Pritam Singh asked Chan Chun Sing whether is PAP releasing the amount of jobs between locals and foreigners

9 hours ago, Freeder said:

PAP always have EPIC responses to difficult questions..

Really got to hand it to them...

PAP wanshui..

yeah..

I;m sorry that it happen

It shouldn't have happen

Lets move on..

Maybe the next set of data we should be asking for are how many of these new citizens and PR gave up their pink and blue IC (balik Kampung or move on to another "better" country).

I think some did not get my previous posts right. Yes government have legislation in place to limit the number of of FT & FW (although some companies still choose to go against it), but at the same time, the consequences of opening the flood gate years ago has started to haunt us in the recent years.

For non true blue Singaporean and SPR, they can always move back to their home town with an amount that can probably last them for the next few years or even decades (many I knew make handsome 6 figure profits just with their HDB flat), what are the options left for the poorer Singaporean? And for those that think the vacancies left by these quiters can be filled by Singaporean, that might not be the case.

With company going AI and having machine and system replacing human, some of these jobs are lost for good. And talking about AI, this create another opportunity for flood gate to be opened and the cycle continues... [:(]

I always said, Look At the Bigger Picture! 

• Praise 10

51 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

It was Pritam fault.he was not clear to explain what and why data he is referring to. Don't forget, that Chan was fed since JC time till now. He is totally clueless what is going on. Haha

Keep sending military " strongmen" into political power.

People who for their  entire live, don't need to answer to others, whose idea  of conflict resolution is to destroy the perceived opposition, whose ego is matched only by their self belief... what's new.. 😖

On 1/10/2020 at 12:08 PM, Sdf4786k said:

no really true that we are the boss.

But I get the feeling that you are feeling like this Forester.

WhatsApp Image 2020-01-10 at 11.15.03 AM.jpeg

Need to add ED then is very appropriate

Edited by Fuelsaver

4 minutes ago, Fuelsaver said:

Need to add ED then is very appropriate

yeah, past tense...it is after all Special edition...

The reason why I feel we are not the boss but more like minority share holder in a expensive over valued stock is the behavior aspect of what is been received.

After paying for admin fees and carrying cost as well as CPI over the years, my returns are dismal or even negative for some aspect, yet I am been ask to increase my re-balance my portfolio. Seems like the RM is entertaining themselves from my invested interest.

Not really in-sync with how a portfolio is manage..

Edited by Sdf4786k

49 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Am I the only who sees ccs has a valid point?

did any of you ask yourself what is the point of getting the data?

i did. Before I ridicule others I ask try to understand the argument first.

if data shows that 60% of the jobs goes to PRs 40% goes to singaporean then so what?

are u guys going to carry pitchforks and scold the government?

To me that data wp is asking for is the wrong data... unfortunately the general public can’t really tell... to me what wp has done here is wrong to me and I will minus marks from them because of this.

just like I feel pap handled the president elections and pofma law wrongly too...

To me, in this case wp is self serving at the expense of the good of Singapore. 

If the data points to certain trend or disproportion then can figure out some questions on rationale behind foreigner workforce / pmet policy

1 hour ago, Wind30 said:

Am I the only who sees ccs has a valid point?

did any of you ask yourself what is the point of getting the data?

i did. Before I ridicule others I ask try to understand the argument first.

if data shows that 60% of the jobs goes to PRs 40% goes to singaporean then so what?

are u guys going to carry pitchforks and scold the government?

To me that data wp is asking for is the wrong data... unfortunately the general public can’t really tell... to me what wp has done here is wrong to me and I will minus marks from them because of this.

just like I feel pap handled the president elections and pofma law wrongly too...

To me, in this case wp is self serving at the expense of the good of Singapore. 

Finally, someone who stand up for the truth and for me.

Appreciate it. Will remember to keep one packet of chicken rice or bryani for you.

14 minutes ago, Fuelsaver said:

If the data points to certain trend or disproportion then can figure out some questions on rationale behind foreigner workforce / pmet policy

If jobs are created for non Singaporean and the percentage is say 20/80, 40/60 or even 50/50, I wonder which country in the world is in this situation. More importantly, is this data confidential or even available? What is the reason for not revealing? If indeed we don't have the true numbers, then it further illustrate  and confirmed we are not in control. 

35 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Maybe the next set of data we should be asking for are how many of these new citizens and PR gave up their pink and blue IC (balik Kampung or move on to another "better" country).

I think some did not get my previous posts right. Yes government have legislation in place to limit the number of of FT & FW (although some companies still choose to go against it), but at the same time, the consequences of opening the flood gate years ago has started to haunt us in the recent years.

