Does anyone know a solution to prevent rust on the car?

speedometer

3 hours ago, dragonboyboy said:

hey guys i would like to know if drilling a hole to install a spoiler will cause rusting ? or are there anyways to prevent it 

Don't drill lor....

You need picnic table at the back? Can just buy a foldable one.

11 hours ago, dragonboyboy said:

hey guys i would like to know if drilling a hole to install a spoiler will cause rusting ? or are there anyways to prevent it 

Come a day when you are sick with the spoiler and want to remove it. Ask yourself how are you going to cover up the two holes.

I have seem "subaru make" with two screws sitting on their booth. Look ugly.

If you insist probably can try those stick on spoiler. 3m and non drilling.

Edited by Kopites

Tuff coat your car. 

Every year spray your undercarriage with rust proof solution.

Protect the paintwork with coating. 

Reduce moisture in your car with a Thirsty Hippo. 

So protect the underneath, the outside and the inside. 

14 minutes ago, dragonboyboy said:

I am not planing for a very big spoiler just a decent size one . But it still requires roughly about 4 holes 

Dun need worry about rust  on spolier. Unless your  spoiler  make up of metal. Which i highly doubt so

If u really want to find out.

Take a magnet and see if it stick🤣

Anw 4 small holes is easy to cover up. Want to zeng then 敢敢drill liao😂

On 8/4/2020 at 5:52 PM, Beregond said:

Dun need worry about rust  on spolier. Unless your  spoiler  make up of metal. Which i highly doubt so

what should i use to cover the holes after drilling ?

1 minute ago, dragonboyboy said:

what should i use to cover the holes after drilling ?

go shop like autobac buy 4 stricker loh.

or spend 100+ go spray work shop, they can cover with gray and spray over, u wont spot any different

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

go shop like autobac buy 4 stricker loh.

or spend 100+ go spray work shop, they can cover with gray and spray over, u wont spot any different

On 8/4/2020 at 5:52 PM, Beregond said:

so every year need go back and spray to prevent the rusting ?

On 8/4/2020 at 7:35 AM, Kopites said:

Come a day when you are sick with the spoiler and want to remove it. Ask yourself how are you going to cover up the two holes.

I have seem "subaru make" with two screws sitting on their booth. Look ugly.

If you insist probably can try those stick on spoiler. 3m and non drilling.

Errrr change the whole boot lid? Hahah

On 4/27/2020 at 11:38 AM, Macrosszero said:

Rust is overrated in Singapore’s context for two reasons:

We don’t salt our roads.

Most cars aren’t kept beyond 20 years, in fact a large portion does 10 years and that’s it. 

Yes, rust will form but it will never become an issue for you.

Yalor, All these years, never need to goto a rust simi prevention shop lor.  My current and previous ride, all Kia, zero problem on this lor.  Somemore they coated something already ba.....

8 minutes ago, Apple-Tree said:

Yalor, All these years, never need to goto a rust simi prevention shop lor.  My current and previous ride, all Kia, zero problem on this lor.  Somemore they coated something already ba.....

oh , by any chance you know what they coat ?

@dragonboyboy After you drill liao, just cover the raw metal with paint, it will then prevent from rusting.

Anyway, if rust then change car lor. The car you own is not yours anyway. haha. 10 years nia. Do what you like for this 10 years.

Hello, the best way to prevent and get rid of rust is to use a any rust remover spray. Personally, I use WD40 to clear rust of my car as well as my garage tools. In your case you want to prevent rust and Wd40 can be of help in this case too.  It is a multi-purpose product you can use for lubrication too. You can buy from a local store or amazon. If WD40 is not available then ask for some similar product. Till then check rust treatment tutorial on the website.