COVID-19: Malaysia’s Covid-19 cases soar to new high (Update: Oct 2020)

Matoonia

36 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

my freezer usually underworked. So overwork a bit is ok. lol.

hahaha. good. try not to block the vent hole part. ✌️

Trucks from M’sia carrying food supplies & medicine arrive at checkpoint on 1st day of lockdown

sdas-1.jpg.b3ea4e24e709b50ed5800888d12b14d8.jpg

Malaysia has begun their two-week lockdown.

One of the few vehicles that are making their way across the causeway are trucks carrying food supplies from Malaysia.

Here are some that made the trip today.

photo_2020-03-18_12-22-53.thumb.jpg.63511d6a4f5a29640086f0532b50fadf.jpgphoto_2020-03-18_12-26-40.thumb.jpg.6ecf6e51bdf0377d89cb1274438cadac.jpg

photo_2020-03-18_12-19-01.thumb.jpg.d7e429b81741551870f901a0acfad5c8.jpg

photo_2020-03-18_12-36-00.thumb.jpg.13c244c7128608f6c931166be47c3fe2.jpg

photo_2020-03-18_12-32-33.thumb.jpg.abe092612c0c75d380dea45070e4ba15.jpg

photo_2020-03-18_12-34-46.thumb.jpg.40eaa4218fc3f250ff122921d02d726b.jpgphoto_2020-03-18_12-34-46.thumb.jpg.40eaa4218fc3f250ff122921d02d726b.jpgphoto_2020-03-18_12-52-48.thumb.jpg.aee9c39a6896a4807e7a69d60fb3c877.jpg

Medicine arrived as well, a whole truckload.

photo_2020-03-18_12-45-29.thumb.jpg.ea93ee9441c7d94ea0602ec3ffc4d519.jpg

photo_2020-03-18_12-46-15.thumb.jpg.da0270344fdc8e4c50b98a1960af089a.jpg

PM Lee has previously announced that flow of supplies between Malaysia and Singapore will continue.

Awwwwwwww.

• Praise 10

30 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

It's mainly for my kids everyday makan. My wife doesn't go market. So i only go supermarket twice a week. And seldom have good broccoli at the times i go. 

Being preservable at an acceptable freshness is more important. Most people don't know but actually frozen vegetables are usually more nutritious than few days old vegetables. Though asians are lucky to have wet market where u can buy fresh produce everyday.

I never thought of buying frozen veggies, always buy fresh from supermarket but i would try to finish eating all veggies within 4 days.

I read that many Malaysians are not taking this lockdown seriously, still jalan jalan around as if holiday.

So the situation after 2 weeks could be quite bad if the infection spread beyond control, and with the lockdown lifted, and these workers returning back to Singapore to work, then ho say liao.

Despite reports that many chose to stay here during the 2 week, there would still be many coming here especially after 2 weeks of no income. Is our government going to or able to test all of them at the border before allowing them to come back? Remember some would be asymptomic despite carrying the virus. Lets hope for the best.

14 minutes ago, 13177 said:

I never thought of buying frozen veggies, always buy fresh from supermarket but i would try to finish eating all veggies within 4 days.

see ur picts, u eat lot of veggie one lah.

I like my veggies but sometimes lazy to cook. more important is got tofu or meat as protein

So it's been going around that Malaysia may reopen the borders for certain people to pass within the next few days. Well, I say....

Malaysia, please don't reverse on your decision to open the borders. You made the painful and hard decision to lockdown the country, preventing Malaysians from leaving, and foreigners including Singaporeans from entering. Malaysians were shocked even angered by the sudden decision with just a day's notice, some hours because of rumors going round that work permit holders were still able to enter. Singapore employers were flustered. Nobody work how! How! Singaporeans ganchiong liao. Food how!? Got eggs anot? Got vegetables anot? Toilet rolls how!? Panic buy! Siao liao.

It was a tough decision but we understood the reasons and rationale behind it. As hard as it was, Malaysians and Singaporeans (Government, employers helped to find hotels, hostel, dorms, friends place, stay in work premises etc) both worked together since the announcement to do whatever they can and whatever they need. Malaysians packed their belongings within hours notice, carried their belongings on their motorcycles and crossed over to Singapore in the wee hours, many without even knowing where they were gonna stay, others brought their luggage over at night. Many toughed it out in the jam, walked across the causeway, elderly, kids, husbands and wives, siblings, friends, students. 

ST_20200318_VNC2_5532357.jpg.d111c43ddd9dafbc9767485b283dd217.jpg

rk_sg-malaysiancheckpoint_180320.thumb.jpg.e9cdf5466b425d0c9ebe35b4024a01a8.jpg

609648.jpg.abe1f70bd132bd23ef9593cf39cbbbac.jpg

The hard decision was made. It was painful to swallow. It was even heartbreaking to see sg traffic apps with the countdown timer for the lockdown.

