COVID-19 SG: Start of Phase 1: 407 New Cases, 9 Infections in Community (14 June)

Message added by BabyBlade

26 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

10 years? muahahaha

continue to discuss another 2 years

by that time ... msia election liao

after election ding dong another 2-3 years for proposal this and that

buy back land another 2-3 years considered super fast liao

development another no 5-10 years no talk ... 

Actually I meant the time in which the decision to go ahead or not. 😂

2 hours ago, Philipkee said:

I have just been thinking.  Something is wrong when we keep having hundreds of cases in the dorms even today.

Cos if the FWs had been properly isolated since April, we should not be seeing new cases among them today.  At most, if the spread had been really bad in the beginning, what we should be picking up are hundreds of new cases of FW who have recovered from the virus since they have been infected over a month ago and should have recovered on their own while waiting to be tested.

The fact that we are still picking up hundreds of new cases give rise to two possibilities.

1)  The FWs are still spreading among themselves either deliberately or accidentally.

2)  Even at this stage, FWs are not properly isolated while they are awaiting testing.  Meaning a FW who is healthy today is still at risk of infection tomorrow.

That is why the numbers are rising.  I understand some healthy workers have been separated and some on cruise ships or whatever but the huge numbers daily seem to indicate the spread is still occurring.  Otherwise what we should be picking up are recovered patients during the testing.  

The daily number of confirmed cases in the dorms is a % of the number of tests conducted each day. Let's say 5000 tests (a high number) are conducted each day and 10 percent are positive (500). You have 300,000 FW, needing 60 days to finish testing. Before they are tested, the FW in the isolated dorms are infecting one another, those with stronger immune system will be infected later. Thus every day you will still get hundreds of positive cases. 

Actually it seems pointless to test, as all of them are exposed and will get it (and get immune) eventually. Just isolate and test 1-2 months later. Those who have the antibodies will be cleared to work, those sick (or recovering) continue to be isolated. Those not yet kena another group and resume work but isolate at another site. 

2 hours ago, 13177 said:

Ya lo, the dorm new cases dont seems to go down much? When those so called healthy workers go back to work in Jun, dont know what will happen?

Not sure if there will be any healthy workers available in JUne, unless there are a lot of recovered workers, because if the workers with the virus aren't separated immediately then they will infect healthy workers and the cycle continues.

34 minutes ago, Neutrino said:

Not sure if there will be any healthy workers available in JUne, unless there are a lot of recovered workers, because if the workers with the virus aren't separated immediately then they will infect healthy workers and the cycle continues.

I think the negative, the positive, the untested are all segregated as quickly as they could.  And the negative need to be retested to avoid a new cluster in the new living facility.  It’s a mammoth operations just thinking about it.  

Went for a run earlier and i thought CB is over. So many jokers not wearing masks (and they're not running hor) in the park and lots of the food delivery chaps only wear up to chin.

Psychologically people are thinking that since it's almost over (8 more days) and can relax a bit but they can't be more wrong.

• Sad 1

12 minutes ago, Angcheek said:

Doesnt matter enter by front or by back .. i also like 😂

Not surprising for u as even camel u take

”fortitude” budget sounds.like a.common.bad word if pronounced fast

43 minutes ago, Old-driver said:

Went for a run earlier and i thought CB is over. So many jokers not wearing masks (and they're not running hor) in the park and lots of the food delivery chaps only wear up to chin.

Psychologically people are thinking that since it's almost over (8 more days) and can relax a bit but they can't be more wrong.

This has been happening a week ago.

Where are all the enforcement officers?

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/cpf-hdb-iras-among-govt-agencies-reopen-service-counters-appointment-june-2

CPF, HDB, IRAS among govt agencies to reopen service counters by appointment from June 2

SINGAPORE — Selected government service centres will resume operations from June 2, but by appointment only, as Singapore exits the Covid-19 circuit breaker period. 

These include the five Central Provident Fund (CPF) service centres, service counters at the Housing Development Board (HDB) Hub and HDB branches, as well as the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore's (Iras) taxpayer and business service centre at Revenue House.

10 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

maybe after that Ambassador got attacked/knifed while performing duties these officer not so on or garang liao..

2 hours ago, Neutrino said:

They already herd immune la.. but Sporeans not yet.. so be prepared to learn Bengali.. spore new capital of Bangladesh 

19 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

They see no evil, hear no evil 😧

2 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

The daily number of confirmed cases in the dorms is a % of the number of tests conducted each day. Let's say 5000 tests (a high number) are conducted each day and 10 percent are positive (500). You have 300,000 FW, needing 60 days to finish testing. Before they are tested, the FW in the isolated dorms are infecting one another, those with stronger immune system will be infected later. Thus every day you will still get hundreds of positive cases. 

Actually it seems pointless to test, as all of them are exposed and will get it (and get immune) eventually. Just isolate and test 1-2 months later. Those who have the antibodies will be cleared to work, those sick (or recovering) continue to be isolated. Those not yet kena another group and resume work but isolate at another site. 

If you don't test, you will never know for sure if the virus has ran its course.  It could take months.... I presume those with antibodies will be separated from the untested group. 

No worker, contractors will go bust and soon, developers too as they can't collect progress payments. 

39 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

I see enforcement officers getting lesser liao? This morning was at hawker centre dabao bf, no see any enforcement officer and social distancing ambassador.