♥️ Circuit Breaker Makan Thread HERE WE GO! ♥️

BabyBlade

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

this one is coarser liao. Most common 2 sided whetstones are actually 1000/6000 or 2000/6000 nowadays. This one i buy is harder to find. 

Grit 240 is for really bashed up blades.
Grit 1000/2000 is for just everyday suka suka use
Grit 4000 is considered sharp enough to cut delicate items.
Above will be even sharper, But will dull very rapidly, so specialty knives bah. 

Oh......

I again half past 6, basic sharpen chin cai sharp enough to cut can liao. I dont even know what Grit are my stones, I only know I have 2, all 4 sides different....[:p][laugh][laugh]

36 minutes ago, Ckll said:

If you’re doing the push and pull method, you need to flip the blade in between each flip. 
The motion should be such that the blade edge is pulling away the from the stone. 
If the blade edge is facing you, then you push. If it’s facing away from you, then you pull. All at around 30 deg from the stone plane. 

Hmmmmmmm....

I think I am doing exactly the opposite, push when edge is away, and pull when edge is towards me, at as low as 15-20 deg.....

works for me leh...:huh:[laugh][laugh]

14 minutes ago, 13177 said:

I scare LAOSAI. 😅😂

Oh yah you is 富贵体, yang orh one, abit abit also tak boleh.......[:p][laugh][laugh]

41 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Oh......

I again half past 6, basic sharpen chin cai sharp enough to cut can liao. I dont even know what Grit are my stones, I only know I have 2, all 4 sides different....[:p][laugh][laugh]

hmm ok lah. My understanding was quite superficial cos i thought it's quite straight forward. Knowledge improved liao after doing a bit of reading and video watching just now.

4 minutes ago, mcftiffany said:

Any idea where to buy the round bowl to pound chilli?

it's called a pestle and mortar (bowl). Have to wait for the neighbourhood household type of stores to open bah. This kind supermarket won't sell. 

1 hour ago, Tianmo said:

Hmmmmmmm....

I think I am doing exactly the opposite, push when edge is away, and pull when edge is towards me, at as low as 15-20 deg.....

works for me leh...:huh:[laugh][laugh]

Ya .. I read your description.. opposite to mine .. lol!

35 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

it's called a pestle and mortar (bowl). Have to wait for the neighbourhood household type of stores to open bah. This kind supermarket won't sell. 

Thank you for the reply. Want to cook 铁板豆腐。Thinking of using it to pound 豆瓣酱。Which brand of spicy 豆瓣酱 is good?

54 minutes ago, mcftiffany said:

Any idea where to buy the round bowl to pound chilli?

My wife said Mr DIY carries it. You may want to give it a try? The one at Junction 10 has it. They’re open during CB. 

24 minutes ago, mcftiffany said:

Thank you for the reply. Want to cook 铁板豆腐。Thinking of using it to pound 豆瓣酱。Which brand of spicy 豆瓣酱 is good?

I don't really cook this cos my kids can't eat it. So no experience heh.

44 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said:

Like @PSP415, received some free durians too.😋👍

IMG_20200531_200332.jpg

Wa...looks good.

Mine's this but not open yet :

20200531_205239.thumb.jpg.6805e689996cfc8ccc0b7fafe1b615da.jpg

Later will open to eat. Will share under Durians thread.

Free one nicer right?😂😋

Dinner - Ah Lam's Salt Baked Chicken 😋

20200531_201943.thumb.jpg.7bc1a0d8184c3d5dd2ea8bfee44c20f3.jpg

20200531_202201.thumb.jpg.7b0812dbb7fe4021642e878e2edb7f01.jpg

Tasty and tender 👍

Stay safe.