Addtional pusher fan in front of the air con condenser

Hachi

Last week when I went to.jb, after one hour or so, my air con is no longer cool. My radiator fan is operating and went to my mech just now. He suggested adding an additional fan in front of the condenser unit.

My condenser unit is fixed in front of radiator and the radiator fan is doing the cooling for both which doesn't cover the whole area of radiator.

Any advise? Cost? Thank you.

What car and how old is the condenser. 
you can try chemical clean the condenser like what they do for home aircon. 
when the car is moving again the aircon is cold? 
maybe the radiator fan high speed is not working. 

Go to L & Kim Car Air-Conditioning

3023A Ubi Rd 1, #01-62, Singapore 408717

Look for boss Ah Khim.

IMO no need to add what fan wan lah. Dont waste time and money. Go to this shop they will help you get it fixed.

44 minutes ago, Hachi said:

Last week when I went to.jb, after one hour or so, my air con is no longer cool. My radiator fan is operating and went to my mech just now. He suggested adding an additional fan in front of the condenser unit.

My condenser unit is fixed in front of radiator and the radiator fan is doing the cooling for both which doesn't cover the whole area of radiator.

Been there, done that. It's useless, doesn't help. Best is to bring to aircon shops to let them diagnose the problem.

Suzuki Swift, 12 years old car. Not issue when travelling on road even under sunny day, the air con still cold.

My radiator fan working. Even under hot sun, the coolant temp is about 80c of course during jam I do not know as I used the radiator cap with temperature gauge.

1 minute ago, Hachi said:

Suzuki Swift, 12 years old car. Not issue when travelling on road even under sunny day, the air con still cold.

My radiator fan working. Even under hot sun, the coolant temp is about 80c of course during jam I do not know as I used the radiator cap with temperature gauge.

Your's is 2 fan or single fan with Hi/Lo speed?

1 hour ago, Airwaver said:

Your's is 2 fan or single fan with Hi/Lo speed?

Should be single fan because the fan keep going on and off..

44 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

LoL...Adding another condenser fan is not going to make your aircon colder. 

I am not saying it will be cooler but during jam when there is not much air flow... Other than the jam I encountered that day it is working fine.

56 minutes ago, Hachi said:

I am not saying it will be cooler but during jam when there is not much air flow... Other than the jam I encountered that day it is working fine.

Is your aircon filter clean? Original evaporator coil? Could be icing due to lack of airflow or low on gas. like the rest suggested Bring to aircon workshop to check. L & Kim used a borescope to check my evaporator and confirm it was clean and no oil leaks detected. 

Edited by Mkl22

10 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Go to L & Kim Car Air-Conditioning

3023A Ubi Rd 1, #01-62, Singapore 408717

Look for boss Ah Khim.

IMO no need to add what fan wan lah. Dont waste time and money. Go to this shop they will help you get it fixed.

Just to add, the additional fan is facing the environmental elements like dust la, rain la...

Peugeot in many model like that design one.  My friend 5008, drive 5 years change 3 times lor.

Fan spoil and the car computer detect fan fault, won't start wor.

Aircon condenser is facing outward hence get cold air first, then the radiator get it.

7 hours ago, Apple-Tree said:

Just to add, the additional fan is facing the environmental elements like dust la, rain la...

Peugeot in many model like that design one.  My friend 5008, drive 5 years change 3 times lor.

Fan spoil and the car computer detect fan fault, won't start wor.

Aircon condenser is facing outward hence get cold air first, then the radiator get it.

Nothing to do with fan in front or behind. Main reason why spoil is because one word  “French”. 

19 hours ago, Hachi said:

I think everyone will face the same issue in the same situation.

You are surrounded by other vehicles giving off heat. By adding another fan it will only draw in more heat from surrounding vehicles.

You can try popping your hood to let heat escape as heat air rises. I have tried it before and it does cool the aircon a little better. Upon passing the customs find a safe place to stop and close back the hood.

10 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

Nothing to do with fan in front or behind. Main reason why spoil is because one word  “French”. 

Hhahahaah... Mine only one fan behind the radiator and condenser...

Last time hor, doing warmer season days, I just released the bonnet.  Wind ma, cool down engine laaa, compressor, GB laa..

Now release bonnet, warning bell ring ring ring .....lor

On 3/19/2020 at 5:49 AM, Hachi said:

you should check cavity between radiators and clean  it if necessary

Adding an additional fan in front of your air conditioning condenser can still be a viable solution to improve cooling efficiency, even if the thread is from a few years ago. The principles of automotive cooling systems remain relatively consistent over time. To explore this option further and get an accurate estimate of the cost, I recommend consulting with a trusted mechanic or automotive specialist. They can assess your current setup, determine the right fan size and installation method, and provide you with the most up-to-date information on pricing. If you're looking for more information on fan-related topics, you can also visit https://kbsceilingfans.com/. While their focus is primarily on ceiling fans, you may find valuable insights that can still apply to your automotive cooling needs.