COVID-19 Outbreak: 313 Confirmed Cases in SG, 117 Discharged, 15 Critical (18 Mar)

Carbon82

4 hours ago, Knoobie said:

Agree that it has to be a community effort. But I don't see how partial info by MOH would help in this case. People may have been in close proximity with these confirmed cases and be more vigilant. Contact tracing may not 100% get to everyone. So people who visited these places and fell sick should inform their doctors. Allowing the docs to make better assessment 

MOH has to juggle many balls. Giving out as much info as possible but at the same time respecting n protecting the rights n confidentiality of the patient. They also don’t want to unnecessarily alarm the public who are already being fed with a lot of untruths, hearsay theories n opinions from various experts which might hv basis but are subjective as well. 

From my understanding of ring fencing, only immediate contacts are quarantined n it stops there. It will be an endless process if contacts of the immediate contacts n so on are also ring fenced. A line has to be drawn somewhere n I trust the Health Authorities to know what they are doing. 

The trouble with this virus is that it is so contagious that even with reasonable ring fencing, there will be gaps which was unlike SARS time. Anyway let’s pray that this virus goes away soon n life goes on as before 🙏

• Praise 15

Perspectives ....... we could end up with 200 infected and less than 10 deaths. 

Hundreds of millions lost in productivity, economy dipping into recession, disruptions to our lifestyle for months etc....... but probably 10 dead..... maybe 20..... 

If the millions are spent on road safety education, safe sex, counselling for the suicidal etc...... maybe more than 20 lifes can be saved........ perspectives........... are we over reacting? 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/coronavirus-chief-medical-officer-responds-to-view-that-everyone-should-wear-a-mask

Coronavirus: Chief medical officer responds to view that everyone should wear a mask to avoid infection

SINGAPORE - Wearing a mask is not the most important thing to do to keep the coronavirus at bay, said Associate Professor Kenneth Mak, director of medical services at the Ministry of Health (MOH).

He was responding to questions on the advice circulated by four doctors that everyone should wear a mask when leaving home, regularly wash hands and to reduce unnecessary mingling with others - challenging official advice, which is to wear a mask only if sick.

They argued: "If one faces a person and both parties are masked, it is considerably safer, constituting a two-barrier protection."

Asked about this at a press conference yesterday, Prof Mak noted that there has been a lot of well-intentioned advice circulated on social media, including from doctors.

Referring to the letter, Prof Mak said that while some advice is very relevant, such as reminders to wash your hands, people must remember that the virus is spread via droplets with no evidence that is it airborne.

"And be aware of things you commonly touch. The thing most commonly touched is your phone, so wearing a mask is not the most important thing," said Prof Mak.

Government leaders have been saying that only those who are unwell need to wear a mask, while those who are well need not do so. In fact, as the virus is spread by droplets, keeping hands clean, and away from the face, are more important ways to avoid catching the bug.

One of the signatories to the letter, Dr Colleen Thomas, an internal medicine specialist in private practice, told The Straits Times that she knows that the advice goes against what the MOH has been saying - that only those who are sick should wear masks and those who are well should not, as masks don't give full protection against the virus and may give a false sense of security.

Still, Dr Thomas said the four doctors felt obliged to send out the warning "because the burden of not doing so is too great to bear".

Dr Thomas was infected with the Sars (severe acute respiratory syndrome) virus during the 2003 outbreak. She also said one of her colleagues had contracted Sars while unknowingly treating a patient. He then passed the virus to his mother, who later died of it.

Their letter, which is spreading within the community and in chat groups, said: "The infected are not always traceable and containable within hospital isolation rooms."

"As this virus is said to be milder, infected people with no symptoms could transmit the virus to others silently."

Their advice is any mask is better protection than no mask.

Dr Thomas said: "As a doctor, how can I not speak out when I know that there is danger to people?"

These doctors' advice includes winding down windows in taxis, spending less time in air-conditioned places, like shopping malls and food courts, and for schools to conduct online learning.

The letter, written on Feb 10 and sent out on Feb 11, concluded that if everyone wears masks and reduce mingling "in two weeks, the worst could be over".
But Associate Professor Hsu Li Yang of the NUS Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health said: "It is highly unlikely that such measures will result in the worst being over in two weeks."

"Social distancing is a sound strategy to reduce the transmission of respiratory viruses," he added. "There is little evidence to show that wearing surgical or N95 masks in the community when well will protect the individual, much less home-made masks or scarves.

"They may instil a false sense of confidence, and deplete mask supplies unnecessarily."

42 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

china need mask ... but china is also the largest mask production country

other country can produce mask ... but materials mainly come from china ... no material no production

left cannot ... right also cannot

that's why sexpert say ... china has 2 problems

front yard is burning .... virus

back yard is also burning ... if china all factory do not start pumping output

They will rammed up the production in a short time. Believe me cos I am in this line

46 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said:

won't be sticky sticky meh?

Outside stickiness leave to others, inside one safe to lick away lah😜

16 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

What else do we expect him to say? Cannot contradict earlier message right? 

