Ban employers from asking about previous salaries

Wt_know

19 hours ago, Wt_know said:

$47k annual package is include cpf [confused] 

win liao .... 

I saw some company the basic pay offered is take into the extra allowance given, so the salary given is low if deducted off the allowance.

On 1/16/2020 at 5:36 PM, 13177 said:

Can tell them you have lost all you payslip?! [:p] Anyway, if the company request to see payslip, if you did not give them your payslip, no matter how nice you reject their request, maybe the company might suspect you have something to hide?

There is something you guys may not know.

The HR of the new company can always do due diligence by writing in a standard letter to the HR of the previous company with certain facts and ask them to verify. I have seen this a lot myself. 

HR between different companies do this  before they hire. So it does pay to be kind to your HR while you are still working in your company.

2 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

The HR of the new company can always do due diligence by writing in a standard letter to the HR of the previous company with certain facts and ask them to verify. I have seen this a lot myself. 

HR between different companies do this  before they hire. So it does pay to be kind to your HR while you are still working in your company.

Hm... i wonder does new data privacy law actually outlaw this? Anyone knows?

15 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Hm... i wonder does new data privacy law actually outlaw this? Anyone knows?

Data privacy, to my understanding is only on personal contact particulars and more recently, on NRIC particulars.

Don't think it covers employment history especially if it is due to the candidate applying to a company himself. It is just part of the due diligent process so that the new company does not hire a rogue employee.

Anyway banks also do a lot of checks before they grant loan too.

On 1/16/2020 at 1:40 PM, 13177 said:

Interviewer confirmed lowball cause see you so rich, no need to pay high salary liao. Imagine if you go to a company for an interview for an executive level or even assistant job driving a luxury brand car, employer would have the impression that you are rich and might not need this job or give you high salary la.

ha ha ha...me kena "sour" by the boss...you are right 

Edited by Inlinefour

19 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Actually why want to ban ah?

i want my employer to know my last salary 

interviewer paisei after knowing your last pay ...

interview ends in 5mins ... lol

14 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

interviewer paisei after knowing your last pay ...

interview ends in 5mins ... lol

Yah

they all feel so sorry for me After knowing i get fuk up salary 

i get whatever job i interview for

easy  peasy

4 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Actually why want to ban ah?

i want my employer to know my last salary 

Did anyone question your motivation to accept a lower paying job?

30 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Did anyone question your motivation to accept a lower paying job?

Bro, those jobs need no motivation.

just do, zombie and go home

19 hours ago, Icedbs said:

definitely, i dont believe in burning bridges....

but we can't do much to keep the bridges if our ex employers are a**holes...

On 1/16/2020 at 1:37 PM, 13177 said:

All employer the same de, they would think why you deserve so much pay raise as compared to your previous salary. And yet they do not see if your previous salary is way too low or not. So some people if they started with a low salary, even though they have work for 10-20 years, their salary still would not increased much, cause employer would pay close to previous salary.

i know they are the same.....want to save on manpower cost it is understandable.

but it is ridiculous to cast aspersions or deliver snide remarks this way.  he didn't even ask for my reason for asking for a higher pay, he just pass a remark like i was being money-grabber.

19 hours ago, Inlinefour said:

my first was shell pump attendant at a dollar per hour 

oh , what happen or what shld be done if the petrol drip on the car body ?