♥️ Circuit Breaker Makan Thread HERE WE GO! ♥️

BabyBlade

2 hours ago, Ckll said:

My walnut and cranberries loaf .. 

image.png.a5d0cffa4dd206cf79f2d0d8ec7654ee.png

image.png.8070bff2d2dd3fee52f6a1e75c4a3165.png

image.png.1c3c84869277d4409f7177ddce8f1adf.png

Soft centre. Crust is soft and chewy, which I like  .. goes well with a cup of hot milk tea 😋.. 

you added milk? ^_^[laugh][laugh]

Wife made this char siew last evening. Delicious though abit salty so can improve on this. Told her shld get abit more fatty cut. 

73CAC352-4286-4F76-ADEC-967D660D7034.jpeg

95A8CCD3-FB4D-4C7A-B242-0C85BD68EC53.jpeg

• Praise 17

40 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

you added milk? ^_^[laugh][laugh]

No, this recipe no have milk. I followed this one, but I added grated lemon peel as extra liao .. I only made half the amount i.e. 250g flour.

It was late last night and I wanted oomph, so I proofed in turned off oven with a bowl of hot water placed next to the dough. But still kept to the proofing time. I find the amount of butter is too little. I plan to up the fat content next try.

46 minutes ago, Spring said:

Wife made this char siew last evening. Delicious though abit salty so can improve on this. Told her shld get abit more fatty cut. 

73CAC352-4286-4F76-ADEC-967D660D7034.jpeg

95A8CCD3-FB4D-4C7A-B242-0C85BD68EC53.jpeg

wah NICE!!!![thumbsup]

This type I belly LIKE, you no want pls pass over and tell her faster make new fatty ones for you....^_^[:p][laugh]

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

hahaha. later i walk my dog I take photo show you. 🤣

Haha. @Tianmo

1B970971-18E1-4B89-900E-0CD3DA51965E_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.c52662ec98f29d51f65d9dda678f0c9f.jpeg

My side also start to cut grass le, you want? I ask them. 😂

287FB399-AD75-4960-9177-8D53B83ACD0B_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.3a1a25706e648374ec9d9b7164e63dad.jpeg

This type of flower can anot arh? 🤣

• Haha! 7

43 minutes ago, Ckll said:

No, this recipe no have milk. I followed this one, but I added grated lemon peel as extra liao .. I only made half the amount i.e. 250g flour.

It was late last night and I wanted oomph, so I proofed in turned off oven with a bowl of hot water placed next to the dough. But still kept to the proofing time. I find the amount of butter is too little. I plan to up the fat content next try.

Oh so is the fat from the butter not the fat from the milk giving you the soft crust. No crispy crust liao...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

14 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Haha. @Tianmo

1B970971-18E1-4B89-900E-0CD3DA51965E_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.c52662ec98f29d51f65d9dda678f0c9f.jpeg

My side also start to cut grass le, you want? I ask them. 😂

287FB399-AD75-4960-9177-8D53B83ACD0B_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.3a1a25706e648374ec9d9b7164e63dad.jpeg

This type of flower can anot arh? 🤣

Yah yah, all can all can!!! [thumbsup]

You help me collect first can, if not later other ppl sapu liao. Later tonight I come pick up from you.

Remember must collect all hor!!! ^_^[laugh][laugh]

1 hour ago, Tianmo said:

Oh so is the fat from the butter not the fat from the milk giving you the soft crust. No crispy crust liao...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Hmm just did a quick google for this.

Adding fat to dough (olive oil/butter) will 

a) Get a denser crumb. less airy crumb. Reduce gluten formation (that's why cakes are cakes and breads are breads among one thing)
b) Softer, less dry due to above. Also doesn't get stale so easily

1 hour ago, Tianmo said:

Ha ha .. yeah .. fat from the butter. The crust is soft and chewy .. but I think can be softer, that's why I'd like to up the fat content just a bit next time.

10 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I miss fatty cheong char siew. 😓

Fatty cheong char siew? I guess their char siew must be very fatty? Lol.

15 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Hmm just did a quick google for this.

Adding fat to dough (olive oil/butter) will 

a) Get a denser crumb. less airy crumb. Reduce gluten formation (that's why cakes are cakes and breads are breads among one thing)
b) Softer, less dry due to above. Also doesn't get stale so easily

Yeah .. I think there's a compromise between strength and softness. Can't have both. There was a fruit and nut loaf that I baked a long time ago which has 120ml milk + 100g butter with 400g flour. The fat ratio is very high. It's a Sicilian enriched bread from Paul Hollywood. The crust was very soft.

I baked it in a cake tin so it looks like a cake .. lol!

image.png.04907f45a551171355c0c4116eb6abe6.png

You can see from the sides that it has a soft bread kind of texture instead of the hearty artisanal bread/sourdough.

Here's a look inside.

image.png.8b2b9cd343c25a0ff797b0d26d01d34f.png

• Praise 10