COVID-19 SG: Start of Phase 1: 407 New Cases, 9 Infections in Community (14 June)

Message added by BabyBlade

14 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

I'm surprised FnB dine-in, gyms and fitness studio can reopen so early in phase 2. I thought they are the last.

Not sure how it is interpreted based upon the phrasing from the govt poster :

"More firms and businesses, starting with F&B dine-in and retail outlets, gyms and fitness studios, and tuition and enrichment centres, will gradually be allowed to re-open if they can provide a safe environment for patrons."

It could either mean all the listed can start at the same time (and be amongst the first of the remaining businesses to re-open) or it could mean they will start sequentially, beginning with F&B dine in.

Though I doubt the govt will allow F&B dine in and Retail to open at the same time. Most likely will be staggered reopening to spread out the crowds. 

Screenshot_20200519-215628_WhatsApp.thumb.jpg.b8bbb344827b148dd9f275354f351819.jpg

Edited by noobcarbuyer

Phase 1:

The tough one is still <no socialisation> apart from children & grand children. (or getting married) So another 6 weeks (at least) until we can meet a friend.

General retail will still be closed. (yes, including bubble tea)

I'd call it CB lite. 😀

Edited by CremornePt

I'm surprised there are those here clamouring for opening more things (like dining-in) more quickly. 

I already think we're doing too much too fast. Let's not forget a few things here:

-despite our lockdown measures, there were people flouting measures (poor compliance and inadequate/push-over law enforcement). People will always push boundaries - you allow some more things in phase 2, people will find a creative interpretation that allows them to do more business.

-still, even during that lockdown period, we still saw new cases in the community (separate from the dorms), some of which were unlinked. This shows that the tightest measures we could muster were not adequate in completely curbing spread. What's going to happen when we relax things further?

-In regimes with the strictest lockdown and an official report of zero new cases for a long time, the virus "somehow" managed to re-emerge quickly when measures were relaxed and threatened to cause new clusters, leading to repeat lockdowns. 

I want everyone to keep in mind exactly what a nasty bugger this virus is. I already expect a steep rise in community cases when we go into phase 2. If the situation worsens to a point where it's in imminent danger of getting out of control again, expect another lockdown soon on the heels of the last one. But I'm very much afraid they'll try to play Russian Roulette with the situation and hold out as long as possible to hold elections (which themselves are a dangerous and non-essential exercise right now in my view).

• Praise 10

3 minutes ago, RadX said:

Ccs fat fat liao

02905E08-AED2-482C-AC3F-ACB3F8D1A074.jpeg

What is the point behind your comment? 😁

• Haha! 8

1 minute ago, noobcarbuyer said:

Home cooked soup jin Ho Chin... sorry Ho Lim? 

Indians may have an irrational faith in their Holy Cow, but we Sinkies can match that with our own irrational faith in our Ho, Lee, Khaw. 😁

7 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

I already think we're doing too much too fast.

Why?

To buy additional time to eradicate ALL remaining infected people in Singapore, including all the hidden asymptomatic cases, once and for all?

Won't we lose this absolute position anyway as soon as we open our borders? 

6 hours ago, Kb27 said:

Shutdown was slow, very slow I remember.

During the early days, they only banned people from Wuhan travelling here.

I was incredulous. What ? Do you mean the carrier of the disease in Wuhan, don't go to other Chinese cities, spread around and try to fly here, and then you still let them in ?

Only much later did they ban other cities.

This reminds me of the comment made by Andrew Cuomo. “an outbreak anywhere is an outbreak everywhere.” which aptly describes when outbreak occurs. Was staying up late nights just to listen to his briefings and his sayings.

17 minutes ago, CremornePt said:

Why?

To buy additional time to eradicate ALL remaining infected people in Singapore, including all the hidden asymptomatic cases, once and for all?

Won't we lose this absolute position anyway as soon as we open our borders? 

I don't think we should even be thinking about reopening our borders to human travellers for the next 3 months at least. Possibly longer.

6 hours ago, Kb27 said:

Shutdown was slow, very slow I remember.

During the early days, they only banned people from Wuhan travelling here.

I was incredulous. What ? Do you mean the carrier of the disease in Wuhan, don't go to other Chinese cities, spread around and try to fly here, and then you still let them in ?

Only much later did they ban other cities.

Actually, before CNY I was opining they should close down the borders to all of China. The best way to solve a pandemic is not to allow it in in the first place. 

But China would predictably have acted all butthurt about that as they usually do. I guess they can't accuse us of racism as they did the Western countries that did this, but they'll certainly try to get their public sentiment riled up via their wumao army and commie press apparatus, accusing Chinese Sinkies of having forgotten their roots etc. I believe this sort of crap happens quite frequently, I've certainly read of reports they think this is their province. 

Anyway, the other, more major flaw with that is that we would also have needed to recommend to other countries to take similar lockdown actions against the Chinese, otherwise we'll just be letting in cases another way. So I guess we would've been doomed either way as long as people largely remained afraid of pissing off the Pooh bear. 

But quarantining travellers (with strict electronic monitoring) was the first thing we could (and should) have done, even before testing became widespread. That would really have blunted the curve. Remember, with exponential growth, early interventions matter most.

I'm terrified of reopening our borders. Those countries with low cases may not be necessarily so. Some countries who said they have beaten the virus, can they be trusted? There are so many variables and unknowns, and 1 mishap alone could lead to another round of transmission in the community, erasing what we have done so far.

Edited by Weez911

1 hour ago, Weez911 said:

Phase 1 will last at least 4 weeks. Hopefully nothing major happens in these 4 weeks and more businesses can reopen, including my favourite kinokuniya and hourglass/cortina. 

Looks like even CB no extend but in a way seems to be about the same during CB period?! Dining in at F&B not allowed and non essential activities and social gatherings not allowed. So it still means cannot anywhere go? 😂

https://mothership.sg/2020/05/bubble-tea-shops-not-reopening/

Haha.. Think government scared later mad rush when bubble tea reopen.. So better not reopen so fast.. Delay a little bit more.. 

The phase 1 is like the current circuit breaker.. Like very little difference.. Looks like a lot of people will be the same old routine for at least 1 more month.. 

Edited by Yewheng

2 hours ago, Weez911 said:

Phase 1 will last at least 4 weeks. Hopefully nothing major happens in these 4 weeks and more businesses can reopen, including my favourite kinokuniya and hourglass/cortina. 

I am waiting to buy new jeans, new pair of shoes, new ankle socks.. Deliver food walk until the shoe sole is almost gone.. Look like have to endure for at least 1 more month..