Singapore Reckless Drivers Part VIII

2 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

When an idiotic cyclist rides across  a zebra crossing and red light junction, he behaves as a pedestrian, when he cycles on the road, he behaves like a vehicle, riding at the middle of the road.

About whose fault, my view is the taxi is certainly at fault from the traffic rules point of view. BUT the cyclist plays a critical role here, 1)  no matter how, he must practice defensive riding for his own safety, he should increase he presence by wearing bright and reflective clothing at night, 2) his lights is too dim , with so much distraction from headlights and street lights and  traffic lights, it is difficult for a driver to spot a bicycle like this one. Ok granted, taxi is at fault, but who suffer more?  I still think cyclists should practice maximum road safety, both  day and night .

As with all road users, in the end, regardless of who is right or wrong there is a pecking order. Large trucks, fiel lows by cars, motorcycles, bicycles and then pedestrians. Don’t practice being defensive and insist on yours right of way, then prepared to get crushed. 
as you said it, only you suffer in the end. 

Edited by Mkl22

3 minutes ago, ktnpl said:

The detection system is very good. The collision warning came on when I approached a small 750mm high 80mm φ flexible bollard near the car park gantry. It only failed to alert me when a dog owner let his small dog run in front of my car. It is a combination of camera and radar so blocking the sensors will not disrupt the system 😁

Ok I will get my MIL to crouch down like a little dog.

:a-m1212:

3 minutes ago, Phluvcat said:

U seem to have a love hate relationship with her ya. Every where you bring her around. 

I think his MIL is actually jamesc’s alter ego. 🤣

Edited by Fcw75

4 minutes ago, Phluvcat said:

So u wanna try AEB without birdshit first, gain confidence then try one more time, faster speed, with birdshit?

Sounds like teambuilding exercise.

Haha no no I am just looking

for a one hit wonder.

:grin:

image.thumb.png.3759e85612acc16fc9b42463e598b670.png

5 minutes ago, Phluvcat said:

U seem to have a love hate relationship with her ya. Every where you bring her around. 

I am not sure where you get the idea got

love in the relationship?

:grin:

image.thumb.png.2744ce095aa7cdf12f411f68d62b219e.png

14 minutes ago, Phluvcat said:

I was about to ask him MIL stands for what..... 

Acronym Definition

MILMilitary

MILMother-In-Law

MILOne Thousandth of An Inch

MILMillion

MILMan-in-the-Loop

MILMatrox Imaging Library

MILMalfunction Indicator Light

MILMultimedia Integration Language

MILMalfunction Indicator Lamp

MILMilli-Inch

MILMerritt Island, Florida (STDN station)

MILMicrotech International, Ltd. (Poland)

MILMedia Integration Layer

MILMachine Independent Language (computing)

MILMaytas Infra Ltd. (India)

MILMachine Intelligence Laboratory

MILMaestría Internacional en Logística (Spanish: Masters in International Logistics; various universities)

MILMaui Interscholastic League (Hawaii)

MILMensa International Ltd. (various locations)

MILMissionary Institute London (UK)

MILMorguard Investments Limited (Canada)

MILMachine Interface Layer

MILModule Interconnection Language

MILMutual-Injection Locking

MILMember of the Institute of Linguists

MILMapuche International Link (UK)

MILMarine Industries Ltd.

MILManulife International, Ltd. (various locations)

MILMonetary Instrument Log (banking)

MILManagement Information Library

MILMeat Import Law

MILMaster Inventory List

MILMain Incidents List

MILMultipoint Indication - Loop

MILMagnetic Indicator Loop

MIL Maximum Insurance Limit (coverage policy)

12 hours ago, Beregond said:

how to put it huh...

speeding is like dling and watching porn , u get  my meaning?

its illegal , but as long as u keep it to yourself, u dun disturb others, gov and police close 1 eyes. can u imagine if police is super strict, totally 0 porn, geylang totally close. there would be chaos.

same as the traffic. as long as road is clear, u over speed abit, dun be dangerous cut here and there. dun disturb ppl. tp close 1 eyes.

can u imagine how the traffic would be like, if all vehicle and trucks install cpu, cannot over speed limit. zhun zhun 60. , 80 . 

our traffic will be chaos also. 

