Should I buy discontinued car brand?

henryhartmann

4 minutes ago, henryhartmann said:

I meant what are the disadvantages when buying a discontinued car? 

The usual. 

Can't get parts, can't get support if something goes wrong.

Mitigating factors include: car brand popularity before it took a nosedive, the hardcore fanboy factor (Internet forums for advice, specialist workshops for work), continued supply chain of OEM parts and similar/shared platforms still in production.

All that is on you as the prospective buyer to ensure for peace of mind. No one but you can do the due diligence, especially when you won't even reveal which car marque.

30 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Buy Proton no problem.

Lots of parts in JB.

:grin:

Proton is still going strong and continuing leh!😁

Edited by Fitvip

53 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

Proton is still going strong and continuing leh!😁

Oppps I thot he meant discontinued in Singapore.

2 hours ago, henryhartmann said:

Have you got any ideas about buying a discontinued car brand? what if? how to react?

Did you just buy a Holden in Australia?

Keep it, it will be a collector's item.

It will be worth millions 30 years from now.

And don't let the demise of Holden stop you beating up them Ford dicks.

2 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Buy Proton no problem.

Lots of parts in JB.

Many from owners who were unwilling donors. 

Donating to charitable causes is always good, unwilling or not. Boleh?

😁

I think my fren @RadXmay have some advice for this new stranger with one thread, no reputation and a rather strange reluctance to disclose details on his dilemma after asking for help. 😁

4 hours ago, Vid said:

Can't sell

Don't lock first hor.  I want to say something.

My car also discontinued liao, Kia don't make anymore lor.

2nd hand price still OK leh.....