We are Singapore, we know a lot more than China, which is asking everyone to wear mask when out.

I read his message also feel so kang kor for him. Actually easier to tell us not enough masks now, so must try not to use up all before we have new supplies. After that then everyone should wear.

Edited by Volvobrick

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/grabcare-wuhan-virus-coronavirus-covid-19-pilot-grab-12427022

Grab to pilot service offering round-the-clock rides home for healthcare professionals

SINGAPORE: Ride-hailing operator Grab announced on Wednesday (Feb 12) that it would begin rolling out a new service that offers dedicated 24-hour service for healthcare professionals travelling from work.

The service, called GrabCare, will begin its pilot on Friday for healthcare professionals working at the National Centre for Infectious Diseases (NCID) and Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH). 

Those who have signed up for GrabCare will be able to book a ride home by selecting the GrabCare icon within the Grab app. 

1 hour ago, Mockngbrd said:

won't be sticky sticky meh?

I think you misread the instructions. Must put on the finger then press. Not put on other anatomical parts and bua bua. 

Nah I post up instructions again. Please put on the correct anatomy this time round. 

Screenshot_20200212-220331_Chrome.thumb.jpg.71db1bbc0ef2fa88db4625943bace895.jpg

Edited by noobcarbuyer

41 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Note his careful wording. 

'Not the most important thing' does not mean 'not important'. 

I'm also on the side that feels that wearing a mask is important. 

Say for instance the cisco officer who was out giving quarantine orders.. Would he be less likely to have caught the virus if he had the mask on? 

Risks may not be eliminated but certainly minimised. 

I understand the need to ration out the masks as they are limited but to send the message that one shouldn't wear it when one is well is certainly bs. 

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

I am actually lost for words reading the statements from the professors. 

I can only say that the 4 private doctors did well by saying it from their heart.

Edited by Icedbs

We all seen the maggi mee and toilet paper run. If china is not affected maybe the tune will be a little different. If everyone start buying and using condom to press lift button, when you really need it at night 😭

33 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

I am actually lost for words reading the statements from the professors. 

I can only say that the 4 private doctors did well by saying it from their heart.

If some with virus cough or sneeze, and both parties don't have barrier how are they going to avoid droplet reaching other?

1 hour ago, Invigorated said:

Note his careful wording. 

'Not the most important thing' does not mean 'not important'. 

I'm also on the side that feels that wearing a mask is important. 

Say for instance the cisco officer who was out giving quarantine orders.. Would he be less likely to have caught the virus if he had the mask on? 

Risks may not be eliminated but certainly minimised. 

I understand the need to ration out the masks as they are limited but to send the message that one shouldn't wear it when one is well is certainly bs. 

How do you know the Cisco officer is not wearing a mask?

He should be right?

k3KJk4r.png

These 2000 plus folks will be hugely relieved Cambodia allowed the ship to dock so that they can travel back to their home countries. Otherwise they will have to keep on sailing around being treated as a toxic vessel...

9 hours ago, Tianmo said:

Knn why so difficult, the gov sld have just learn from Indonesia. 

Just announce the virus didnt come here, and we dont have any infected cases lah, no need to test, no need to track, no need to quarantine, no need to worry ppl keep asking why mask no stock no stock no stock. 

Seem like most ppl will eventually recover, then let them recover by themselves lor. Those cannot make it just declare as tio TB, every layman also know tio TB sure die one. 

Like that everyone happy, some more will give thumbs up to our "GOOD" gov. 

So i support next time such thing happen, Gov just say we dont have it here, all just carry on with life as normal lah. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/coronavirus-patient-visited-bali-last-month-chinese-authorities?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1581521191

Wait later tio question... Like for this case.. China was saying this person visited bali and when come back he was tested positive for that virus...

And the reply from Indonesia authorities, airlines and etc.. Is so different from how Singapore authorities and etc reply for this virus case.. If it is in Singapore.. I believe it would be.. We are currently doing the contract tracing of those who are onboard that same flight and require them to quarrentine themselves for 14 days.. Those who has show signs of symptoms are sent to hospital to check for the virus.. Then maybe few days later another 1 or 2 extra from that aircraft.. 

In anyway did you guys realised something.. The word.. "had yet to receive any information about the matter but he would find out more information" or "we have not received any official notification about this" when authorities seems like do not want to do something or want to dragged as long as possible, will give this reply... Familiar? 

Edited by Yewheng

8 hours ago, Tianmo said:

KNN cough just go buy cough medicine lah, fever take panadol tio ok liao what...

Last time ah gong ah ma all like this what...[:p][laugh][laugh]

No....last time ah gong ah mah said cough drink water, fever drink more water...

8 hours ago, Jamesc said:

If we kenna become X men

then I want to be Wolverine.

:grin:

image.png.8dd49ec9eb9163839db008513bf5e162.png

I wan to be mystique...donch ask me why...

hokay...hokey...I’d borrow money from ah long with my boss identity...