For non true blue Singaporean and SPR, they can always move back to their home town with an amount that can probably last them for the next few years or even decades (many I knew make handsome 6 figure profits just with their HDB flat), what are the options left for the poorer Singaporean? And for those that think the vacancies left by these quiters can be filled by Singaporean, that might not be the case.

With company going AI and having machine and system replacing human, some of these jobs are lost for good. And talking about AI, this create another opportunity for flood gate to be opened and the cycle continues... [:(]

if you want your packet of chicken rice or nasi bryani, either you are for me or against me, no fence sitter will be acknowledge with we do head counts

but on a serious note

it baffles me that the government suddenly threw out so much data (ranging from schools and etc) but not the data requested

it only leads to one to conclude with high suspicion that they are hiding something

it is only human nature to come to this conclusion

19 minutes ago, Fuelsaver said:

To me ultimately, the good for Singapore (singaporeans) should be the yardstick we measure all policies by. And everyone must understand that we live in a real world and we must always ask ourselves what other alternatives are there?? 

To me, the questions WP should be asking is whether the jobs for Singaporeans has went up. Is there another way that we can give more jobs to Singaporeans? If 60% of the new jobs went to the PRs and 40% went to Singaporeans, is it necessary bad? To me that number is meaningless as it is so coarse, all it does is to fan public anger with no real solution behind it. 

I thought CCS reply "What is the point behind the question?" has hit the nail directly on its head. 

Honestly, me and my wife are both involved in hiring and there is real pressure from the government to hire locals. But for certain specialised functions, I can tell you there is not enough locals. I think WP needs to ask what is the percentage of FT in non specialised fields like HR, Procurement, Planning, IT (maybe). 

I think it's not difficult to put it in simple words.

Root issue: What caused ppl to be suspicious of what our gahment is doing? What started it all?

If the gahment wants to remain coy and ask what's the point of it all. Fine. This just further prove ppl's suspicion is somewhat right. Right or not? You dont want to put out the data means there's something you dont us all to know. Simple.

Gahment can always choose to remain mysterious about the figures or data. It's fine with us. It just that the mistrust will snowball and continue to grow Guess what will happen next? 😂

44 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Lets say the government gives you the data.... and the data shows 60% of these PRs go away after X number of years. Is that going to help you or Singapore?

you are pointing out the problems which are serious and valid ones.  so what are the alternatives? what do you expect the government to do?

1 hour ago, Wind30 said:

To me that data wp is asking for is the wrong data... unfortunately the general public can’t really tell... to me what

this is wrong,

WP is asking for the exact data that many of us here want to know. its the exact reason we push them there in the first place, to ask question that we wanted to ask.

6 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

I think it's not difficult to put it in simple words.

Root issue: What caused ppl to be suspicious of what our gahment is doing? What started it all?

If the gahment wants to remain coy and ask what's the point of it all. Fine. This just further prove ppl's suspicion is somewhat right. Right or not? You dont want to put out the data means there's something you dont us all to know. Simple.

Gahment can always choose to remain mysterious about the figures or data. It's fine with us. It just that the mistrust will snowball and continue to grow Guess what will happen next? 😂

For me, mistrust grows when I see PAP acting to preserve itself sometimes at the expense of Singapore.

1) The president elections. I am not convinced there was a need to limit by race in the first place. Even if it was, there shouldn't be a need to twist the words such that OTC suddenly is not our first elected president. Facts should be facts and if it is for the good of singapore, they should allow TCB to run for election and let the people choose. The act will come into effect the next election anyway. There was literally zero valid arguments for removing OTC as our first elected president. I really appreciate what OTC has done for Singapore both as a PAP member and as our president.

https://www.straitstimes.com/politics/law-allows-parliament-to-count-wee-kim-wees-term-in-triggering-reserved-presidential

2) POFMA law. Some parts of the law is so Draconian that it sound like from North Korea. Hurts singapore image and not to mentioned it is probably not practical in implementation. 

In this case, I really think there is a valid argument is steering discussion away from such useless numbers. If we do go down the path, Singapore will suffer. I see this as doing good for Singapore. 

1 minute ago, Beregond said:

this is wrong,

WP is asking for the exact data that many of us here want to know. its the exact reason we push them there in the first place, to ask question that we wanted to ask.

as I said, lets say the data comes back as 60% goes to PR, 40% goes to Singaporeans. You happy already? What is your point of getting the data?

14 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

as I said, lets say the data comes back as 60% goes to PR, 40% goes to Singaporeans. You happy already? What is your point of getting the data?

the point is i want to know as a sg citizen . i believe that is my most basic right to know.  i will be happy no matter what the data show.