new improved dorms for our FW like SAF bunks? Standby bed!!

StreetFight3r

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-singapore-new-dormitories-foreign-workers-conditions-12792538?cid=FBcna

Eight sites have been earmarked for new quick build dormitories by the end of 2020, including in Kranji, Tuas, Admiralty, Choa Chu Kang and Tampines. 

Under a pilot programme, the living space per resident at the new quick build dormitories will be improved to at least 6 sq m (not including shared facilities) from at least 4.5 sq m per resident (including shared facilities) currently. 

There will also be a maximum of 10 beds per room. There are currently no limits on the maximum number of beds allowed per room, although in practice, dormitories typically have about 12 to 16 beds in each room. 

The new set of requirements will see only single-deck beds being used, with 1m spacing between the beds. Double-decker beds are currently mostly used in dormitories.

There will also be at least one bathroom, sink and toilet for every five beds, instead of every 15 beds currently. 

FB_IMG_1591186892568.jpg

I can't recall exactly the number of people in the bunk during BMT. 

But it's a whole Platoon in a bunk. Then double deck beds. 

Has recruit gotten more space in the bunk now? 

3 hours ago, Optramagnum said:

It took them a pandemic to realise it. 

To be specific, it is because the old dorms cost them a $92.5b lesson.

Edited by Icedbs

6 hours ago, Atonchia said:

mine was 40 in a platoon in tekong.... shared one toilet with 5 wc cubicles and i think 8 shower heads ?

7 hours ago, Atonchia said:

Tekong was 12 per room i think..

They can build whatever style they can think off but the FW don't hack care and don't socialised themselves by keep a distant between them also useless.... :lll._.:

Those gone through NS in the 70's and stayed in bunkers will know ... [lipsrsealed]

Do you think we all quai quai after training rest on our beds in the nights? We all groups together for some "extra activities" (some smuggle beer in, some playing cards, some polish boots, some looking at porn mags, ... etc.)

Most important was some "quar chwee" aka 'see water' (observation post) ... [:p]

What is needed for FW quarters are strick floor managers like army camp RSM style looking after them...  :yuush: 

Break dormitories rules, WP cancelled and send back to their countries.  :confident:

5 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

They can build whatever style they can think off but the FW don't hack care and don't socialised themselves by keep a distant between them also useless.... :lll._.:

Those gone through NS in the 70's and stayed in bunkers will know ... [lipsrsealed]

Do you think we all quai quai after training rest on our beds in the nights? We all groups together for some "extra activities" (some smuggle beer in, some playing cards, some polish boots, some looking at porn mags, ... etc.)

Most important was some "quar chwee" aka 'see water' (observation post) ... [:p]

What is needed for FW quarters are strick floor managers like army camp RSM style looking after them...  :yuush: 

Break dormitories rules, WP cancelled and send back to their countries.  :confident:

when normal times, can let them liddat lor. 

The problem is that u can't distance them once there's a problem. So if the facilities at least have the space to do it. Then can do it better.

8 hours ago, Icedbs said:

To be specific, it is because the old dorms cost them a $92.5b lesson.

Paid by? 

8 hours ago, Atonchia said:

heard no more bunk beds? saf got strict hygiene levels maybe dorms should practice the same standby bed every morning lol.... post covid19 possibly a fine system for those who fail to maintain hygiene level what with all the many hanging towels n all over the room

18 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

yes if we are going to give them better facilities n more space they odd to put in the same effort to maintain too or slap with a fine/point system 3 strikes you out... everyone have to change current habits lor locals n foreigners both same same no diff

3 hours ago, StreetFight3r said:

yes if we are going to give them better facilities n more space they odd to put in the same effort to maintain too or slap with a fine/point system 3 strikes you out... everyone have to change current habits lor locals n foreigners both same same no diff

If everyone is to be held to the same standards, then should there be random inspections of our homes as well? And standby bed for everyone of us also?

Why are we treating them like children?

2 hours ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

If everyone is to be held to the same standards, then should there be random inspections of our homes as well? And standby bed for everyone of us also?

Why are we treating them like children?

If u are living in a hostel u abide to hostel rules ma.. Isn't it the same for dorms. They have rules and regulations to follow...dorm operators are supposed to make sure of that. If not MOM will fine them. And then it's the migrant workers own responsibility to take care of their own living spaces right, because they're living with others too.. Ur own home u take care of yourself lah.. U want standby bed no one stopping u ah? But if u are a hoarder or what and u invite all the pests to ur house and surrounding, then ur neighbours will call hdb or whoever n the agency will get u to standby bed. Lol... If Ur kid mess up the place n don't clear up, ur wife will ask ur kid to standby bed. It's just a saying lah don't need so serious. 

Moral of story is own responsibility to take care of own living spaces and common spaces ma. Esp if u living with 9 others. Rules n reg will have to be set in place. If govn cramp them up like certain dorms it's hard to actually maintain hygiene levels since so many pax. But now that this issue is highlighted and are working to improve their situation, shouldnt everyone work together to maintain same level of hygiene? If that cannot be done then maybe there has to be some form of reward system or fine system for them to adhere too. Even in my workplace we have duter roster to carry out certain cleaning from time to time,besides the cleaning lady who comes in few times a week

Edited by StreetFight3r

20 hours ago, StreetFight3r said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-singapore-new-dormitories-foreign-workers-conditions-12792538?cid=FBcna

Eight sites have been earmarked for new quick build dormitories by the end of 2020, including in Kranji, Tuas, Admiralty, Choa Chu Kang and Tampines. 

Under a pilot programme, the living space per resident at the new quick build dormitories will be improved to at least 6 sq m (not including shared facilities) from at least 4.5 sq m per resident (including shared facilities) currently. 

There will also be a maximum of 10 beds per room. There are currently no limits on the maximum number of beds allowed per room, although in practice, dormitories typically have about 12 to 16 beds in each room. 

The new set of requirements will see only single-deck beds being used, with 1m spacing between the beds. Double-decker beds are currently mostly used in dormitories.

There will also be at least one bathroom, sink and toilet for every five beds, instead of every 15 beds currently. 

FB_IMG_1591186892568.jpg

FWs will need a new mindset and have to keep the toilets and their bunk really clean. Otherwise it will be smelly and dirty too.  They need to have a higher level of discipline to only lay on the bed after they have showered, do not eat in the room, wash their clothes daily, etc.