Covid-19 - Why moneylender cover their shop?

Just now I was buying breakfast and I chanced upon a licensed moneylender. And I realised that they covered their "marketing message" from the stall outside.

53FF7051-EF3B-47AD-A228-6EA76FDE5FAA_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.6827fa11c57ad892fab8ba4f6149527e.jpeg

I am wondering what is the reason behind this. 🙃

Just for my little curious brain. 🤨

13 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Just now I was buying breakfast and I chanced upon a licensed moneylender. And I realised that they covered their "marketing message" from the stall outside.

53FF7051-EF3B-47AD-A228-6EA76FDE5FAA_1_105_c.thumb.jpeg.6827fa11c57ad892fab8ba4f6149527e.jpeg

They ran out of cash to lend like many other business?  

Or boss decides not to throw good money after bad ones? 😂

Just kidding, is this a new?  I read licensed loansharks are not allowed to advertise their services and products. 

17 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Just kidding, is this a new?  I read licensed loansharks are not allowed to advertise their services and products. 

Not new leh. been here at my place for awhile. le.

32 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Maybe interest rates going negative 😜....... like they have to pay you if you borrow 

true. maybe their T&C have changed. so cannot be as per advertised. hahaha.

2 hours ago, BanCoe said:

Maybe interest rates going negative 😜....... like they have to pay you if you borrow 

nice leh pay me interest too and if they dun pay i can hang pig head 

hahahaha

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Same as retail sector in the early stages of circuit breaker. 

Those considered non essential items must cover with cloth or paper.  

The rest under essential items or services can remain uncovered. 

That way still can open for business as per MTI regulations. 

Is the covering up done by a one-off money-lending shop, or has it become a 行規 that all similar shops must cover up also?

I like the idea that they must pay me to borrow money from them.

11 minutes ago, Albeniz said:

Is the covering up done by a one-off money-lending shop, or has it become a 行規 that all similar shops must cover up also?

I like the idea that they must pay me to borrow money from them.

My house have a few moneylender, I notice all got cover their "marketing message"

Can they allow to advertise outside their shop? I didnt notice whenever i walk pass such shop if there is any contact numbers outside their shop? 🤔

40 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Can they allow to advertise outside their shop? I didnt notice whenever i walk pass such shop if there is any contact numbers outside their shop? 🤔

Can lah. usually there will be a stock photo girl giving thumbs up or victory sign to tell you loan can be fast or smth one. hahaha.

10 hours ago, Voodooman said:

They are also busy borrowing money to survive.

1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said:

My house have a few moneylender, I notice all got cover their "marketing message"

I believe those are mobile phone numbers, they cannot lend money now because once they sign  loan agreements , they will be caught for breaking social distancing rules, so how to lend money without paper ? But then when borrowers are desperate during this covid 19 period, , they will spam the mobile numbers till their phone explode, therefore they have no choice but to cover up their numbers. Not i say one.😂😂😂

Edited by Ct3833

It could also be as the economy worsens, the interest rates and terms or repayment becomes more "negotiable" so best not to advertise the rates openly for them.  Like lets say is 2% monthly but now its covered up and you walked in and you are desperate, they will quote you 3% monthly.  Or maybe 4% if you are more desperate...

In this bad economy time, they are afraid money lent out will become bad debts.