2103585587_WhatsAppImage2020-03-18at15_37_40.thumb.jpeg.9c1ac5387f1bc8e291e2c13853f950c4.jpeg

It was heart wrenching to see pictures being shared around of the last ones crossing, beating the clock by minutes or even seconds, and the eventuality of the lockdown. Barriers were brought in. It was official. The great migration had ended. The lockdown had begun.

This morning many of us woke up to images of the empty causeway being shared, except for a few vehicles mainly the goods vehicles. This is unprecedented. Never happened before.

jb-causeway-traffic.thumb.jpg.c38498ad32eef0f9d8abc486567255aa.jpg

contrast.thumb.jpg.75655adde8e4b06979426b1cc29ffe62.jpg

467011180_03lockdown.img_assist_custom-780x546.jpg.5949b0aff9c02322f58b94a4530e3628.jpg

I'm sure many of us felt sad at the sight of it. Two countries so close together side by side (not just in terms of geographical/physical distance), yet such stark differences. We call it same same but different. From time to time we bicker on social media, our government did it, our people did it, but we kiss and patch up, just like siblings do. We're brothers and sisters, bonded by blood for many. Families, relatives, friends, co-workers. Others for the cheap petrol, food, massage, some for the 1:3, a job to feed the family.

90203556_3431954563486174_6188831278335262720_n.png.fce96a63bcf04dc85d2218b942ca7120.png

So we did it. We accepted that for two weeks now or maybe even longer, Malaysia will be under lockdown, essentially locking down Singapore as well (how not to with the kinda special relationship we have you need me and I need you, and our ministers advising against all non essential travel).

Thank you Malaysia for locking your country down, by doing so hopefully the infections will stop rising up so rapidly in your country. By doing so, you are also helping to stop the infections from spreading to Singapore who is already facing a sharp rise in imported cases from Singaporeans returning from abroad, travelers from Europe, US and Asean countries.

SO PLEASE. DON'T REVERSE ON THAT HARD DECISION WHICH WE'VE ALL COME TO ACCEPT. :TT_TT:[flowerface]

• Praise 10

Based on the radio live report i heard this morning, supposedly was to have permit to allow inter-state travel in MY, but canceled after long queues started forming at police stations.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysias-movement-curbs-johor-hopes-to-reopen-border-with-singapore

KOTA ISKANDAR (THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK) - The Johor state government said on Wednesday (March 18) it hopes to reopen the border with Singapore within the next few days.

Menteri Besar Hasni Mohammad said this would be done with more stringent health checks on both sides of the border.

"We are coming up with a mitigation plan during this Covid-19 outbreak.

"Among the categories exempted are those with work passes by Malaysia or Singapore, students studying in Singapore, those with specialised skills, businessmen, those involved in logistics, and others that would be announced soon," he said after chairing the state executive councillors meeting.

He said a special committee headed by him, the state secretary and state security council would discuss the matter on Wednesday.

They will also have a discussion with their Singaporean counterparts the day after before they forward the matter to the Federal Government for announcement.

Beginning Wednesday, the border between Malaysia and Singapore has been locked down, except for lorries and people with special permission.

The move is part of Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin's order on a nationwide restriction of movement that is expected to last until March 31.

The order came following a sudden weekend spike in Malaysia's coronavirus case count, totalling 673.

5 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

So it's been going around that Malaysia may reopen the borders for certain people to pass within the next few days. Well, I say....

Malaysia, please don't reverse on your decision to open the borders. You made the painful and hard decision to lockdown the country, preventing Malaysians from leaving, and foreigners including Singaporeans from entering. Malaysians were shocked even angered by the sudden decision with just a day's notice, some hours because of rumors going round that work permit holders were still able to enter. Singapore employers were flustered. Nobody work how! How! Singaporeans ganchiong liao. Food how!? Got eggs anot? Got vegetables anot? Toilet rolls how!? Panic buy! Siao liao.

It was a tough decision but we understood the reasons and rationale behind it. As hard as it was, Malaysians and Singaporeans (Government, employers) both worked together since the announcement to do whatever they can and whatever they need. Malaysians packed their belongings within hours notice, carried their belongings on their motorcycles and crossed over to Singapore in the wee hours, many without even knowing where they were gonna stay, others brought their luggage over at night. Many toughed it out in the jam, walked across the causeway, elderly, kids, husband and wives, siblings, friends, students. 

ST_20200318_VNC2_5532357.jpg.d111c43ddd9dafbc9767485b283dd217.jpg

rk_sg-malaysiancheckpoint_180320.thumb.jpg.e9cdf5466b425d0c9ebe35b4024a01a8.jpg

609648.jpg.abe1f70bd132bd23ef9593cf39cbbbac.jpg

The hard decision was made. It was painful to swallow. It was even heartbreaking to see sg traffic apps with the countdown timer for the lockdown.

