2 in 3 sinkies do not have savings beyond 6months

I will admit that when i started working, i did my best to save/invest 50% of my take home.

throughout the years, the 50% basically never really dropped.

a habit needs to be cultivated from early stage.  If postpone and postpone, forever postpone. The prime working life of a Singaporean is probably 20-25yrs so the longer one waits the longer one has to slog.

its a simple formula.

1 minute ago, kobayashiGT said:

I need a manual. I am a bit slow-witted. hahah. Hard to train kind of person. 😅

Start by saving 50% of your take home. If you cannot its becos you overspent right from the start.

3 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I need a manual. I am a bit slow-witted. hahah. Hard to train kind of person. 😅

Sound like u is boomer

5 minutes ago, RadX said:

This one I give it to you

as much as you the anti-hero here, you have been consistent in this message. 👍🏽 And even tho u hv ur own privates club😂, you are way ahead of the curve 

Yes.

You know when i am joking and when i am not.

i anti hero meh, no lah. 

Just now, Throttle2 said:

Yes.

You know when i am joking and when i am not.

i anti hero meh, no lah. 

You are like Loki la

hahahha sometimes villain, sometimes hero😂😂

4 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

I am one of the 2. 🤣

dun bluff leh...mcfers everything full cash one leh

this topic not relevant  here :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Just now, Inlinefour said:

I am only a worker leh. Working for SGCM.

I no work no money one.

Just now, RadX said:

You are like Loki la

hahahha sometimes villain, sometimes hero😂😂

I Cpt Singapore ok? Where got villian?

I law abiding tax paying and unemployed

5 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Start by saving 50% of your take home. If you cannot its becos you overspent right from the start.

Woah. 50% is really quite a lot! But I take your advice seriously.

I will do it this month. See if I can "dong" until the month ends anot.

Thanks! 🙂 Good to learn from the best.

8 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I am only a worker leh. Working for SGCM.

I no work no money one.

better than me...jobless peasant :TT_TT:

6 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

"cotton wool" saved 99% of his salary :grin:

24 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

MCFer one of the 3, not 2 of the 3.  i am also 1 of the 3  but fall into the 2.😭

• Sad 1

bro, depends $1.5K/mth (cai peng + public transport) or $25K/mth life style la ... 

what about maintaining a party home at sentosa, that's an essential life style leh ... 

SINGAPORE - Many Singaporeans do not have enough savings to allow them to maintain their current lifestyle beyond six months if they were to lose their jobs now.

21 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I'm sure u can do it bro! Keep it up, I suspect u r around my age group. I also gen Y, but early gen Y. Now I look back my younger days I regret. 

But starting late is better than never.

it depends on the audience they interviewed, the age, the profession etc. The population size has to be huge enough to represent the general public. We have to note that this survey is carried out by a bank, they may do it with an intention to inject fear so as to facilitate selling of their investment products.  dont fall into their trap, save up your own saving wisely.