But watch porn, the risk of human lives lost is almost zero.. so your analogy is flawed..😃 can't say the same for speeding..

Hope our smart nation and Satellite ERP can track speed and dish out fines...

11 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

For this particular case my opinion is the taxi is wrong. The cyclist been on the road and did not dash out from pavement or nowhere which mean the taxis got ample time to check blind spot or on coming traffic if he bother.

Of cos as a cyclist we are always end up losing as the injury will be bad for us even if we are RIGHT. When I approach such filter junction i always look at my left and see if the vehicles did slow down.. if he not slowing down in this case I will brake hard to minimize the chance of accident.

Best if there's eyes contact.. mean he see me i see him.

I believe the taxi didn't see the cyclist, if he saw he will still go ahead and cause an accident? Other theory is the taxi misjudge the speed of cyclist..

15 hours ago, awhtc said:

LTA could have installed speed limiting strips to prevent cyclists from moving too fast across traffic including zebra crossings.

TBH, speed stripes are useless on bikes.. if you really want them to slow down, need to erect those barriers so they need to dismount to get around it...

54 minutes ago, Beanoyip said:

I believe the taxi didn't see the cyclist, if he saw he will still go ahead and cause an accident? Other theory is the taxi misjudge the speed of cyclist..

In my opinion at the speed the taxi is exiting the bend the most he take a quick glance to check on coming vehicle. A quick glance may not allow him to spot the cyclist.

The cyclist oso contributed in a way.. night cycling with black jersey and black bike to me always a recipe for disaster. 

My bike is white and i only wear white jersey.. if i can have white pants i will too 🤣

23 hours ago, Mustank said:

11 hours ago,  Jellandross said:

Wow got 4 kids on board could be much worse....

One of the seriously injured was an eight-year-old girl. The father, Mr. Chen (45 years old, transport industry), said in an interview that his brother-in-law was driving the truck at the time. The car was carrying his brother-in-law’s two children and his two eight-year-olds. And six-year-old daughter. The eldest daughter was unfortunately thrown into the air. After the operation, she is still in a coma in the hospital.

其中一名受重伤的是八岁女童,父亲陈先生(45岁,运输业)受访时说,当时开货车的是他的姐夫,车上载有姐夫的一对儿女,以及他两名八岁和六岁女儿。大女儿过后不幸被被抛飞,动了手术后,至今仍在医院昏迷。

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20201026-1095906

The way the news is framed...worded..

Leads to question the intelligence and ability of ...

They appear to operate on another plane of existence then others.

Isofix you know versus piling kids onto company car not meant for private use.

Kiv child protection officer.

The kid will have problems later in life due to this accident. 

Its god awful  for the audi driver, thank goodness cam car never rear end as well.

9 minutes ago, Datsun366 said:

Its god awful  for the audi driver, thank goodness cam car never rear end as well.

The "Engrish transration" of that article is even more outlandishly incomprehensible than your own immortal prose at its finest. 

I now have cancer.

10 minutes ago, Datsun366 said:

Not so well off folks drive van inside fetch family members is many one. I come from poor background so I can understand 

but to fetch family with no seatbelt and drive like a madman is crazy

Want to fetch family members in a van better bolt in seats with seatbelt. Break the law but safer

11 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Not so well off folks drive van inside fetch family members is many one. I come from poor background so I can understand 

but to fetch family with no seatbelt and drive like a madman is crazy

Want to fetch family members in a van better bolt in seats with seatbelt. Break the law but safer

I would not say not so well off, as can be in charge of celebration shows some ability and moolah.

Its the ah beng retro attitude. Its stuff that happen way back when, it was already acknowledged as dangerous in the nineties.

The news frame associate poor decision with ...

And leaves the reader to blame the audi driver such as the lines 

Audi driver has not contacted the family.

Followed by

I do not blame my brother in law...

In the online ST piece.

Which appears to me, in my mind,

Audi driver blame

Why include lame statement such as buying breakfast for younger daughter.

Next time dont know what to say, then no comment or get lawyer to speak for you. The news reporter may not help in damage control.

The editor explain why the pen is greater than the sword. Very sharp.

I have seen free moving two seater sofa in vans.

Just the other night, a pest control van send everyone except grandmother home. 

Obey the law or company can contribute to nation building and can settle with company JB style themselves. 

You are correct Mr Mustank.