Singapore Reckless Drivers Part VIII

2 hours ago, mikk123 said:

agree, we all should keep to the speed limit. But in reality,  when you driving a high performance Audi, Merc sports, and you drive at 50km/hr? How many Cat B drivers always follow speed limit? don't talk about those high performance car, even lorries are running around like Ferrari. This accident happened is an accumulation of our reckless driving culture here. everyone breaks the rule, unfortunately, the time the little girl is the victim. whose fault is it, when everyone breaks the rule? 

Speed limit is there for a reason - which is what the authorities (ok, they're not always 100% right, but i don't expect them to be 100% wrong too) deem is safe/dangerous, taking into consideration of various factors (they - not me - are paid to do that).

But they do give some allowance before really saman drivers, so that's why most drivers don't get saman'ed every day.

These 2 took it way too far, going on that road, at that speed.

So if they wanna take those risk, they bear the consequences. I am of the opinion that they should be punished severely - regardless of what accumulation of rules breaking.

Note that I'm not saying van is right. That the van was wrong, is a foregone conclusion.

3 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

thank you for driving a 3L turbo and keep to 50km speed limit. Next time, you can buy a 1L car, 3L running at 50km/hr is a terrible waste of the car's potential. 😁

Already downgraded to 2L turbo. 3L turbo has its moments, a few seconds here and there in Singapore and occasionally in Malaysia, but I am not addicted to it. My passengers (family) do not like the quick burst of acceleration and voted for the current car (comfort > speed) 😋

55 minutes ago, Kklee said:

IMHO.
If you are the judge, a lot of drivers will go to jail. 
And this precisely why these issues still exist,  because at the end of the day,  the driver gets penalized more - not pedestrian, cyclist, motorcyclist, etc.

Not really lah... I see inconsiderate, sometimes selfish, drivers everyday. Then there are the incompetent ones, the kiasi ones, very fast ones, and of course those reckless ones.

Of all these, only the reckless - and for that matter, it's the extreme reckless - ones who should be punished severely.

I don't think letting these group off lightly will eliminate the issues leh...

It's a complex problem with so easy solution, unfortunately. The ones who are paid to solve it, have to earn their keep. And it seems like they haven't done that...

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Confirmed no turn head and check blind spot before turn out. [rolleyes]

Cyclist fails to spot Taxi!  OK Just kidding but the pain is solely the cyclist's.  Taxi driver would be suspended for a few months at least.

1 hour ago, Kklee said:

IMHO.  
They should heavily enforce those that can be easily enforced.?
E.g.   
child not restrain in car
weekend car without day license
commercial vehicle use for social purposes 
PMD carrying passenger

Maybe the fines from these can fund the average speed limit cameras. 

There is a general lack of resolve to do the right things among the silver servants/politi sians. Nothing moves without first spending tons of money on external consulting studies, forming committees filled by members with vested interests.  We have many rules, nut generally not enforced. Littering, smoking, taking out masks to smoke (what a joke), heavy vehicles using lane 1/2, drivers with no license/insurance etc.  Only rules enforced 101% are those affecting oppos.

Edited by Volvobrick

1 minute ago, Volvobrick said:

There is a general lack of resolve to do the right things among the silver servants/politi sians. Nothing moves without first spending tons of money on external consulting studies, forming committees filled by members with vested interests.  We have many rules, nut generally not enforced. Littering, smoking, taking out masks to smoke (what a joke), heavy vehicles using lane 1/2, drivers with no license/insurance etc.  Only rules enforced 101% are those affecting oppos.

Uniquely Singapore ?  

7 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

Ya why this toyota no AEB? 😂

Airbag not counted? 😅

Its called Automatic Emergency Break.

It break the motion of driver from hitting the steering wheel. 

1 hour ago, awhtc said:

LTA could have installed speed limiting strips to prevent cyclists from moving too fast across traffic including zebra crossings.

Later old people slip/trip and fall when road surface is wet. 

People with mobility issues will have difficult crossing too. 

It become another hazard instead of helping. 

Speeding did not make the kid fly out the van. The van driver making a shit decision did. Audi will get a samman for speeding, that is fair. But blame is in the van driver for cutting in without PROPERLY checking that all is clear. That is fact. If he had waiting just 10 seconds longer, none of this would have happened. Audi would have sped home, these 4 kids would have continued on without realising what could have gone wrong with a single bad judgement call.

Edited by Mockngbrd

2 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

Too bad speeding in SG is not heavily enforced. Please start putting average speed limit cameras all over.. not some static camera 

how to put it huh...

speeding is like dling and watching porn , u get  my meaning?

its illegal , but as long as u keep it to yourself, u dun disturb others, gov and police close 1 eyes. can u imagine if police is super strict, totally 0 porn, geylang totally close. there would be chaos.

same as the traffic. as long as road is clear, u over speed abit, dun be dangerous cut here and there. dun disturb ppl. tp close 1 eyes.

can u imagine how the traffic would be like, if all vehicle and trucks install cpu, cannot over speed limit. zhun zhun 60. , 80 . 

our traffic will be chaos also. 

44 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Hahaha I don't want to go OT, but I'd always remember the statement that made me realised their priority. 

"I am going to fix the opposition"...... 

I kept thinking "NB... you should fix people problem 1st." 😅

Heavy vehicle travelling at Lane 2 at 70km/h really irks.... slowing the whole traffic flow and..... obstructing clear line of sight to lane 1 and lane 4

20 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Taxi driver lor. 

The light so bright still cannot see... eyes tiap stamp.

hmm are we supposed to give way to the cyclist? 

Or is the cyclist suppose to the taxi pass?

8 minutes ago, Beregond said:

how to put it huh...

its illegal , but as long as u keep it to yourself, u dun disturb others, gov and police close 1 eyes. can u imagine if police is super strict, totally 0 porn, geylang totally close. there would be chaos.

same as the traffic. as long as road is clear, u over speed abit, dun be dangerous cut here and there. dun disturb ppl. tp close 1 eyes.

can u imagine how the traffic would be like, if all vehicle and trucks install cpu, cannot over speed limit. zhun zhun 60. , 80 . 

Australia cannot watch porn, I mean cannot speed. 1 km/h above the limits you get a ticket!

But their traffic not chaos leh.

5 minutes ago, Calvin8808 said:

hmm are we supposed to give way to the cyclist? 

Or is the cyclist suppose to the taxi pass?

Bicycle no AEB. Lousy model. 

8 minutes ago, Beregond said:

how to put it huh...

Usually at Lane one if I want to filter to lane two....

I will see empty spot ahead and maintain speed or accelerate slightly..... 

It's much safer than some drivers that must stick to  below 90km/hr, they usually will brake at Lane one to filter to lane 2.....

These braking/filtering cause chain reaction to everyone braking suddenly at Lane one during heavier traffic situations...