My car aircon not cold during afternoon drive

Justdaniel

Due to COVID-19 I am now starting work early and going back at 2.30 pm. In the morning on the aircon and I can feel the cold air coming out. But in the afternoon going back home, I hardly feel any cold air even after 15 min. 

Do I need to replace the compressor or my current compressor is fine but the weather is too hot?

Currently, if no rain it is very hot and I park outdoor.

Age of the compressor?

turn the air con to the coolest and stress test the compressor and see if you get cold air

And you are right, if the surrounding is very hot, you really can't feel the "coldness" 

Wa, 2.30pm knock off liao, so good?

Aircon is cold in the morning but not cold in the afternoon? Heard some car make/model, their aircon is not very cold during hot weather de? Maybe you can monitor and see if the aircon only not cold when the weather is hot? Late evening and night aircon cold or not?

The compressor is more than 12 years old and I have bought a new compressor. But until now the compressor still working. This old compressor is stock together when bought the car. It is made in Japan, but I bought this new compressor(original) is from the same manufacturer but made in Malaysia. Manufacturing facilities shifted out of Japan.  I had paid a premium for this compressor and I felt cheated. 

My thought, if I were to replace the compressor now, will it last for another 7 years?

I still have 7 years plus of COE left and what I heard is some compressors will fail even after 3 years.

20 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Wa, 2.30pm knock off liao, so good?

Aircon is cold in the morning but not cold in the afternoon? Heard some car make/model, their aircon is not very cold during hot weather de? Maybe you can monitor and see if the aircon only not cold when the weather is hot? Late evening and night aircon cold or not?

Ppl ask you aircon, you disturb ppl pang kang. hahhaha. Cut some slack lah. Work-life balance now. 🤣

@Justdaniel My take is just take your car to a air con specialist. For not cold, it can be alot of things one.

It can just be a pipe that is leaking refrigerant

It can also be condensor or compressor issues.

Don't make wild guess. Cause end of the day, you might be spending more money. Imagine you fixed the compressor alrd, then a few days later your air con not cold again.

Jus bring to a reputable workshop for checks. Wen i renewed coe.. faced same problem n had a check done. Compressor kaputing n changed to a new 1 n did a chemical wash/flush of the ac system. Wen u see the dirt.. scares u of wat we are breathing in a confined space. Many jus onli change ac filter.

That is true but in the morning I did feel the cold air coming out and I have to increase the temperature as it is getting colder. I will go down to the workshop to have it check later as this is not a serious issue.

7 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Ppl ask you aircon, you disturb ppl pang kang. hahhaha. Cut some slack lah. Work-life balance now. 🤣

Aiya, i always like to 答非所问 de, thats why people around me cannot tahan me! [:p] But i also did reply on his aircon problem ma. Lol. Anyway, work-life balance now? I no see this in my company le? -_-

11 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

@Justdaniel My take is just take your car to a air con specialist. For not cold, it can be alot of things one.

It can just be a pipe that is leaking refrigerant

It can also be condensor or compressor issues.

Don't make wild guess. Cause end of the day, you might be spending more money. Imagine you fixed the compressor alrd, then a few days later your air con not cold again.

Must go to a reputable aircon specialist, if not some workshop no skills one and never able to solve your aircon problem. Cause donkey years ago when my car aircon also not cold, bring to a workshop and the person dont know do what and after paying for the so called repair work, after few weeks aircon not cold again, kena con and the problem never resolved!

Try this! 

Kidding! 😂

Go and consult an air-con mechanic. Compressor does not spoil easily. It could be due to a leaking coil or even a relay, which is very cheap. I had mine replaced for $30 only. 

IMG20200527163024.jpg

Yes, I know most of the workshop know nuts about how to repair the aircon. Or they know the problem but they are out to con you to get higher profits. Previously visited Kim and the boss is honest but his workers are not like him. Trying to convince me into changing the aircon high-pressure tube which is very expensive and have to modify from their existing stock. My aircon issue is just changing the relay and that it and this is highlighted by the boss with very good experience. 

9 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Must go to a reputable aircon specialist, if not some workshop no skills one and never able to solve your aircon problem. Cause donkey years ago when my car aircon also not cold, bring to a workshop and the person dont know do what and after paying for the so called repair work, after few weeks aircon not cold again, kena con and the problem never resolved!

Yeah, I agree. I only go L&Kim air con. cause I stay near there. haha.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/merchant.php?MID=11500

1 hour ago, Justdaniel said:

Due to COVID-19 I am now starting work early and going back at 2.30 pm. In the morning on the aircon and I can feel the cold air coming out. But in the afternoon going back home, I hardly feel any cold air even after 15 min. 

Do I need to replace the compressor or my current compressor is fine but the weather is too hot?

Currently, if no rain it is very hot and I park outdoor.

If your air con gas not enough.

All the parts new also no point.

Aircon problem first and only thing to check is air con gas.

Not enough then  top up. (If need retop frequenly then confirm leakage)

If air con gas enough but not cold mean other issue. Compressor weak. Condenser choke. Engine temperature high . Cooling coil choke.

To sum it up. Visit a trusted aircon work shop😁

20 minutes ago, Beregond said:

If your air con gas not enough.

All the parts new also no point.

Aircon problem first and only thing to check is air con gas.

Not enough then  top up. (If need retop frequenly then confirm leakage)

If air con gas enough but not cold mean other issue. Compressor weak. Condenser choke. Engine temperature high . Cooling coil choke.

To sum it up. Visit a trusted aircon work shop😁

Maciam ah mah telling the great child the heatiness was due to this and that...go drink water first... go see loh koon if still heaty 😂