Single, unmarried, kid-less. Beat that. [flowerface]

Not for long

So many gentlemen want to know you

Don't include Tianmo

target 3 +1 adoption=4 

spouse and I decided to share our love to 1 child that might have been loved less at the beginning 

I am officially Lim bei🤣🤣

hopefully,  pearly gates would be open for me when I hand in my IC😅😅

20200121_141153.jpg

Edited by Staff69
  • Praise 19

Just now, Staff69 said:

target 3 +1 adoption=4 

spouse and I decided to share our love to 1 child that might have been loved less at the beginning 

20200121_141153.jpg

Congrats.  You should have 12, you have too much love and ...

If no kids, when old how? Have you really thought through how you are going to manage the last days especially we cannot be sure we will be so fortunate as to die in sleep or healthy? 

It will actually get complicated if a couple do not have kids to support them, and one is going first before the other. The one going first will be sad to leave the other half behind as will be worrying sick of how he/she will be coping alone, while the other one will have to mourn the passing and facing the bad situation of being all alone now. How sad! 

Better to have kids if can. This is definitely not the sexiest reason to have kid(s), but very compelling one.

Recently just witnessed an old single relative went away. Very bad case.

Edited by Heartlander
  • Sad 1

1 hour ago, Zoomzoom5535 said:

I married at 40. Never intend to have kid. But my wife managed to convince me to at least try.

So we tried....Sadly,  she got 2 miscarriages in 3 years. Each miscarriage was heartbreaking. But just as both of us had given up, our GOD was kind to us and send us a boy. Although, his growing stage was a tough one, but was both rewarding and enjoyable  . My wife and I never look back. 

This priceless gift completes our life.

I intend to have 3,  if I marry younger

One more still can

only one but wishes to have more at least got company for my spawn.

What is stopping us for having more is the lack of help and support. 

Raising a child in singapore is not cheap and we need time to nurture them. At the same time, worry about their future at the rate cost of living is going.

4 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Kind of curious. how many kids do singaporeans have? What makes you stop there?

Is there anything the government can do that will encourage you to have more kids?

Two like u. 1B1G. so far my close friends, 1 max out at 3. Most are at 1-2 stage. 

I think two is a comfortable number to stop.

My own Reasons only applicable to me. :

A) I came from a 2 kid family. My wife came from 3 kid family. After our son born, she also agreeable to give up a 3rd which she initially was considering. Hahaha

B) my own time is limited due to work. 3 kids outnumber 2 adults, so for my own selfish reasons, I want to enjoy as much time with each kid as possible. My obligation to my first born is to give her a sibling so that she's not lonely. 

C) I can only take the limited lifestyle for so long. With only two kids, the eca and other things outside school or childcare are already substantial. 3... Mlmlwml

D) too many humans on earth. My responsibility to myself and my parents are fulfilled with two. I believe that all responsible adults can recognise that controlling our own reproduction is the only way to Co exist with our planet. 

48 minutes ago, Staff69 said:

target 3 +1 adoption=4 

20200121_141153.jpg

Wah 恭喜!!!

2 hours ago, Hydrocarbon said:

Zero here too! But also unmarried.

Maybe got kid running around, but I also don't know 🤣

I see my friends with kids (mostly between the ages of 0 and 3 years old), their life revolves around their kids. First few months, sleep deprived, then afterwards, still energy deprived. Some of them say it's worth it, others, just say have kids then will know the "joy". But somehow, I find more joy in looking at cars than at kids. Plus, kids are expensive.

I was the first to have kids among all my friends. I used to tell them before they had their own... It's the best sai gang in the world. 

I have 2 boys. All wives will surely want a girl, but dun have the energy liao. So close shop lor. Also do not want the "horror" of getting another boy !! [laugh]

• Haha! 8

1 hour ago, Somewhat1975 said:

Two. I stopped at two. The only reason I have the 2nd one is to keep the 1st one company.

Nurturing a baby needs a fulltime father or mother. It is exhausting to work and to raise a baby simultaneously.  The structure of the present society, which predominantly full time working father and mother, is not baby-friendly.  

Same opinion. Despite the loss of income, my wife is a housewife for last 5 years. She's the only housewife within our family or my circle of friends. 

All of my friends leverage heavily on grandparents. Some people leverage on the grandparents until I think it's bit ridiculous... 

In a selfish way, why should we let other people enjoy the precocious and precious moments that a child bring to you everyday? Their silly questions, silly musings, funny ideas.

That being said, most working mums try to go to extra lengths to be able to work and still be there for their kids. Very admirable but physically and mentally taxing. 

2 hours ago, Zoomzoom5535 said:

I married at 40. Never intend to have kid. But my wife managed to convince me to at least try.

So we tried....Sadly,  she got 2 miscarriages in 3 years. Each miscarriage was heartbreaking. But just as both of us had given up, our GOD was kind to us and send us a boy. Although, his growing stage was a tough one, but was both rewarding and enjoyable  . My wife and I never look back. 

This priceless gift completes our life.

I intend to have 3,  if I marry younger

A lot of mothers now in their 40s. My sis had her 2nd one last year at age of 41. Some of her primary school friends also late marriages, one of them going to give birth this year. 

I have a girl and a boy (一个“好”字). Originally wanted to have 4, but the escalating cost of living and difficulty in achieving work life balance made me to stop at 2.

My mum help me to take care of my kids when they are young, so childcare is not a problem for me. Many of my friends complaint about high tutoring fee, but lucky mine never have to attend any tuition class till now, so that save me a fair bit of $$$.

But medical fee is really expensive. My son was once referred to specialist at KKH for inner ear bleeding (when he was <7 yo) and just 2 visits costed me around $1K. My daughter have eczema and each review at CGH cost about $100 (with medication). And nowadays, simple consultation for cough or flu is easily $50 and up at neighborhood GP...

Cost aside, stressful education system is a thing I wish it could be changed. Why must exam be scheduled in such a way that many student find it hard to complete within the time frame? 

• Praise 11

So I am not the only one condom broke. 

Good to hear other people admitting. 

No point pretend pretend. 

Edited by Jamesc

See many have 2 because there are really compelling reason to have two

1) keep the other company

2) aim for other sex, boy or girl

3) insurance in case one turns out unfilial. A bit of healthy competition.

i think that is the main problem... if stop at 2 is the norm, no way we can make up for all the prople who stay single, or married late either by choice or not. 

2 hours ago, Staff69 said:

target 3 +1 adoption=4 

20200121_141153.jpg

Congrats!! Now is the easy time 🙂 u will wish he/she can auto feed and shit and sleep next time 

Edited by Wind30