Police mark 200 years: Ex-traffic cop recalls high-speed chases to nab hell riders on Lim Chu Kang '40 tiang' stretch

kobayashiGT

Police mark 200 years: Ex-traffic cop recalls high-speed chases to nab hell riders on Lim Chu Kang '40 tiang' stretch

source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/ex-traffic-cop-recalls-high-speed-chases-to-nab-hell-riders

nz_nasir_070220.jpg?itok=fp5Q9rDp&timest

As the police celebrate their 200th anniversary with an exhibition at the National Museum of Singapore, The Straits Times speaks to past and present police officers who are a part of the police force’s transformation.

The retired police officer's face lit up when he spoke about police motorcycles and hell riders of the 1970s and 1980s.

Senior Station Inspector 2 Nasir Said, 65, a former Traffic Police officer and trainer, recalled high-speed chases and waiting in cemeteries to ambush hell riders who raced their motorbikes along Lim Chu Kang's famed "40 tiang" stretch. Tiang in Malay means lamp-posts.

The long hours of waiting meant that officers like him often became targets for blood-sucking insects, said Mr Nasir, who joined the Singapore Police Force in 1972.

But his 32-year career, which was followed by another 13 years of re-employment, nearly ended prematurely.

He contemplated leaving the force after the death of a squad mate in 1983 during a night escort mission.

"I was very shocked," said Mr Nasir, who is one of the guides for the SPF200 exhibition at the National Museum Singapore.

"He was close to me... we were brought up together. He was the one who had encouraged me to join the mobile squad."

Mr Nasir had been leading the escort of a small RSAF aircraft when his colleague at the rear of the convoy hit a divider and crashed into one of the airplane's wings.

The officer, who was from the same village in Jalan Kubis (now Ubi) as Mr Nasir, died of a broken rib puncturing his heart before he arrived at the hospital. But Mr Nasir did not know then as there was no physical bleeding.

After being told of his friend's death at the hospital, he became distraught and was unable to convey news of the accident to the man's family.

Mr Nasir's senior officers understood his predicament and allowed him to take a break during that difficult time.

Till this day, he is grateful and said he cannot forget the support from his family members and supervisors.

On 2/7/2020 at 10:26 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Senior Station Inspector 2 Nasir Said, 65, a former Traffic Police officer and trainer, recalled high-speed chases and waiting in cemeteries to ambush hell riders who raced their motorbikes along Lim Chu Kang's famed "40 tiang" stretch. Tiang in Malay means lamp-posts.

The long hours of waiting meant that officers like him often became targets for blood-sucking insects, said Mr Nasir, who joined the Singapore Police Force in 1972.

Two sentences and thats it? No elaboration of how he caught them? The reporting article heading is juicy but the content is a failure. This kind of news article also can publish?[shakehead] 

[thumbsdown]

Edited by Adrianli

10 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Two sentences and thats it? No elaboration of how he caught them? The reporting article heading is juicy but the content is a failure. This kind of news article also can publish?[shakehead] 

[thumbsdown]

I think he forgot all the heydays already. haha.

24 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I think he forgot all the heydays already. haha.

Ya lah. Never mention what formation they use to surround, where they post officers, their motor configuration, where the secondary traps, how he rev his motor, how he asked them to stop, how the chase went on, etc............... All of these left out in the news article.

10 hours ago, Adrianli said:

Ya lah. Never mention what formation they use to surround, where they post officers, their motor configuration, where the secondary traps, how he rev his motor, how he asked them to stop, how the chase went on, etc............... All of these left out in the news article.

Classified information. lol

7 minutes ago, Vinceng said:

TP now uses the 325D - 3L turbo diesel.

Should be able to overtake any Nissan GTR or Porsche 911?

image.png.930584deb62e02c55bd77664048f1d28.png

image.png.466225977586d897a44d74c791d0a768.png

IL4 2L turbo diesel with 450nm torque.

To overtake those car you mentioned, smelly 335d or Alpina D3

Now need to chase wan meh? Once their camera ID your car registered number they will establish your identity, where you live and work, your everything. They will just ambush you and put you in prison. Now it's high tech liao. Where got time for car chase like F&F?

31 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

IL4 2L turbo diesel with 450nm torque.

To overtake those car you mentioned, smelly 335d or Alpina D3

I wonder what is the OMV of TP's 325D , so we know how much each car costs tax payers' monies.

Edited by Vinceng

8 minutes ago, Vinceng said:

I wonder what is the OMV of TP's 325D , so we know how much each car costs tax payers' monies.

All police care don't need to pay tax lah.

For enforcement used, I felt this money spend is OK to me.

Edited by Tohto

Yes, public service vehicles don't need to pay ARF, customs excise duty, GST, COE.

Vehicle is purchased based on OMV, plus mark up by the distributor..