Singapore Sees Flash Floods In Numerous Areas On 30 Apr Due To Torrential Rain

kobayashiGT

Singapore Sees Flash Floods In Numerous Areas On 30 Apr Due To Torrential Rain

source: https://mustsharenews.com/flash-floods-singapore/

Spore-Sees-Flash-Floods-In-Numerous-Area

Flash Floods Hit Singapore In Tampines & Serangoon North

Singaporeans across the island saw heavy rain descending on Thursday (30 Apr) afternoon.

Stormy weather involving loud & frequent cracks of thunder and streaks of lightning lit up dark cloudy skies across Central, West and East areas in Singapore.

flood-singapore-30-apr.jpg

While many of us at home enjoyed the cooler weather, others felt first-hand the devastating effects of such a downpour.

PUB issues urgent flash flood notices

Numerous parts of Singapore reportedly saw flash floods as a result of the rain. PUB, the nation’s water agency even issued 3 flash flood notices within a short span of 30 minutes.

Singapore-Flash-Floods-PUB-5.jpg

Singapore-Flash-Floods-PUB-7.jpg

Singapore-Flash-Floods-PUB-6.jpg

According to PUB notices, most of the flash floods occurred in the Eastern region of Singapore at these 3 locations:

• Jalan Teliti
  • Tampines Road (Near Hougang Ave 1)
  • Upper Paya Lebar Road

Flash floods at Serangoon North washed away road barriers

Serangoon North also experienced its fair share of ‘flash floods’ at around 3pm this afternoon.

Singapore-Flash-Floods-PUB-9.jpg

Captured via an MS News reader’s Insta-stories, she described that it was “raining massively” at her house.

Singapore-Flash-Floods-PUB-10.jpg

The resident of this HDB apartment complex also described watching “barriers from roadworks” under her flat get “washed away” due to accumulated water from the rain.

Singapore-Flash-Floods-PUB-8.jpg

Joo Seng HDB carpark affected by ‘ponding’

In a video uploaded by All Singapore Stuff, ‘ponding’ seems to have occurred at a HDB area in Joo Seng as well.

We can observe that the heavy rainfall caused the entire HDB parking lot to fill up with murky water, as a lone taxi tries to exit the premises.

Singapore-Flash-Floods-PUB-11.jpg

Ponding should have subsided by now

With May’s weather forecast predicting more frequent thunderstorms, we can expect future occurrences of flash floods. Thankfully, PUB has confirmed most of the ponding locations mentioned in their alerts have subsided at the time of writing.

However, since most of us are staying home during the month of May – with extended Circuit Breaker measures still in place – we hope that the effects will be minimal on our daily lives.

Ponding only. No scare. Just stay at home and avoid the rain.

16 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Default ponding on our roads when there is heavy rain de, nothing new liao. 

When repeating again & again in every thunderstorm, then not nothing new.....  :dizzy:

Something is not right ....  :wut: 

Needs to go back to the drawing board .... [sly]

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

No surprise that all swing how heavy the rain was. Super duper heavy. 

Climate change and rising sea level is real. We are seeing extreme weather more often than say 20-30yrs ago. When I was a kids in the 70’s/80’s, 33°C was super hot. Now we are seeing 34-36°C often. 

36 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

When repeating again & again in every thunderstorm, then not nothing new.....  :dizzy:

Something is not right ....  :wut: 

Needs to go back to the drawing board .... [sly]

To them is nothing new. To us something is not right. But what can we do about it if they do not see this as a problem? 🙄

If compare flash flood vs drought I prefer flood. At least we wont face water shortage like we did before. 

1 hour ago, Silver_blade said:

No surprise that all swing how heavy the rain was. Super duper heavy. 

Climate change and rising sea level is real. We are seeing extreme weather more often than say 20-30yrs ago. When I was a kids in the 70’s/80’s, 33°C was super hot. Now we are seeing 34-36°C often. 

Anything to do with clean air and clear sky?

1 hour ago, Blueray said:

its ponding lah ....

don't a bit of water only anyhow shout flash flood hor .... :XD:

You know who are the people cleaning the drain and clearing rubbish, right? 

My thoughts are with those drivers who had to be out due to work or buying groceries etc...saw a few pictures of stranded vehicles on fb...think will be hard to source for a car mechanic these few weeks

Edited by Kyrios

1 minute ago, Kyrios said:

My thoughts are with those drivers who had to be out due to work or buying groceries etc...saw a few pictures of stranded vehicles on fb...think will be hard to source for a car mechanic these few weeks

I think still can find but limited choice lo.

Just now, 13177 said:

I think still can find but limited choice lo.

Saw a pic of an expensive lexus stranded in deep waters..but lucky for him...borneo is still open 😄