2103585587_WhatsAppImage2020-03-18at15_37_40.thumb.jpeg.9c1ac5387f1bc8e291e2c13853f950c4.jpeg

It was heart wrenching to see pictures being shared around of the last ones crossing, beating the clock by minutes or even seconds, and the eventuality of the shutdown. Barriers were brought in. It was official. The lockdown had begun.

This morning many of us woke up to images of the empty causeway being shared, except for a few vehicles mainly the goods vehicles. This is unprecedented. Never happened before.

jb-causeway-traffic.thumb.jpg.c38498ad32eef0f9d8abc486567255aa.jpg

contrast.thumb.jpg.75655adde8e4b06979426b1cc29ffe62.jpg

467011180_03lockdown.img_assist_custom-780x546.jpg.5949b0aff9c02322f58b94a4530e3628.jpg

I'm sure many of us feel sad at the sight of it. Two countries so close together side by side, yet our differences so stark. We call it same same but different. From time to time we bicker on social media, our government did it, our people did it, but we kiss and patch up, just like siblings do. We're brothers and sisters, bounded by blood for many. Families, relatives, friends, co-workers. Others for the cheap petrol, food, massage parlors, some for the strong currency, a job to feed the family.

So we did it. We accepted that for two weeks now, Malaysia will be under lockdown, essentially locking down Singapore as well (how not to when we're that closely knitted and our ministers advising against all non essential travel).

Thank you Malaysia for locking your country down, by doing so hopefully the infections will stop rising up so rapidly in your country. By doing so, you are also helping to stop the infections from spreading to Singapore who is already facing a sharp rise in imported cases from Singaporeans returning from abroad, travelers from Europe, US and Asean countries.

SO PLEASE. DON'T REVERSE ON THAT HARD DECISION.

sad to say but prata coming soon ...😥

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysias-movement-curbs-johor-hopes-to-reopen-border-with-singapore

• Sad 1

47 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Thank you.

I also happy for me.

So nice and peaceful now.

:grin:

She got visit mosque? Tell her good to visit cultural site. Those with bigger crowd means more interesting stuffs there 😅

7 minutes ago, Othello said:

KOTA ISKANDAR (THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK) - The Johor state government said on Wednesday (March 18) it hopes to reopen the border with Singapore within the next few days.

Menteri Besar Hasni Mohammad said this would be done with more stringent health checks on both sides of the border.

"We are coming up with a mitigation plan during this Covid-19 outbreak.

"Among the categories exempted are those with work passes by Malaysia or Singapore, students studying in Singapore, those with specialised skills, businessmen, those involved in logistics, and others that would be announced soon," he said after chairing the state executive councillors meeting.

He said a special committee headed by him, the state secretary and state security council would discuss the matter on Wednesday.

They will also have a discussion with their Singaporean counterparts the day after before they forward the matter to the Federal Government for announcement.

Beginning Wednesday, the border between Malaysia and Singapore has been locked down, except for lorries and people with special permission.

The move is part of Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin's order on a nationwide restriction of movement that is expected to last until March 31.

The order came following a sudden weekend spike in Malaysia's coronavirus case count, totalling 673.

the johor state government how come not in line with the central one, suka suka change. 1st day only give up liao.

it is only 2 weeks and not 2 months.

Walau..stay closed lah. 

Its good for both sides, especially more so for Malaysia to tackle the community spread.

Dun go against the country's interest and govt's decision, more so at this juncture. Dun help Covid-19. 

Just my tots 

Take care and keep well. 

Safe ride 

Ps : BB's post above is really well written and touched on critical point - it is not easy for the lock down to take place within such short notice. Humans are not cows and sheep. Respect the trust these placed on the govt right this moment.

• Sad 1

JB mayor is worried about job loss. 

He better clean up the town then. And prevent crime more actively. 

I hope that once we are used to being weaned off JB we don’t subject ourselves to being robbed and all that. Support local ! Our own businesses need us!

4 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

I always buy seng choon or lim chu kang egg, always support local first haha

Do you know that some of the egg farms in Singapore, especially An An (N&N) repack Malaysia eggs and sell it under their brand? So not all egg sold by Singapore firms are local production hor...:huh:

According to a news report in Dec 2018,

Approximately 73 per cent of Singapore's eggs are from Malaysia, according to the AVA, with around a quarter produced here.

Less than 1 per cent of eggs in Singapore are imported from accredited farms in Thailand, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand.

Many might have forgotten that there was once we face shortage in egg supply.

Singapore's egg supply was previously disrupted in 2004 when the emergence of avian flu (H5N1) on a poultry farm in Kelantan resulted in the AVA imposing a ban on all poultry products from Malaysia.

Egg prices soar as Malaysia looks to limit exports. At the time, Malaysia supplied two-thirds of Singapore's eggs.

Although there were alternative sources for import, these were also more expensive and caused the price of eggs to rise sharply, spiking to 70 cents per egg at one point - almost three times the usual price at the time.

• Praise 10

Oh a side note, Should our gahmen discuss with PM8 whether wanna extend the causeway? Since now empty. can do construction works. hahah.