2020 Top 5 Cars For First Time Buyers

BabyBlade

By popular demand. See what Julian, Jon, and Idris picked for their Top 5 cars for the first time driver or buyer and let us know if you agree or disagree with them.

My vote based on looks, price, personal preference, without paying attention to technical specs and features.

Taking all base models except the Myvi (left out the 1.3)

1. Perodua Myvi 1.5 ($66,999) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12462

2. Kia Cerato ($80,999) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12334

3. Mazda3 Sedan ($89,888) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12485

4. Hyundai i30 Hatchback ($90,999) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12230

5. Suzuki Swift ($71,900) - just a filler here, coz I would get a used Swift instead. https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12082

Would get a used Fit as well but secondhand cars will be a totally different category. Previously we had the Fit as our company car and drove it for at least 6 years. Easy to handle and lasted the full 10 years of its COE  through its up and downs lol.

WHY MYVI?

Don't ask me why. I just really like the Myvi. Drove a Myvi once for four days up NSHW. Didn't like the lack of power (it was the 1.3L, stock la), didn't like the trashy brakes. But I like the compact size of it and the fact that come on in Malaysia what better car to drive than a Myvi (if you have a Myvi you have to mod it hahaha).

If you don't buy the idea, maybe you should. Just look at the Myvi.

713_original_THUMBNAIL_17362605_1429008243838264_6191640113868684377_n.thumb.jpg.fc8b4bd01c174ba51d96943bc87acde0.jpg

c7b2.jpg.88cd9110a5a057c0b0ec3c4155f44a28.jpg

b2c7.jpg.fd9a5415a2158cd796cda2a0d4ca4e6b.jpg

1825691150_download(2).jpg.456ad5d63d4819bfd7f23cb5eb0dff22.jpg

20191125-myvisinkhole.jpg.3d5e7e07225372a835af50ab39152522.jpg

times-myvi-proved-why-malaysians-really-love-and-hate-them-world-of-buzz-21-768x457.jpg.75a1a9cba3e752eaa9524d7ec7868be6.jpg

bK8NC9K.jpg.cbcc950b706afd6e21d64d20d7fa7eaf.jpg

5axWWg_md.jpg.5845972da6d2030110d7f360703d7859.jpg

qPz6IUo.jpg.acabe1a0413f6037503029598a135345.jpg

times-myvi-proved-why-malaysians-really-love-and-hate-them-world-of-buzz-11.jpg.6de9da425a71c90d87651e845743d9a6.jpg

5axWWg_md.jpg.47d987df911d59bfface4f6d64d66e51.jpg

Myvi boleh. Lol.

But I guess it's not so popular in Singapore based on its price point in SG and then look at the price across our border. Brand and price conscious Singaporeans may not justify paying 60-70k-ish for a car you can get much cheaper across the causeway without the 10 years limitations.

• Haha! 9

10 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

My vote based on looks, price, personal preference, without paying attention to technical specs and features.

Taking all base models except the Myvi (left out the 1.3)

1. Perodua Myvi 1.5 ($66,999) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12462

2. Kia Cerato ($80,999) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12334

3. Mazda3 Sedan ($89,888) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12485

4. Hyundai i30 Hatchback ($90,999) https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12230

5. Suzuki Swift ($71,900) - just a filler here, coz I would get a used Swift instead. https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=12082

Would get a used Fit as well but secondhand cars will be a totally different category. Previously we had the Fit as our company car and drove it for at least 6 years. Easy to handle and lasted the full 10 years of its COE  through its up and downs lol.

WHY MYVI?

Don't ask me why. I just really like the Myvi. Drove a Myvi once for four days up NSHW. Didn't like the lack of power (it was the 1.3L, stock la), didn't like the trashy brakes. But I like the compact size of it and the fact that come on in Malaysia what better car to drive than a Myvi (if you have a Myvi you have to mod it hahaha).

If you don't buy the idea, maybe you should. Just look at the Myvi.

Myvi boleh. Lol.

But I guess it's not so popular in Singapore based on its price point in SG and then look at the price across our border. Brand and price conscious Singaporeans may not justify paying 60-70k-ish for a car you can get much cheaper across the causeway without the 10 years limitations.

Wah!! gib you Phd on MYVI studi 💪

30 minutes ago, DylanChen said:

myvi @ 67k?

mazda2 skyactiv better lah

I own both of this before.

Mazda 2 is a little too round and cute looking. Would go for the Mazda3 Sedan instead. But nothing will replace the Myvi for the 60k to 70k range.

• Sad 1

9 minutes ago, DylanChen said:

myvi same price range with mazda2 leh

really no fight.

4sp vs 6sp

Myvi indeed not a bad car to drive la. I have also rented a 1.3 Myvi in malaysia before, drove up to cameron highlands, the drive of the car quite ok. If the price of Myvi is low, i believe it would become quite a popular car here.

Unless you have the spare cash, turbo charged cars like the Hyundai i30 and Skoda Octavia are best avoided for the first time car owner or driver, as there's a heavy loading in the comprehensive insurance.

Suggested topic to cover for next week - top 3 picks for comfort and performance tyres (3 each), and the reasons (wear rate, noise level and handling in the wet and dry) .

My first car was a blue 1L manual Nissan March with 60hp. Fond memories...

Edited by Weez911

1 hour ago, Vinceng said:

Unless you have the spare cash, turbo charged cars like the Hyundai i30 and Skoda Octavia are best avoided for the first time car owner or driver, as there's a heavy loading in the comprehensive insurance.

No harm enquiring ... when I was shopping for my first car 2 years ago the insurance premium (without NCD) for my i30 turbo was even lower than that of the 1.6 Elantra. 

I also agree with BB.

I also think Myvi is the bestest choice for first time buyer.

Perodua is under rated.

For my own MIL I getting her Bezza

Because like her it has a big butt, I mean boot.

image.png.70a53a382b6503c34c403a6cdb56497e.png

image.png.3105d76dd1765226d9496c4efa442544.png

5 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Wah!! gib you Phd on MYVI studi 💪

I also think the best thing to put in a Myvi is

a PHD 2200 amplifier.  Pristine Italian sounds that can also really rock.

:grin:

4 hours ago, 13177 said:

Myvi indeed not a bad car to drive la. I have also rented a 1.3 Myvi in malaysia before, drove up to cameron highlands, the drive of the car quite ok. If the price of Myvi is low, i believe it would become quite a popular car here.

Im curious. How much would one pay for a Myvi in Singapore? 50k otr? 

The Myvi in Singapore cost four to five times more than in Malaysia. I think many may find it hard to swallow even at 50k. Hahaha.

Screenshot_20200430_201225.thumb.jpg.12d134223f81ddcc2b972e2e41f3dd53.jpg