♥️ Circuit Breaker Makan Thread HERE WE GO! ♥️

BabyBlade

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I think I'm still quite Asian. I like a softer bread and maybe something not particularly sour. 

A slightly sour baguette or rustic bread is OK cos it's paired with a stew or curry that's fatty. So balance off. Or if u jiak with some butter. 

But this bread is really chewy. Need to cook some Japanese curry later this week to finish it off. 

I think you prefer breadtalk ( banh Mi) that kind of texture,  which is totally opposite.  Don't think you will buy another sourdough bread?  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If keep till weekend,  I think better to keep in the fridge after 2 days.  In our climate,  they don't last past 3-4 days.  

22 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

How much flour u fed the starter? Lol

Tianmo estimation very zhun....😅

18 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Did you try my test on your sourdough?  And how's the new one getting on?  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

No balloon. But kid insisted keep a small portion to keep it going. Transfer to a larger jar, going 1:1 by weight since last Saturday. Today seems active again. Double the volume after the feed.🤞

14 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

His starter is like almost 20 days iirc,  if 1 day feed 100g is 2kg of flour,  say 1kg $2.25,  also $4.50 liao...  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

😅👍I agree to your estimation.

IMG_20200602_203716.jpg

IMG_20200602_203747.jpg

Edited by TangoCharlie

2 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

I think you prefer breadtalk ( banh Mi) that kind of texture,  which is totally opposite.  Don't think you will buy another sourdough bread?  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If keep till weekend,  I think better to keep in the fridge after 2 days.  In our climate,  they don't last past 3-4 days.  

Thanks for advice. Think those angmohs who eat these daily must have some good jaw strength. Yeah I'm probably like most of us. Like a soft soft crumb. 

I've never tasted bahn mi before. So I dunno how hard or soft. 

Daughter made Wrap (using avocado, purple cabbage, carrot, crispy chicken and caesar sauce) for dinner.

MBo8UwD.jpg

6AJ8T5v.jpg

• Praise 17

29 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I think I'm still quite Asian. I like a softer bread and maybe something not particularly sour. 

A slightly sour baguette or rustic bread is OK cos it's paired with a stew or curry that's fatty. So balance off. Or if u jiak with some butter. 

But this bread is really chewy. Need to cook some Japanese curry later this week to finish it off. 

u had it on its own? I like sourdough bread with smoked salmon, roast beef or even just scrambled eggs. Actually I can munch small portions of it "neat" but not as a main course. Dip in a cream-based soup also nice.

this guy in KL is sourdough specialist.

3 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

u had it on its own? I like sourdough bread with smoked salmon, roast beef or even just scrambled eggs. Actually I can munch small portions of it "neat" but not as a main course. Dip in a cream-based soup also nice.

This guy was featured in a famous malaysian food programme called “Ah Xian food adventures”.

He is a super passionate and attitude advocate of natural yeast baking

16 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said:

No balloon. But kid insisted keep a small portion to keep it going. Transfer to a larger jar, going 1:1 by weight since last Saturday. Today seems active again. Double the volume after the feed.🤞

IMG_20200602_203716.jpg

IMG_20200602_203747.jpg

if you made a sourdough with the starter, put near fire ( about 1-2 feet) and there is no reaction, most times the starter is gone liao. The reason being, 1-2 feet away from the fire, the temp is alot higher than normal, and yeast gets active with higher heat. Once they get active, they will eat and release alot of gas, so much so that you see balloon in your dough. Otherwise, the yeast are really inactive. 

This is my experience when I tried to speed up the proofing last time,  is a negative result of course, but I learned something.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Good to see that after so long, those little fellows still can 起死回生, good experience, and they need to thanks your son for his believe in them... [thumbsup] 

Feed them a few more days and try baking again see what the outcome, might just get some good bread after all. 

So I guess their home (the bigger jar) makes a different too, and dont forget the weight of the Jar... ^_^[laugh][laugh]

28 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Thanks for advice. Think those angmohs who eat these daily must have some good jaw strength. Yeah I'm probably like most of us. Like a soft soft crumb. 

