20 people has died from Dengue this year

Wind30

I hope they start massive fogging the area....

my place has no mosquitoes but I am afraid to go for my morning jog... nowadays I jog before sunrise just to avoid mosquitoes

One way to protect ourselves is to spray mozzie repellents on our exposed skin.  It works and doesnt take alot of time

3 hours ago, Atrecord said:

yio chu kang area

I'm sure troops of NEA officers will go house to house search now and penalizing those who flout the dengue rules.

4 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Confirmed dengue, and it is his 3rd time to get it! 

No joke to be down with dengue, especially when one get older. Wish him a speedy recovery. 

Khaw Boon Wan diagnosed with dengue fever after getting admitted to an isolation ward 

ab_khaw-boonwan_230720.jpg?itok=Fzm2zFQS

SINGAPORE – Mr Khaw Boon Wan’s dengue diagnosis has been confirmed, his office said on Thursday (July 23) afternoon.

3rd time to get dengue! Omg. 😓

I use to see plastic containers, bottles and bags thrown all over the parks and road side planter areas. With those auto scrubbing vehicles,  they never reach these planter areas. Something should be done to clear them. 

14 hours ago, Wind30 said:

I hope they start massive fogging the area....

my place has no mosquitoes but I am afraid to go for my morning jog... nowadays I jog before sunrise just to avoid mosquitoes

Jogging can kena mozzies??  Mozzies upgrade running skills  also ?? 

7 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Jogging can kena mozzies??  Mozzies upgrade running skills  also ?? 

Why not? Many times even i am walking also can kena mozzies bite. <_<

6 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Make you happy .....My skin must be thick like @Jamesc MIL 🤣🤣

19 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Make you happy .....My skin must be thick like @Jamesc MIL 🤣🤣

Yah lah 

Traffic lights she play phone green long time people horn she shout at them - Cannot wait ah? So impatient one.

Other people green and one second only don't move - she blast her horn and scream faster lah so slow one.

Other people never signal she will scream - don't know what is signal for huh?

Then she turn also never on signal.

You see lah below her skin thick or not?

:grin:

image.png.6ce3a882aa8b12c282ffeecf9c1a8ce9.png

image.png.08290de67a413f39b9d2e64b3c50b110.png

Edited by Jamesc

31 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Yah lah 

Traffic lights she play phone green long time people horn she shout at them - Cannot wait ah? So impatient one.

Other people green and one second only don't move - she blast her horn and scream faster lah so slow one.

Other people never signal she will scream - don't know what is signal for huh?

Then she turn also never on signal.

You see lah below her skin thick or not?

:grin:

image.png.6ce3a882aa8b12c282ffeecf9c1a8ce9.png

image.png.08290de67a413f39b9d2e64b3c50b110.png

N she is bullet proof , the original Under Armour 🤣🤣

2AB3D5DF-C9F3-4263-8A4D-961BA4E0F46A.jpeg

4 hours ago, 13177 said:

Mosquitoes are attracted to the CO2 you breathe out. So to be safe, hold your breath when jogging.

On 7/23/2020 at 5:49 PM, Atrecord said:

yio chu kang area

If u think about how many years he is minister and his pay, I am Super surprised he stayed in yck all these years...

to me that is solid proof that this guy is not motivated purely by money or material stuff.

i think among the ministers, his house is the most humble?

10 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

If u think about how many years he is minister and his pay, I am Super surprised he stayed in yck all these years...

to me that is solid proof that this guy is not motivated purely by money or material stuff.

So where do the other ministers stay?

49 minutes ago, 13177 said:

So where do the other ministers stay?

Dunno. You can get a glimpse of Shanmugam house... 4 dogs.... huge garden. 

On 7/24/2020 at 1:21 PM, Karoon said:

Mosquitoes are attracted to the CO2 you breathe out. So to be safe, hold your breath when jogging.

wah, then if buy lot of dry ice put nearby, will the mosquitoes gather there instead of coming near me?

or get some sponsor to give me many many CO2 fire extinguisher... 😄

6 hours ago, Wind30 said:

kinda true. He didn't move since he became minister. Not sure whether how long he's been staying there. confirmed he can save a lot of money (since even operation also v cheap...) and move to much bigger house after being minister for so long...

maybe his neighbours - after having free police presence for so many years - will need to review their security system now liao 😆

https://mothership.sg/2020/08/dengue-young-person-die-singapore/

25-year-old dies of dengue in S'pore, youngest person this year: 20th dengue death

A 25-year-old person in Singapore has died from dengue, becoming the youngest person to die from the disease in 2020.

The Ministry of Health (MOH) said on Aug. 5 that the number of people who have died from dengue this year has risen to 20 as of Aug. 2.

Of the 20, 18 worked or lived in active dengue clusters, which currently number 391.

The ages pf those who passed away ranged between 25 and 92.

No other details of the latest fatality were revealed.

The Straits Times quoted two experts who said older people are more susceptible to being seriously affected by dengue, but all age groups do suffer the severe effects of the disease.

The best precaution is for people to protect themselves against bites, get rid of breeding sites, see a doctor early, hydrate, and rest.

Background

The last time a dengue fatality involving a young person occurred in 2016.

An 11-year-old boy died of dengue that year in a rare case.

MOH said then: "Although uncommon, there have been previous cases of children aged 12 and below passing away due to dengue."

looks like going to surpass Covid death toll....

Kind of put Covid into the right perspective... before people start clamouring to lockdown again, let get everyone to kill mosquitoes first.