COVID-19: Social Distancing in Singapore

BabyBlade

Social distancing has been heavily emphasized by all countries across the globe. This is a term relatively new and alien term to many of us, not just Singaporeans. We're used to queuing up like sardines in a tin can.

What does it really mean for us Singaporeans?

Restaurants and businesses have tried to place tape markings to demarcate queues, some have halved its tables and chairs at various outlets. But do Singaporeans really know how to work with the markings given? Some of the markings are too near due to space constraint and are not slots for you to stand in, they are supposed to provide safe distancing for you to stand at least 1m apart.

Post the social distancing measures you've observed in this thread. 

90410635_2783979064972927_9021666156292866048_n.jpg.93500da0c307d55dffbd3bc0d6a5a917.jpg

First two correct, the rest wrong. Bad example (pic taken from our Minister CCS's fb page)

91007090_2783654878338679_4634203363729211392_n.thumb.jpg.5bfa73b6fdbb03339a99f6ffb32e567e.jpg

90161643_2783955378308629_485490248302723072_n.thumb.jpg.d92ec9fe3f441fda05c2666217c3e73f.jpg

90441482_2783654778338689_1733449170032787456_n.jpg.482c5da091e3bb8d5655e2437c075547.jpg90637917_2783654811672019_8955237138371182592_n.thumb.jpg.5e6f5ca0f886643c0df6f839bf1c0e80.jpg

Social distancing in a wedding. Tables further apart. Lesser people in one table.

rk_ritzcarlton-wedding_210320.thumb.jpg.818ffa1f24b0c76e001d8428beed113f.jpg

Social distancing in Our Tampines Hub. Honestly should just cancel this. Just watch movie at home this period la. Our Tampines Hub has also been actively telling people not to stay home, join the outdoor/family activities. A little irresponsible this period of time, sending the wrong message across.

Don’t stay cooped up at home.Just head down to OTH Town Square for some fresh air in the outdoors and fun sport activities with your family and friends on next Saturday afternoon from 3pm to 9pm!
Player Bungee, Giant Twister and
many more await you!

ST_20200315_KYVIRUS15TYTU_5524786.jpg.1a906f55f65ab9d40926d581d51d6b19.jpg

Many of us laugh at this arrangement. Will you adhere to this? If the lift is too packed, how? Wait for the next one lor. Or walk down the stairs if you're heading down. Why squeeze?

20202003_lift.thumb.jpg.bbfed496175ee35815d0d8973507eea1.jpg

maybanktower_zb.jpg.435a706e77db2520aeb2e333ae147ddb.jpg

Zero social distancing at Shake Shack despite the tiny black markings on the floor.

rk_jewel-shakeshack_210320.thumb.jpg.9ed9d4cd443410a47b7a9a896c15430b.jpg

Minimal social distancing observed for the first two. After that, who cares? 😫

rk_ntuc-tpy_210320.thumb.jpg.7658c1ea141cc724b0c48d3c3691d559.jpg

Social distancing in Chinatown.

rk_smithstreet-chairs_210320.thumb.jpg.9765218060784da700133bf71b96a97b.jpg

rk_shakeshack-diners_210320.thumb.jpg.2705aaa4305f1cb5c4b2889945ac2387.jpg

Pretty hard isn't it?

90184363_10157235983642934_7118014884087857152_o.jpg.5b9703d356e89e284d30e458fba2f6af.jpg

kybwimc1hnm41.png.7f912d45cbecc8f1da6e386506c3958a.png

w644.jpg.e56da145f4fae477d3533ba010a4c818.jpg

Toast Box? 

90222497_10157235980897934_2798276694920658944_o.jpg.95a4d50ec3218c53228f5e03cb113ff3.jpg

90198711_10157235983422934_9060470953883992064_o.jpg.12081b883f936885d8da93bdc64925f1.jpg

Social distancing is about standing at least 1m away from each other. The lines are not slots for you to stand in. Stand on or as near to the front line as possible so the person behind you can do the same.

90168093_10157235979127934_7003003678604918784_o.jpg.89359bbfc772d873c20fb1ad3c2f6295.jpg

The authorities can't babysit us in every aspect. If you're queuing up for food, make a conscious effort to keep a distance from the next person even if there's no marking on the ground. If someone is standing too closely to you, step aside or ask the person to watch his or her distance. If the restaurant is too packed and nobody is adhering to social distancing, go to the next, do takeaway, call food delivery (ask the rider to place the food outside, minimize contact)

We can make our own judgment, right?

Most importantly, if you are unwell, stay home, see a doctor. Practice good social responsibility.

the population density here not so practical, especially in supermarket, unless you practice one-in-one-out in crowded shops.

yesterday my wife went to buy ice cream from the ice cream cart, she leave a 2 meter space, end up 2 boys and one uncle came in and cut queue [laugh] [laugh]

4 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

the population density here not so practical, especially in supermarket, unless you practice one-in-one-out in crowded shops.

yesterday my wife went to buy ice cream from the ice cream cart, she leave a 2 meter space, end up 2 boys and one uncle came in and cut queue [laugh] [laugh]

Hence it up to one's discretion. Use our own judgment instead of relying on shopkeepers and the government. Move away if someone is standing too closely. If someone cut queue just because you left a safe distance, tell the person off. I would. Many Singaporeans still have that bochup attitude now. Talk about complacency. Or simply ignorant?

