup address will still stumble you..like pickup "Singapore" or "Blk 123", you dunno where the hell is that, unless you use the gps button which basically loads latitudes and longitudes, precise gps location.

The biggest problem for PHV driver is getting to the exact pickup location, then he wonders who the rider is. Is he there yet ? He doesn't know. For a taxi driver flag down passenger is easy. He's there, he's waving at you. Not for PHV driver.

If Grab pushed an enforcement that the vehicle must stop before getting a trip or otherwise, you might find more problems, of drivers abruptly stopping on the road any time.

9 hours ago, Kb27 said:

It is harder for some cab drivers, bcuz they are used to getting flagged down, trying to find passengers on the road side. And then decide if they "want to take the passenger" which is against LTA rules.

PHV ride depends solely on the app. You can turn it on to auto-accept, which means accepting every trip that is offered to you, or you turn it off and have 8 seconds to decide if you like the trip and fare displayed.

If you accept the trip, there is a button to help navigate to the pick up point. So most of us have our favourite gps navigator which means you just follow. But of cuz the better ones don't think they need a gps. However sometimes a badly formed pickup address will still stumble you..like pickup "Singapore" or "Blk 123", you dunno where the hell is that, unless you use the gps button which basically loads latitudes and longitudes, precise gps location.

The biggest problem for PHV driver is getting to the exact pickup location, then he wonders who the rider is. Is he there yet ? He doesn't know. For a taxi driver flag down passenger is easy. He's there, he's waving at you. Not for PHV driver.

If Grab pushed an enforcement that the vehicle must stop before getting a trip or otherwise, you might find more problems, of drivers abruptly stopping on the road any time.

Thanks for sharing your experience cause to be honest I do not know how the industry works. Ps my propose solution about car stopping to take orders was speculative (i.e just random thought), naturally it will come with other issues which makes it impractical.

My bottom line if Grab is not taken to task on the ill practices of the bad drivers/riders by hiding the shield of "private hire scheme" and government does not step they are literally making the public pay for any bad drivers recklessness (rushing for orders, hiring bad drivers, using phones while driving etc). Same goes for the PMD saga. This also doesn't help the drivers by overworking them to meet their targets.

Its almost like a car manufacturer making a defective car that might have a 1 in 10,000 chance of killing someone but not been held accountable while reaping in the profits.

Anyway lets see how the government intends to deal with this,  hope we don't see more fatalities for both sides to come up with a solution that works.

6 hours ago, Didu said:

Driver in Lucky Plaza accident had licence immediately suspended, police reveal

...but the this news is not very immediate wor...Ooi! CNA wake up!

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/driver-lucky-plaza-accident-licence-immediately-suspended-police-1226221

Will be interesting to compare sentence with that of Yio Chu Kang? accident where the guy just got a fine.

Police: Licence of driver in Lucky Plaza crash suspended

BBZ0Qzw.img?h=536&w=799&m=6&q=60&o=f&l=f

source: https://www.msn.com/en-sg/news/singapore/police-licence-of-driver-in-lucky-plaza-crash-suspended/ar-BBZ0PWw?li=AAAHpny

Singapore — Police say that the driving licence of the man who ploughed into six women on the sidewalk outside Lucky Plaza on Orchard Road on December 29 was immediately suspended, Channel NewsAsia (CNA) says.

The police told CNA on Tuesday (Jan 14) that investigations into the horrific accident that killed two women and injured four others are still ongoing. The license of the sixty-four-year-old driver was suspended with “immediate effect” when he was arrested after the accident.

The women who figured in the mishap are all Filipina domestic helpers. The remains of the two women who died, Arlyn Nucos and Abigail Danao Leste, were returned to the Philippines days after their deaths. Two of the women, Arceli Nucos, the sister of one of the deceased, and Egnal Layugan Limbauan, were badly injured but are now in stable condition and have been placed in regular hospital wards, the chairman of the Centre for Domestic Employees (CDE) said on Sunday (Jan 12). 

