Is it a gaffe to drive a bigger car than your boss?

firefly20

Is it a gaffe to drive a bigger car than your boss?  

95 members have voted

1. 1. Is it a gaffe to drive a bigger car than your boss?

• Yes
    • No
    • Depends
    • I am the boss

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 06/29/2020 at 04:00 PM

3 minutes ago, firefly20 said:

Oh, didn’t know that there’s already a similar thread. Thanks for highlighting. 

Seems that majority have the same opinion 3 years ago and now. 

Yup

times have pretty much stayed the same

41 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

It is Culture that the boss imposes, usually only boss with small ahem down there think like this. Small minded people can only do so much in life. 

Whether you find them small minded or not, at least they are already at boss level. Lol.

Drive anything you want, if you don't do something stupid like drive a few laps around the cpy carpark everyday before you park, likely no one will notice. Only a few kaypoh fellas who care about such things may gossip about it behind your back, that's usually harmless

one thing is true for sure

do not let the interviewer saw your car before interview

personally kena "soured" 5 times cum no offer

my career coach told me I am stupid

park further away wouldn't die

no job no money sure die:TT_TT:

43 minutes ago, Alheych said:

if this ever becomes an issue, that place is probably not worth working for...

Sometimes by the time one is senior enough to own a luxurious car, he’s also not so mobile anymore due to age, high pay or other reasons.  

A lot depend on your boss. If you have a confident boss....I don't that matter at all. I prefer to do what I feel is sensible instead of second guess if my boss will be happy or not.

I have a friend, for her 1st job, who drove a SLK to work. Some tot she was a show off until they realised that she drove an SLK was cos she couldn't afford to buy a car with her pay and she could only drive what was available in the family. Plus she also proved what she is capable of.

54 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Whether you find them small minded or not, at least they are already at boss level. Lol.

Sadly to say, most of them are at boss level is because the business is passed down to them by their parents, not by their competency.

Without their parents, they are nothing. 

7 minutes ago, Sugimoto said:

Sadly to say, most of them are at boss level is because the business is passed down to them by their parents, not by their competency.

Without their parents, they are nothing. 

I also refer to those bosses in a company, like manager, GM and director. Some of these people even though they are at high level and yet small minded also. Lol.

35 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

This one i agree. I remember donkey years ago i drove to an interview. It is just a normal cheapo car. The manager who interviewed me saw me driving and ask if i own a car. Then i bluff him that it is a family car. Lol.

1 minute ago, 13177 said:

This one i agree. I remember donkey years ago i drove to an interview. It is just a normal cheapo car. The manager who interviewed me saw me driving and ask if i own a car. Then i bluff him that it is a family car. Lol.

me kena soured cum no job offer 

did you get the job? 😊

I wanted to highlight the previous thread but @RadXalready did.

Anyway, why would anyone want to remain in a workplace that is so petty? Get out, and fast, would be my advice. 

If you think it's not politically correct to drive a more ex car than your work supervisor, then by the same idiotic logic... 

If he stays in a HDB, you can never go to a condo. 

If he stays in a condo, you can never go to a landed prop. 

If he's not married, you cannot marry also. 

If he's married, your wife cannot be as chio as his. 

If he's got no kids, you also must have no kids. 

See? There's no end to this utter stupidity. 

Employment is basically the exchange of your time for services that are required by the company. You are paid for those hours of life that you spend on the job. What you do with that money should be no one else's business. 

2 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

I wanted to highlight the previous thread but @RadXalready did.

Anyway, why would anyone want to remain in a workplace that is so petty? Get out, and fast, would be my advice. 

If you think it's not politically correct to drive a more ex car than your work supervisor, then by the same idiotic logic... 

If he stays in a HDB, you can never go to a condo. 

If he stays in a condo, you can never go to a landed prop. 

If he's not married, you cannot marry also. 

If he's married, your wife cannot be as chio as his. 

If he's got no kids, you also must have no kids. 

See? There's no end to this utter stupidity. 

Employment is basically the exchange of your time for services that are required by the company. You are paid for those hours of life that you spend on the job. What you do with that money should be no one else's business. 

If never die, cannot die too?

46 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

Actually true also. If one is going for an interview as a banker, driving a nice,  flashy sports car is acceptable. 

But if one is applying for a job as a social worker or teacher for example, driving the family’s Porsche Panamera would raise an eyebrow or two. 

17 minutes ago, 13177 said:

I also refer to those bosses in a company, like manager, GM and director. Some of these people even though they are at high level and yet small minded also. Lol.

Chey noob

i took my interviewer aka my future boss out for lunch at sentosa in my car. 

6 minutes ago, firefly20 said:

Actually true also. If one is going for an interview as a banker, driving a nice,  flashy sports car is acceptable. 

But if one is applying for a job as a social worker or teacher for example, driving the family’s Porsche Panamera would raise an eyebrow or two. 

Last time de facto car for teachers is sunny and altis 

now you see all sorts liao, flashy one oso hv

4 hours ago, firefly20 said:

When I stated working donkey years ago, I was advised to avoid certain taboos:

-  don't dress better than my boss at a public event;

-  don't drive a bigger car than my boss (not that I have the money anyway).

I'm working in an MNC. Does it matter now if I am to drive a bigger (more ex) car than my boss? Or this type of things only matter in SME or public service, or this is an outdated view that no longer applies? 

Would you do it if you have the money? Your views, please.

If only those mindset still exist, yours kids would have to be dumber than the boss and the wife should be more incompetent than the boss spouse.

Edited by Sdf4786k