9 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

happening everywhere...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Take bus and mrt can put bag next to seat liao hehehehe... ppl want sit tell them "Far cough" "Far cough"!

Edited by Mockngbrd

Sales executive Cheryl Sie, 45, was in the queue but said she was not aware of the social distancing measures. "I don't see people keeping a distance in the queue. If people do that I will follow suit. Although I don't think it will have much effect. I think it's more important to practise personal hygiene," said Ms Sie.

Always waiting for someone else to do it. Why not start from yourself? :dizzy:

Ppl who are anti-social by nature must be enjoying the moment now.

1. No more crowds or crowded places. Shopping made easy with shorter queues.

2. Can leave a gathering or party early if you were to feel bored and dont feel like talking anymore.

3. When going to see a show alone it's no longer awkward.

4. Eating alone is also not longer awkward. Bonus, nobody will share table with you.

5. No more insurance agent approaches you to try to give you something "free". Basically no one will ask you to sign up some membership or credit card that you dont want. 

6. When you dont want to be disturbed you simply say you are very sick and ppl will siam.

7. every where you go is so clean and sanitised.

8. if you were to see individuals you dont like around you simply cough loudly and sneeze w/o covering your mouth.

9. you enjoy that your annoying neighbour stops talking to you. 

10. you can chope tables using used tissue paper.

• Haha! 7

11 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said:

Take bus and mrt can put bag next to seat liao hehehehe... ppl want sit tell them "Far cough" "Far cough"!

take bus bo bian, i will take double deck at least the upper deck is limited to the number of seats, no standing and squeezing. But still quite full in the morning.

30 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

Indeed i saw people cutting queue due to the gap in between the queue, and some people really living in their own world and never observe their surrounding.

5 minutes ago, Watwheels said:

Ppl who are anti-social by nature must be enjoying the moment now.

1. No more crowds or crowded places. Shopping made easy with shorter queues.

2. Can leave a gathering or party early if you were to feel bored and dont feel like talking anymore.

3. When going to see a show alone it's no longer awkward.

4. Eating alone is also not longer awkward. Bonus, nobody will share table with you.

5. No more insurance agent approaches you to try to give you something "free". Basically no one will ask you to sign up some membership or credit card that you dont want. 

6. When you dont want to be disturbed you simply say you are very sick and ppl will siam.

7. every where you go is so clean and sanitised.

8. if you were to see individuals you dont like around you simply cough loudly and sneeze w/o covering your mouth.

9. you enjoy that your annoying neighbour stops talking to you. 

10. you can chope tables using used tissue paper.

It was quiet only when Dorscon Orange was activated. After all the international praises on how well Singapore did to contain the virus, complacency set in lo. 

27 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Hence it up to one's discretion. Use our own judgment instead of relying on shopkeepers and the government. Move away if someone is standing too closely. If someone cut queue just because you left a safe distance, tell the person off. I would. Many Singaporeans still have that bochup attitude now. Talk about complacency. Or simply ignorant?

The other day i was at a hawker centre stall buying food, the stall has no queue, then came one guy and stand very close to me, and so i move a bit away from him and he also moved a bit closer to me and i moved a bit away again and he also moved a bot closer to me again! Ended up i moved away from the stall and let him have the whole area himself while i was waiting for my food.

I really dont understand why are there have so many people so insensitive de?

• Angry 1

Just now, 13177 said:

The other day i was at a hawker centre stall buying food, the stall has no queue, then came one guy and stand very close to me, and so i move a bit away from him and he also moved a bit closer to me and i moved a bit away again and he also moved a bot closer to me again! Ended up i moved away from the stall and let him have the whole area himself while i was waiting for my food.

I really dont understand why are there have so many people so insensitive de?

Should have told him off! Either they don't know [confused] or don't care. But yeah you did good. Move yourself away from the situation if people don't.

1 minute ago, BabyBlade said:

It was quiet only when Dorscon Orange was activated. After all the international praises on how well Singapore did to contain the virus, complacency set in lo. 

LoL...that's true.

4 minutes ago, Jman888 said:

take bus bo bian, i will take double deck at least the upper deck is limited to the number of seats, no standing and squeezing. But still quite full in the morning.

Public transport no choice, cannot avoid crowded buses and MRT. Lucky now MRT has improved on their train frequency during the peaks and train will arrives around 2 mins, so train not jam-packed. Previously train frequency is 3-5 mins, every train also jam-packed!

5 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Should have told him off! Either they don't know [confused] or don't care. But yeah you did good. Move yourself away from the situation if people don't.

Cause i have space to move away, so dont want to tell him off. Maybe i have honey or magnet on me that keeps attracting that guy to me? Lol. Cause nowadays many people cannot accept other people to tell them off even they are in the wrong de. I remember there was once, one woman cut queue and the person in front tell her that queue starts from the back, and this woman not happy and scream loudly at that person, ended up like that woman had done nothing wrong. [sweatdrop]

Anyway, even there is no covid-19 thing, i also dont really like people to stand too close to me in public de. Except on public transport no choice lo.

Edited by 13177

17 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Indeed i saw people cutting queue due to the gap in between the queue, and some people really living in their own world and never observe their surrounding.

inconsiderate and stupid people exist in every society. that's why darwinism works.

35 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Always waiting for someone else to do it. Why not start from yourself? :dizzy:

I have asked people behind me twice to keep a distance already.. most people will notice once it more widespread. everyone is kiasi. Just ask nicely.

Edited by Wind30