From what I gather, and what i have made so far, its very close to the mini baguette sold in breadtalk. Crust is thin and crispy,  the crumb is airy, soft, and yet lightly chewy, you can eat 2-3 pcs at one go that type.

next time we meet, I make some....^_^[laugh][laugh]

7 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

if you made a sourdough with the starter, put near fire ( about 1-2 feet) and there is no reaction, most times the starter is gone liao. The reason being, 1-2 feet away from the fire, the temp is alot higher than normal, and yeast gets active with higher heat. Once they get active, they will eat and release alot of gas, so much so that you see balloon in your dough. Otherwise, the yeast are really inactive. 

This is my experience when I tried to speed up the proofing last time,  is a negative result of course, but I learned something.[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Good to see that after so long, those little fellows still can 起死回生, good experience, and they need to thanks your son for his believe in them... [thumbsup] 

Feed them a few more days and try baking again see what the outcome, might just get some good bread after all. 

So I guess their home (the bigger jar) makes a different too, and dont forget the weight of the Jar... ^_^[laugh][laugh]

The bigger jar is your tip too.👍🙏

33 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

Dunkin and a&w for supper

IMG_20200602_200713.jpg

IMG_20200602_200740.jpg

ah ham ah ham, I getting concern for you man!!! [:/]:o[sweatdrop]

19 minutes ago, Shibadog said:

Thanks for the post. 

57 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I thought without pressure cooking the glaze and meat tasted distinct from each other. Maybe need to try again. 

It was actually quite decent. As the sauce reduced, it thickened up nicely since there was sugar. It coated the meat quite nicely. 

41 minutes ago, TangoCharlie said:

IMG_20200602_203716.jpg

IMG_20200602_203747.jpg

That looks very good! 👍

41 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I’ve also not tasted bahn mi before .. but I like the walnut cranberry loaf I made. Jaw won’t go sng sng one 😅

3 minutes ago, Ckll said:

It was actually quite decent. As the sauce reduced, it thickened up nicely since there was sugar. It coated the meat quite nicely. 

I will try it again and give my verdict. Its not really about the caramelised sauce which helps adherence though yes that covers up a lot. 

This is similar to angmoh style ribs u get in casual eateries where the ribs are mostly steamed in pressure cooker then covered by sauce. If u have eaten real bbq ribs or the 排骨 sold by roast meats stall, then u know the taste is different.

It's the connection between the meat and the sauce. What helps in bridging? 

what does zi char stall do? 咖啡排骨,蜜汁排骨。They deep fry 过油 the pork ribs before enveloping in a sauce. But the pork ribs have that slightly crispy exterior which melds the sauce with the pork. The change in texture conferred by deep frying brings the dish together. 

Anyway nothing wrong with the recipe. Just sharing what's the limitations of a quickly prepared dish. 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

The banh mi in vietnam crest is very thin and crispy.  Inside is soft. Banh mi is very light.

My colleague will go to the bakery shop one time bought 20 pcs and hand carry back. Back home keep in the fridge. Before it use the toaster to slightly toast and the crust is crispy again.

14 minutes ago, Tohto said:

The banh mi in vietnam crest is very thin and crispy.  Inside is soft. Banh mi is very light.

My colleague will go to the bakery shop one time bought 20 pcs and hand carry back. Back home keep in the fridge. Before it use the toaster to slightly toast and the crust is crispy again.

Yes, exactly the same as what I have made, but the crust doesnt last crispy for too long, usually about 4-5 hrs only. After that just toast it a few min at 120-150 deg C and good as fresh. 

My son requested, so this morning i made another lot of 6, I kept 1 for tomorrow, mayb slice open and apply ayam brand seafood mix.  

Imagine 300g of flour at 70% hydration, each one is only about 85g. No wonder sell bread until can get listed...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

rps20200602_224503.jpg.d28a16cbd76cb52d148d4821d26dbf5e.jpg

rps20200602_224555.jpg.8d580e20fa33284f1aa6460644c7ae44.jpg