♥️ Circuit Breaker Makan Thread HERE WE GO! ♥️

BabyBlade

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I didn't even know got male chicken on sale. From what I know (though It seems cruel) is that male chicks are overwhelmingly killed and made into feed or some other products. 

Hmm OK seems like layer chickens are different from meat kitchens. 

Male layer chicks which r bred to lay eggs are killed. 

1 hour ago, PSP415 said:

Thanks for the caution note.

How's the taste? Cubes combined with minced cuts and made with wholesome flavour sounds neither here nor there, to me 😅😂 normal beef with wagyu flavouring?

Frankly, first time know about this but then, i more of lamb person than moo moo though i do like a good marbled piece of steak anytime. 😂 

Stay safe 

Taste like tender minced meat lor haha. Anyway I take it as learning process. I came across a video where they experiment by injecting wagyu fats into normal steak and cook a wagyu side by side for comparison, and the original wagyu won by miles. So nothing beat the real thing. 

Anyway I got the steak I shared from this source:

https://www.qoo10.sg/gmkt.inc/Goods/Goods.aspx?goodscode=643075223

Hmm OK seems like layer chickens are different from meat kitchens. 

Male layer chicks which r bred to lay eggs are killed. 

Go SS check their fresh chicken in the fridge to see the different. 

The kampong male is smaller, also cheaper. Female kampong chicken is $8.15. Male I think $7.70. 

13 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I didn't even know got male chicken on sale. From what I know (though It seems cruel) is that male chicks are overwhelmingly killed and made into feed or some other products. 

Yah, thats what I understand also.  We kept some chickens when I was a young boy living in kumpong, and roosters were never eaten.

Growing up I also never come across anyone eating a male chicken, its always female chickens, even you see chicken rice stalls also all female chickens. I know because my sell chicken rice, male chickens are sibei tough one. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

7 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Go SS check their fresh chicken in the fridge to see the different. 

The kampong male is smaller, also cheaper. Female kampong chicken is $8.15. Male I think $7.70. 

I seldom buy whole chicken now, but I am really surprise that SS sell male chickens. Mayb locals dont buy but some others eat male chickens... [:p][laugh][laugh]

They label as male or female? 

6 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

I seldom buy whole chicken now, but I am really surprise that SS sell male chickens. Mayb locals dont buy but some others eat male chickens... [:p][laugh][laugh]

They label as male or female? 

Yah, that's how they name it.

For chicken soup I will buy those they name as male as it is less fatty and soup will be less oily.

20200530_182346_copy_3024x2268.jpg

19 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Yah, that's how they name it.

For chicken soup I will buy those they name as male as it is less fatty and soup will be less oily.

20200530_182346_copy_3024x2268.jpg

老母鸡炖汤 is commonly hear, 老公鸡炖汤 i so old really 1st time come across...[thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

14 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

老母鸡炖汤 is commonly hear, 老公鸡炖汤 i so old really 1st time come across...[thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

14 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

I know. But this is not 老母鸡,this are young chicken and fatty. I don't want a pot of oily soup.

老母鸡汤 need to cook many hours, more for the soup, not the meat. Go China common dishes.

You are  China expert sure eat many many times there.

Edited by Tohto

22 minutes ago, Tohto said:

I know. But this is not 老母鸡,this are young chicken and fatty. I don't want a pot of oily soup.

老母鸡汤 need to cook many hours, more for the soup, not the meat. Go China common dishes.

You are  China expert sure eat many many times there.

Haha cannot have 老母雞,so instead need to use 嫩男鸡 for soup lol. 

7 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Dinner. 手撕鸭 with 菠菜蛋花汤. 

0o42g0R.jpg

That's bought?  Never hear before. Interesting. 

It's been a really long while since I ate mixed rice outside. Since I don't like the mixed rice at my workplace (though I do eat from the vegetarian stall) And I can just eat normal rice with sides at home or at parents/in laws. 

Somehow go hawker center. Mixed rice will never consider. But been wanting to try this stall for a while and finally on a day when I'm actually sian of all the other stalls I eat from. CB induced. 

9 dollars for 3 packets. This has two veg and one fish. $3.50. I like it. Veggie not oily type even though I ordered curry veg and long beans which are usually oily. A viable option. 

20200530_181123_compress80.jpg

• Praise 15

19 minutes ago, Carbon82 said:

Dinner. 手撕鸭 with 菠菜蛋花汤. 

0o42g0R.jpg

6fNBa2U.jpg

How you cook the duck? 

13 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

That's bought?  Never hear before. Interesting. 

this is eaten with black sweet sauce + green onion shreds + "popiah" skin. Like Peking Duck. But it is deep fried. some call it 脆皮鸭

Nowadays quite rare liao, it's been a long time time since I see in restaurant

Edited by Othello

11 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said:

Gado gado

IMG-20200530-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20200530-WA0009.jpg

IMG-20200530-WA0010.jpg

Wah. Your wife really going around asia one country by one country... 

Yeah...CB induced also. Hahaha