The two remaining women, Laila Laudencia and Demet Limbauan, were discharged from the hospital shortly after the accident. CDE said they are in recovery and will keep on working for their present employers.

On December 30, TISG reported that two pedestrians were killed and four others injured after a car accident at Lucky Plaza shopping centre.

Graphic videos of the incident made their way online and were circulating on Whatsapp messenger.

In these videos, a black car appears to have crashed through a railing by the road, landing one storey below, on a pathway that leads to the mall car park.

The videos also show two women lying bleeding and unconscious by the car, as well as a third woman trapped underneath the car. At some point, other pedestrians come together to lift the car and drag the woman out. All three women in the video look to be bleeding and unconscious.

All the victims were also taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

Section 47C of the Road Traffic Act says that police may immediately suspend the licence of a person investigated in traffic incidents that results in “serious injury or death to another person; or serious damage to any building or structure”.

According to CNA, police said that decisions for suspending licenses in these cases are dependent on the investigations and findings of the Traffic Police.

The victims of the mishap will continue to receive financial aid, said Yeo Guat Kwang, the Chairman of CDE. CDE is intent on accomplishing the needed formalities in order to disburse funds to the families of Arlyn Nucos and Abigail Danao Leste so that their needs may be covered. These funds were raised through charitable endeavours.

After this initial giving, CDE says it will be giving monthly payments to the families of the two women who died in the accident, as well as to the four survivors, for the period of time until the women have regained financial independence or for as long as the money lasts.

CDE added, “It is our hope that we can stretch this supplementary monthly support and additional assistance for the victims and/or dependents for as long as possible. In coming to this decision, we have also considered the Personal Accident Insurance claims that the respective employers have filed for all six workers, which upon payment will most likely be disbursed in a lump sum to the victims and/or their dependents.” -/TISG

2 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

When I cannot send MIL home I always make sure to book her PHV.

I have seen how they drive and I only trust her life in their hands.

how about a certain black Audi with ironing board or yellow Honda Fit, they will bring her to final destination too. 

32 minutes ago, Blueray said:

how about a certain black Audi with ironing board or yellow Honda Fit, they will bring her to final destination too. 

And they can help me claim her insurance at the same time!

They are insurance specialist right?

I should get my money faster.

1 live 1.25 year before discount.  Who would be scared?

The law allows for up to 8 years, so it should be at least 4 years for each life lost as a start point. Jail a few 8 years and our roads will have less of the reckless pr!cks.

Yeah, and lesser Insurance Specialists too.

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

This case involved 2 fatality, don't think nice to joke here. Even though it is almost 2 yrs ago.

Agreed.

There’s closure in this case and the man is not appealing.

Maybe this thread should be locked liao. 

2 hours ago, Blueray said:

image.png.fe8197e493229f611fbe098bd7081ef3.png

reading the ST report, i dun understand the highlighted part.

image.png.6df9156b8df416cc02d63bb9b2b4f781.png

maybe i too mediocre to understand the writing style of a Best News Website

29 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

😂😂

on a side note, thought u MIA or deep lurker. First post i've spotted from u in a long while.

6 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

😂😂

on a side note, thought u MIA or deep lurker. First post i've spotted from u in a long while.

ya not been lurking also. just been away cos work has been tough.

thanks for your concern. buy tisu from me when you're near Novena Square ok

1 hour ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Must ask that General @Ash2017to explain loh.. keep asking us to subscribe to ST and write to the forum wor!

Nice to see you back! 🤩

11 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

Must ask that General @Ash2017to explain loh.. keep asking us to subscribe to ST and write to the forum wor!

Nice to see you back! 🤩

wah i almost forgot about this person. still around ah?

9 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

wah i almost forgot about this person. still around ah?

Around and quite active ah! whahahahahahaha..

I do agree to some of his points lah.. BUT not ALL.. i din follow him closely so i dunno he changed for better or I got worse by the day! whahahahaha..